OpenArena Message Boards

OpenArena Contributions => Maps => Topic started by: sago007 on January 14, 2009, 05:20:10 pm



Title: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on January 14, 2009, 05:20:10 pm
Ok, I can no longer get GtkRadiant to work on the newest version of Ubuntu (8.10), some libraries have been changed and GtkRadiant does not receive many updates anymore.

NetRadiant (http://www.icculus.org/netradiant/) only includes a Nexiuz pack by default, so one cannot just rename the Q3 one. I have created an OpenArena pack that includes all the OpenArena stuff. It has only been tested on NetRadiant but should work in GtkRadiant too.

Changes include:
Added info_player_dd, info_player_dd_red, info_player_dd_blue and domination_point (dmn_clown had already added some)
Flares in standard builds (dmn_clown's entity already had this)
png support (dmn_clown again)
Changed colors of player spawns, the team_CTF_redplayer is now actually red (instead of blue). Initial spawns, respawns, deathmatch, dd, dd_red, dd_blue can be easily identified by there color.
Added note on the "gametype" flag for all entities that support them and noted the names of the new gametypes.
Added note on meaning of the "message" flag on domination_point

Download: http://files.poulsander.com/~poul19/public_files/OpenArenaPack.zip

Note: The shaderlist is out of date and no longer needed because the default list in OA now has all needed information. Delete the shader list!

New 2011-03-06: Windows package with netradiant+gamepack

Get it here: http://files.poulsander.com/~poul19/public_files/netradiant-1.5.0-20110223-withoa.zip


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: andrewj on January 14, 2009, 07:19:13 pm
Thanks Sago, this is great!

Two days ago I compiled NetRadiant and it actually works (GTKradiant didn't), and here's the needed OpenArena config.

Gotta learn how to use this beast now.... :D


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Peter Silie on January 15, 2009, 03:34:01 pm
great work!
gtk does not work anymore (had to learn it the hard way).
but netradiant is well so i use it now.
maybe you should contribute the pack to the netradiant-team, so they can include it to theri svn (like they did it with nexuiz). it would be the easiest way for all mappers to start mapping for oa.
there should be no licence issues, because netradiant is gpl too.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on January 15, 2009, 05:20:16 pm
there should be no licence issues, because netradiant is gpl too.
The only problem could be that the license of the original Q3 pack is not clearly stated anywhere (I cannot find it).

My pack also needs a few adjustments to get the full potential of the improved q3map2 tool in NetRadiant. I am reading on it right now.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: 00Hugo00 on November 14, 2009, 04:49:25 am
404 not found...


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Cacatoes on November 14, 2009, 05:33:00 am
Which link doesn't work ? They both do for me ...

* http://dev.alientrap.org/wiki/netradiant

* I just uploaded the OA kit for netradiant there : http://download.tuxfamily.org/openarena/other/netradiant/OpenArenaPack.zip


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on March 06, 2011, 02:11:53 am
Added a package with the nightly build of NetRadiant for windows from 2011-02-23 with the OA pack already installed.

There are other packages but this one includes my changes to the ent-files making them support all OA gametypes and items and better colors for spawn points.

Link (also in first post): http://files.poulsander.com/~poul19/public_files/netradiant-1.5.0-20110223-withoa.zip

Instructions:
1. Download the file
2. Extract the zip file somewhere (your OA folder if you like)
3. Start radiant.exe
4. Select OpenArena as game
5. Point to the location of openarena.exe
6. Make a map


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on March 06, 2011, 07:53:39 am
Great! :D
Can I post a mirror?


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on March 06, 2011, 08:35:21 am
Great! :D
Can I post a mirror?
Of course.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: son_goku2 on March 13, 2013, 03:37:48 pm
Doesn't work with GTKRadiant 1.6 (they have changed the XML formatting).

GTKradiant 1.6 comes with q3map2 that lacks floodlight?!


