OpenArena Message Boards

OpenArena => Technical Snafus => Topic started by: madghost on December 06, 2009, 10:48:29 PM



Title: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 06, 2009, 10:48:29 PM
I edited some the sarge files in pak6-misc.pk3/botfiles/bots. I now have files called alpha1_c.c, alpha1_t.c, alpha1_i.c, and alpha1_w.c. I know that /addbot adds bots to an openarena game i got this:
Code:
addbot alpha1 4
^1Error: Bot 'alpha1' not defined
Hitch warning: 1413 msec frame time
Hitch warning: 1057 msec frame time
voice: S_Marine taunt
addbot rawr 4
^1Error: Bot 'rawr' not defined

Have I done something wrong?

also, once I get the bot in, how do i make the server choose only the bots i've made

http://www.oa-alphaclan.com (http://www.oa-alphaclan.com)


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: chaoticsoldier on December 06, 2009, 11:50:54 PM
In pak6-misc.pk3 there is also a scripts folder. You have to edit the bots.txt file to include your new bot:

Code:
{
name alpha1
model sarge
aifile bots/alpha1_c.c
}

As long as the alpha1_c.c file is correct, al the other .c files will be referenced without a hitch.  I don't know anything about online server settings though.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: RMF on December 07, 2009, 03:04:42 AM
Isn't it addbot modelname skilllevel team nickname ping?
So for example: addbot assassin 4 blue alpha1.
Not sure about custom models though.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: andrewj on December 07, 2009, 04:27:18 AM
Isn't it addbot modelname skilllevel team nickname ping?
You can omit stuff, e.g. the following all work:
/addbot kyonshi
/addbot kyonshi 3
/addbot kyonshi 3 blue


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 07, 2009, 06:49:49 AM
You said edit the bots.txt file, do i have to unpack, edit and repack the folder, or can i make a new one in a different pack?


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: sago007 on December 07, 2009, 08:03:56 AM
You said edit the bots.txt file, do i have to unpack, edit and repack the folder, or can i make a new one in a different pack?
Never edit the bots.txt file. Instead create a new file called BOTNAME.bot and place it in the "scripts" folder.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 07, 2009, 08:16:55 AM
Ermm... so in my case, this would be, alpha1.bot?? and what goes into the botfile, the stuff that I would've put into the bots.txt?

Code:
{
name alpha1
model sarge
aifile bots/alpha1_c.c
}

also, the flename is alpha1_c.c but in the file i specified his name as RawR, so wouldn't name also be RawR?


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: sago007 on December 07, 2009, 09:01:12 AM
also, the flename is alpha1_c.c but in the file i specified his name as RawR, so wouldn't name also be RawR?
You mean "addbot rawr"? I would think so.

The filename really does not matter as long as it ends with ".bot" and does not conflict with other files. Using the bot name is just a good way to ensure uniqueness in filenames.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 07, 2009, 09:37:18 AM
Let me clarify, what goes into the .bot file, forget the rest of the mumbo i mentioned.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: Graion Dilach on December 07, 2009, 01:47:33 PM
The code you mentioned 3 posts earlier.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 07, 2009, 02:21:59 PM
Thank you, ever since my first post, you're always helped, ohh, and If you forgot, i fixed everything from it, so no need to find those bot files.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 07, 2009, 02:23:01 PM
ermm....where do i put the .bot file


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: Graion Dilach on December 07, 2009, 02:27:10 PM
Scripts subfolder.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 07, 2009, 02:38:40 PM
ok, so new structure looks like this

alpha1.pk3/botfiles/bots/alpha1_c.c

alpha1.pk3/scripts/alpha1.bot

is that correct?


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: chaoticsoldier on December 08, 2009, 03:33:25 AM
Yes.

alpha1.pk3/botfiles/bots/alpha1_c.c
alpha1.pk3/botfiles/bots/alpha1_i.c
alpha1.pk3/botfiles/bots/alpha1_t.c
alpha1.pk3/botfiles/bots/alpha1_w.c
alpha1.pk3/scripts/alpha1.bot


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 08, 2009, 10:18:11 AM
my bots won't talk, is that just ctf, or something else

i have bot_nochat set to "0"


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: Neon_Knight on December 08, 2009, 10:26:03 AM
AFAIK they won't talk (aside of team talk) on team modes like TDM, CTF, Elimination, etc.


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 08, 2009, 05:56:25 PM
ok, im sure this is the last thing, i keep getting error: weapon number out of range, my files are all packed here (http://oa-alphaclan.com/public_files/zz-ghostybots.pk3)


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: Neon_Knight on December 08, 2009, 06:47:50 PM
Make sure to include Team Arena's weapons and items. That's the reason why older bots won't work with OA.

In fact, check this directory under the SVN, and compare your file against these ones, in case you're missing something:
http://openarena.ws/svn/botfiles/bots


Title: Re: How to add bots to OpenArena
Post by: madghost on December 09, 2009, 09:19:43 AM
ok, thread solved.

This is good reference, ill add this to my clan site's forums