OpenArena Message Boards

OpenArena => General => Topic started by: albertolp on June 19, 2008, 04:52:39 PM



Title: minimize windows and bot in servers thing :)
Post by: albertolp on June 19, 2008, 04:52:39 PM
The minimize thing is not working and i dont know why... its workin with other games... :S
Is that only me or that is not working? :S im using ubuntu + compiz
Ive tried all the shortcuts i know and none is working both windowed and full scren
Alt + tab, ctr + alt + down, ctrl + alt right and left... none... the mouse keeps on the ao windows :S i dont know what else to do...

And id like to add something for all those who have a hard time finding a server witch is not full of bots only :)
I wish it were native of oa, but its ok for now
http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena&sort=ip&showplayers=yes&hide=both&hideheader=1&hideplayers=1

Cheers!


Title: Re: minimize windows and bot in servers thing :)
Post by: feLiZ_naVidAD on November 29, 2008, 05:45:48 PM
bump!


Title: Re: minimize windows and bot in servers thing :)
Post by: menganito on November 30, 2008, 03:40:38 AM
You might try ETswithc (in repositories, just apt-get it), it SHOULD be able to minimize the game, as it's q3a engine based, even when it's in fulscreen. Not working for me, tho.

Other thing you might do is to launch the game in a different XServer. Slightly more advanced, here's a how-to:

Create a text file /usr/local/bin/rungame (You need to be root to do that) with these contents:
Code:
#/bin/sh
#Author: HFechs

#Find a suitable  DISPLAY
DISP=`/bin/pidof X | wc -w`
DISP=`expr $DISP + 1`
export DISPLAY=:$DISP

#Launch X server
X $DISPLAY &

#Find out the PID of the X server
PID=$!

#Set up permissions
xauth add  $DISPLAY . `mcookie` &

#Launch game
$@

#Terminate X server
kill $PID
Make it executable
Code:
sudo chmod +x /usr/local/bin/rungame
.

Now, edit the file /etc/X11/Xwrapper.config change the line
Code:
allowed_users=console
to
Code:
allowed_users=anybody

You are ready to go. Type
Code:
 rungame openarena
in the console and the game launches in a separate Xserver.
Now you can switch to desktop with Ctrl+Alt+F7 and back to game using Ctrl+Alt+F9.

ISSUES:
- not working correctly sometimes. Once in a while the game doesn't start or freezes immediately.
- A random alg between the mouse and monitor. really annoying, but disappears after a minute or so.
Both may be related to my HW and SW.
If oyu get other issues, try disabling the Compiz before running it.

Source of the howto [cz] http://www.korecky.org/?p=16


Title: Re: minimize windows and bot in servers thing :)
Post by: feLiZ_naVidAD on November 30, 2008, 12:28:41 PM
Thanks Menganito

I just solved it by "alt+ enter" to window the game, then "shift + esc" for the console and then mouse is freed from the window :)

The xserver thing maybe useful for another stuff... I have to try it out! ;)