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Gig on August 01, 2013, 08:28:13 am
Here it is another NetRadiant 1.5 for Windows with OA gamepack:
http://ingar.satgnu.net/gtkradiant/files/netradiant-20120705-win32.zip
I'm not sure, but maybe it may work a little better than this one (http://files.poulsander.com/~poul19/public_files/netradiant-1.5.0-20110223-withoa.zip), due to including a default_shaderlist.txt file (however, I think that writing a more complete shaderlist.txt is still a good idea... I think that default_shaderlist.txt does not include all OA 0.8.8 shader files).

It is also possible to take its "oa.game" folder and copy it into GTKRadiant 1.5 (http://icculus.org/gtkradiant/downloads/1.5/GtkRadiant-1.5.0.msi) installation folder (then doing the same thing for "oa.game" file, which is under the "games" folder), to have OA as an option also in GTKRadiant 1.5.

I also think that copying all .dll files from GTKRadiant 1.5 into Q3map2Build (http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=4679.msg47717#msg47717) folder is required if you want to use Q3map2Build external tool to compile the map (.dll files from NetRadiant seem to be different than those required by Q3map2Build - Note, at least in my case, I saw messages requesting dll files only when launching map compiling from the batch file that Q3map2Build created... from the GUI itself, no error messages were shown, but the map compiling did not work).

UPDATE: I repackaged q3map2build tool, for more comfortable installation (package for Windows; BSPC included).
You can find it here: http://digilander.iol.it/flagraiders/files/tools/q3map2build1_0_25_withDLL_BSPC.zip


Title: *Radiant gamepack updated
Post by: Neon_Knight on January 20, 2014, 05:38:28 pm
Updated the gamepack.
Contains the following changes:
- Merged entities-TA.* into entities.* as the game itself has all of the TA entities.
- entities.def and entities.ent cleaned up, except for the dummied entries (info_spectator_start and target_laser). I was hesitant to remove them.
- entities.ent and entities.def now have all the available entities except the dummied-out holdable_portal.
- Updated default_shaderlist.txt with the current 0.8.8 shader listing.
- New folder: OAX, with two additional entities, info_player_dom_red and info_player_dom_blue, available in OAX b51.
- New folder: OASVN, with shaderlist.txt updated to r951 of the OA SVN.
- Both baseoa and OASVN have a scripts folder with all of the game's scripts for 0.8.8 and r951.

BTW, what does need this pack in order to be fully GPL'd? The license file?


Title: Re: *Radiant gamepack updated
Post by: sago007 on January 21, 2014, 04:31:09 pm
BTW, what does need this pack in order to be fully GPL'd? The license file?
The main problem is that the license was not clearly specified on the original package.

That is the reason:
 * OpenArena
 * Q3Rally
 * THC
 * Tremulous

Is not included in NetRadiant by default.

As stated on the page: "Also, a GPL compatible Q3A pack would be highly appreciated." (second to last line on http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/3/wiki/Netradiant)


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on January 21, 2014, 05:06:37 pm
So I suppose that we can't just stick the "COPYING" file to the gamepack, isn't it?

Also I've noticed that the misc_model entry is lacking the spawnflags, as seen here: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Q3Map2/Entity_keys#Q3Map2-specific_spawnflags. I'll fix that soon.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on January 21, 2014, 10:18:05 pm
Well, I don't know how much this contributes to the situation, but I've added a license file and also tweaked misc_model regarding the above in both the baseoa pack and the OAX pack.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on January 22, 2014, 09:37:41 am
Well, I don't know how much this contributes to the situation, but I've added a license file and also tweaked misc_model regarding the above in both the baseoa pack and the OAX pack.
You should be careful if you don't know the license of entities.ent or entities.def. You may make the situation worse.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on January 22, 2014, 10:15:27 am
In that case, I'm afraid I have to rewrite the entire .def/.ent files...


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: grey matter on January 22, 2014, 12:45:52 pm
In that case, I'm afraid I have to rewrite the entire .def/.ent files...
re:GPL, I'm not sure how many ways there are to write a file in that format. Given that the entities' source/definition is available from the GPLv2 licensed Q3A code, I don't quite see how there'd be a copyright violation?
You can not include any of the original files due to their implicit copyright, but I doubt that e.g. a shaderlist.txt really crosses the threshold of originality.

(IANAL and the usual disclaimers apply)


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on January 22, 2014, 02:41:04 pm
In that case, I'm afraid I have to rewrite the entire .def/.ent files...
re:GPL, I'm not sure how many ways there are to write a file in that format. Given that the entities' source/definition is available from the GPLv2 licensed Q3A code, I don't quite see how there'd be a copyright violation?
You can not include any of the original files due to their implicit copyright, but I doubt that e.g. a shaderlist.txt really crosses the threshold of originality.
The entity names them self are not a problem but the entity files contains a lot of help texts that can be considered original work and are not in the source.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on January 28, 2014, 11:13:32 am
I'll be posting a barebones entities file in some hours.

Meanwhile, I've seen that there are two dummied out entities, info_spectator_start and target_laser. From what I could observe, they were Q2 leftovers. Are references to these dummied out entities in the game code or they have been cleaned up?


Title: Re: *Radiant gamepack updated
Post by: Suicizer on January 28, 2014, 01:08:43 pm
BTW, what does need this pack in order to be fully GPL'd? The license file?
The main problem is that the license was not clearly specified on the original package.

That is the reason:
 * OpenArena
 * Q3Rally
 * THC
 * Tremulous

Is not included in NetRadiant by default.

As stated on the page: "Also, a GPL compatible Q3A pack would be highly appreciated." (second to last line on http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/3/wiki/Netradiant)

Isn't it as long as the work you've created with a certain program is released as GPLv2, everything should be fine?
It's not like your objective is to include a piece of content made by some less free program into OA (else using Mac or Windows as OS would violate the license as well), is it?


Title: Re: *Radiant gamepack updated
Post by: Akom74 on January 28, 2014, 01:20:17 pm
BTW, what does need this pack in order to be fully GPL'd? The license file?
The main problem is that the license was not clearly specified on the original package.

That is the reason:
 * OpenArena
 * Q3Rally
 * THC
 * Tremulous

Is not included in NetRadiant by default.

As stated on the page: "Also, a GPL compatible Q3A pack would be highly appreciated." (second to last line on http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/3/wiki/Netradiant)

Isn't it as long as the work you've created with a certain program is released as GPLv2, everything should be fine?
It's not like your objective is to include a piece of content made by some less free program into OA (else using Mac or Windows as OS would violate the license as well), is it?

Are you saying that we have to change to linux for our releases ? (http://illiweb.com/fa/i/smiles/affraid.gif)
I hope is not necessary, please........

Time ago i've changed with Ubuntu, but i'm not able to do something and i've changed back to Windows.

;)


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on January 28, 2014, 02:00:28 pm
No, I don't think that's necessary. Otherwise you couldn't use GPL software in non-GPL OSes.

But I do agree in taking as less risks as possible regarding GPL, even if people don't like the idea.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Gig on February 24, 2014, 01:06:47 am
NK, are you sure everything is okay with the updated pack from this post (http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=2722.msg49861#msg49861)?

Yesterday I tried it to configure GTK Radiant 1.5 for OA on another PC (Windows XP), and a strange thing happened.
Afer I placed oa.game data into GTK Radiant folder, launched the program and selected OpenArena, it asked to me the path of the game. I tried to select the folder where I had OA 0.8.8 installed... but it did not recognize it as valid (did not find the engine)... then I entered the "baseoa" folder under it, and went further instead (strange, considering "baseoa" folder does not include "openarena.exe" file). But then, I realized it automatically created another "baseoa" folder inside "baseoa" (it created c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\baseoa\maps\ and c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\baseoa\scripts\). Then I had to locate where GTKRadiant stores its settings (%appdata%\RadiantSettings\1.5.0\oa.game\local.conf) and manually edited "EnginePath" line to point to "c:/openarena-0.8.8/" instead of "c:/openarena-0.8.8/baseoa/" as before... and everything worked correctly then (it created c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\maps\ and c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\scripts\ then UPDATE - see this post (http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=2722.msg50519#msg50519).).

Any idea about the reason why this happened?
For completeness, I have to say that OA installation isn't clear (configuring Radiant on that PC has been more a test than other), but this does not explain the reason why GTK Radiant did not recognize the engine in the right path...


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on February 24, 2014, 03:12:03 am
You're supposed to just extract the contents as it is in the Radiant folder (if you're going to map for 0.8.8 ) with routes enabled, and later change the folder routes in games/oa.game. It should be that simple. In that regard I haven't modified anything from Sago's original pack.

About the other, well, the wiki articles about installing and configuring the editors are a mess. One is just a linklist with a note, for example, and the mapping manual page on the issue isn't even completed yet. And I'm not even sure about the installations being up-to-date.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Gig on February 24, 2014, 04:27:53 am
with routes enabled
What do you mean with this?


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on February 24, 2014, 05:13:21 am
The compressor program must respect the folder structure while unzipping.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Gig on February 24, 2014, 05:26:27 am
For completeness, I have to say that OA installation isn't clear (configuring Radiant on that PC has been more a test than other),
Maybe I did express wrong. I was not talking about GTK Radiant configuration pages in our wiki which aren't clear (well, they actually do have issues, but was I was not talking about that).... I meant "my OA folder on that PC isn't clean", meaning it has got extra files (my mistake, I typed "clear" instead of "clean").

The compressor program must respect the folder structure while unzipping.
Okay, now I got what you meant ("preserve paths" while uncompressing). That part is not the problem.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Gig on February 24, 2014, 10:47:25 am
NK, are you sure everything is okay with the updated pack from this post (http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=2722.msg49861#msg49861)?

Yesterday I tried it to configure GTK Radiant 1.5 for OA on another PC (Windows XP), and a strange thing happened.
Afer I placed oa.game data into GTK Radiant folder, launched the program and selected OpenArena, it asked to me the path of the game. I tried to select the folder where I had OA 0.8.8 installed... but it did not recognize it as valid (did not find the engine)... then I entered the "baseoa" folder under it, and went further instead (strange, considering "baseoa" folder does not include "openarena.exe" file). But then, I realized it automatically created another "baseoa" folder inside "baseoa" (it created c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\baseoa\maps\ and c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\baseoa\scripts\). Then I had to locate where GTKRadiant stores its settings (%appdata%\RadiantSettings\1.5.0\oa.game\local.conf) and manually edited "EnginePath" line to point to "c:/openarena-0.8.8/" instead of "c:/openarena-0.8.8/baseoa/" as before... and everything worked correctly then (it created c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\maps\ and c:\openarena-0.8.8\baseoa\scripts\ then).

Update: I checked again, and tweaking local.conf file did NOT really fix the issue. I launched the editor again and it re-created "baseoa/baseoa" folders. Opening local.conf again, it automatically re-added /baseoa/ by itself also there.

Then I edited also "C:\Program files\GtkRadiant 1.5\games\oa.game" file, and modified "enginepath_win32", making it point to "C:/openarena-0.8.8/". And this time, it seems to work.

PS: about this gamepack from NK (http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=2722.msg49861#msg49861), are you sure the "copying" file there is good? I mean, it's not in the oa.game folder, so if one uncompresses the whole zip in gtk radiant folder, "copying" ends up in main gtkradiant folder, so one may assume everything under it and its sub-folders (including other .game folders) is gpl... while we don't know.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on February 24, 2014, 11:07:22 am
You don't edit anything in local.conf. The paths must be set in games/oa.game.

About the COPYING file, good point. Still I want to create a barebones entities.def/ent file, so original help text can be added and we can get a fully-GPLv2 pack out.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on May 18, 2014, 08:08:34 am
About the COPYING file, good point. Still I want to create a barebones entities.def/ent file, so original help text can be added and we can get a fully-GPLv2 pack out.
I have looked attempted to create a barebone entities.def. Not only have I attempted. I believe to have succeeded. And not only do I believe to have succeeded. I believe that my solution can be considered "good" or even "very good".

It can be automatically extracted from the source. If was added in commit b7ad35187949bc457b667802374b0fe1465f717a on https://github.com/OpenArena/gamecode
It is also attached to this post.

The file has been tested with GtkRadiant 1.6.4
It does NOT work with NetRadiant or GtkRadiant 1.5
Some other files (textures, shaders, project files) are required as well. They should be easier to make as they contain very little original content.

I do wish that the def-format can be converted to a transformation friendly format like properly tagged XML but that is a task for another day.

It does extract comments from the source as well:
(http://files.poulsander.com/~poul19/public_files/openarena-def-extract-with-comments.png)

Feel free to clone https://github.com/OpenArena/gamecode and improve the comments!


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Peter Silie on September 15, 2014, 01:01:06 pm
Hi guys,

long time not here, but today i thought about finishing my last map attempt.
Unfortunately i deleted my fine GtkRadiant installation with all the tuning i did.
So i have to start from scratch and i wonder if there is a complete comfort-file to just extract and beginn mapping for oa?
I do not like to pull all neccessary files together by myself.

Some kind of "gtkradiant.1.6.4_with_oa_stuff" would be great.

Any chance?


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on September 16, 2014, 09:21:32 am
For GTKRadiant 1.6.4, perhaps Sago's def file from the post above yours may help?
The pack would also include all of OA's textures, sounds, etc (that was the QuArK way -.-)
I'm still using NetRadiant 1.5, so I can't help much. :/


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on September 16, 2014, 11:18:23 am
I found GtkRadiant 1.6.x harder to setup compared to NetRadiant. I used the Q3-package with my entities.def file from a few posts back. I ended up copying some pk3-files into the baseoa folder to get it to work otherwise it just crashed.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Peter Silie on September 16, 2014, 12:13:09 pm
Thx 4 quick response (as usual) and glad 2 c that some of u r still her!
so i have to dl the following files:
Radiant of my choice
Sagos def file

Installing the radiant and create a subfolder for oa.
Copy all files to this folder and get to work.

Did i miss something?


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: sago007 on September 16, 2014, 01:28:17 pm
I started by copying Q3Pack and for 1.6 I copied the baseq3 files into the openarena install dir. Apparently there are some textures and shaders Radiant need but I did not have the time to figure out why. It possible only need a single file somewhere.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Peter Silie on September 17, 2014, 03:00:16 am
I made it, but it was a hard peace of work (maybe i will explain later how to install GtkRadiant for oa in a detailed post).
Regarding the shader problems: Gtkradiant seems to be unable to locate the shaderlist.txt if this file is just in a pak-file.
if you extract the file from the pak0 it works fine.
_but_: the pak0-file isnīt complete. it lacks some shaders from other pak-files (as far as i can see).

More to come!


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on September 17, 2014, 03:25:26 am
That's because a lot of stuff was separated from pak0. IICR there's a more complete shaderlist.txt in the latest patch.


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Peter Silie on September 17, 2014, 10:29:51 am
I will take a look inside the pak6 stuff later ;D


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Peter Silie on December 31, 2014, 08:17:36 pm
All the work broke my brain and i gave up, because it is to much work for a guy, who just wants to create a map.
Maybe someone else is able to make a pack for the new radiant version, so other mappers will have the ability to make a map.

As soon as i will see this pack, i will try to finish my old work...


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Gig on January 02, 2015, 06:14:27 am
Why don't just using NetRadiant 1.5 (http://ingar.satgnu.net/gtkradiant/files/netradiant-20120705-win32.zip), with the OA package Neon Knight did last year (http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=2722.msg49861#msg49861)?
(Note: IIRC, one may need to copy its shaderlist.txt into your own "OA installation folder\baseoa")

I haven't tried Sago's entity file for GTKRadiant 1.6 (http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=2722.msg51130#msg51130) yet, I'm not sure about the steps needed to use it...


Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Peter Silie on January 02, 2015, 05:44:08 pm
I bet, the implementation of the pack is nearly as complex as it was for GtkRadiant 1.6.4. ;)

Here is my notice about the installation:

Quote

Downlaod GtkRadiant 1.6.4 from icculus:
http://icculus.org/gtkradiant/downloads.html#binaries

Unzip the file to a place you like.

Remove the unneccessary XXPak folders inside the folder called "installs".
You just need the folder "Q3Pack".

Start radiant.exe and select the game directory of you OA-installation.
Click OK and wait a few seconds. GtkRadiant will start and prompt you to select a game.
Just klick OK again and you will get the map editor. You have to quit for now, we will make the changes for oa before our next try ;-)

Inside the GtkRadiant folder you will have 2 more subfolders now:
games and q3.game

make a copy of the q3.game folder and rename the new copy as "oa.game".
inside of the folder you will find a file called local.pref.
open this file with an editor and search for "baseq3" and replace with "baseoa" (there should be just one place with "baseq3"!).

now make a copy of the file "q3.game" inside the "game" folder and rename the copy to "oa.game".
open the "oa.game" file and modify the quake related entries.
this could look like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1" standalone="yes"?>
<game
  name="OpenArena and mods"
  enginepath_win32="D:\openarena"
  gametools_win32="D:/GtkRadiant/installs/OAPack/game"
  prefix=".oa"
  basegame="baseoa"
/>

now you have to have a subfolder inside the "installs" folder called "OAPack".
Just make a copy of the existing "Q3Pack" folder.
Inside you new "OAPack" folder you will find the subfolder "install".
he contains 3 folders, "docs" and "missionpack" can be deleted!
the subfolder "baseq3" has to be renamed to "baseoa" and inside this folder you have to delete some folders:
"maps", "models" and "textures".
you also have to delete the both files "common-q3map2.pk3" and "curry.pk3".
from the remaining file "common-spog.pk3" you just need the subfolder "radiant" with its files.
you can unzip "common-spog.pk3" and remove the "common" folder inside the newly created "textures" folder.
the texture folder also has to be put inside your oa game folder (inside "baseoa")!

now switch to your openarena directory and grab all files starting with with "PAK" andf copy them to the folder "\GtkRadiant\installs\OAPack\install\baseoa\".

next copy the following file from "baseq3\scripts" to "baseoa\scripts" inside you OA installation:
user0.proj
default_project.proj

The user0.proj has to be modified: replace all q3 related path information to oa.
important: there should be an "OAPack" reference which also has to be modified.

next you can start GtkRadiant and enjoy mapping after the selection of OpenArena as your game.

important note: GtkRadiant seems to be unable to locate shaderlist.txt inside PAK0 properly.
so you have to make your own shaderlist.txt file and place it inside the "scripts" folder.

entities.def file could be used from sagos download.


It is not finished yet, maybe someone else likes to complete the guide and make a final package of his work.



Title: Re: NetRadiant pack (should work with GtkRadiant 1.5 too)
Post by: Neon_Knight on October 03, 2017, 11:55:43 am
Just got GTKRadiant 1.6.5 to run in Linux and recognize OpenArena as a game!
Here's the gamepack. Do the same as always: unzip and replace paths where needed.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gweyus0yx6gblzk/OpenArenaPack-GTKR.zip?dl=0


Title: OA GPLv2 Gamepack
Post by: Neon_Knight on October 17, 2017, 07:19:11 am
Just a heads-up: I've created a repository for the gamepack. This way we should be able to work on a properly GPLv2 gamepack.

The gamepack can be downloaded or git-checkout'd/git-pull'd at https://github.com/NeonKnightOA/oagamepack

It should work with both GTKRadiant 1.5/NetRadiant and GTKRadiant 1.4/1.6, but feel free to point out problems. For people who just want to download the gamepack, they can do a "Clone or Download" and extract the contents on the Radiant dir.