OpenArena Message Boards

OpenArena Contributions => Maps => Topic started by: kick52 on June 23, 2007, 08:28:12 AM



Title: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: kick52 on June 23, 2007, 08:28:12 AM
I'm having trouble with shaders.

I made a new shader, with different properties etc, though when I compile it is just a normal texture. I then updated the shader, no errors in gtkradiant or whatever, and I did 'flush and reload shaders' in gtkradiant. Compiled again, still no changes. I have quit and restarted oa and gtkradiant, though it is always the same in game. The only changes I have observed are in radiant, with the texture turning into 'shader image not found' when I removed the q3r_editorimage property.

Any ideas people?

Changing older shaders does not work either... they are what they used to be in my older maps.

BTW: Kit89, thanks, I have managed to create a terrain with no errors. Had a few problems with some cracks between the patches, though its fine now.


Title: Re: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: dmn_clown on June 23, 2007, 10:48:43 AM
./ioquake3.xxx +set sv_pure 0 

in the game console:

\sv_pure 0

make sure the shader is in your ~./openarena/baseoa/scripts/ folder and your issue should be solved.


Title: Re: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: stroggi on June 23, 2007, 10:55:08 AM
edit: reply was to wrong thread :P


Title: Re: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: kick52 on June 23, 2007, 01:37:00 PM
./ioquake3.xxx +set sv_pure 0 

in the game console:

\sv_pure 0

make sure the shader is in your ~./openarena/baseoa/scripts/ folder and your issue should be solved.

tried that, it is still the same :( thanks though.


Title: Re: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: dmn_clown on June 23, 2007, 04:19:50 PM
Hmm...  can you post an example of your shader?


Title: Re: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: kick52 on June 24, 2007, 01:00:18 AM
textures/kick52/curl2
{
//surfaceparm trans
{
map textures/kick52/win.tga   
}
}

win.tga exists, and curl2 is used and shows up as a shader


Title: Re: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: dmn_clown on June 24, 2007, 01:48:17 PM
in a nutshell:

Code:
textures/kick52/curl2
{
surfaceparm nolightmap
{
map textures/kick52/win.tga   

}
}

would make it appear as just the texture

Code:
textures/kick52/curl2
{
surfaceparm trans
surfaceparm nolightmap
{
map textures/kick52/win.tga
tcmod scroll 0.1 -0.3   
}
}

would scroll the texture .1 in the X and -.3 in the Y

Code:
textures/kick52/curl2
{
surfaceparm trans
surfaceparm nolightmap
{
map textures/kick52/win.tga   
tcmod scale .1 .1
}
}

scales the texture by .1 in the X and .1 in the Y (Makes it larger, whole numbers scale it down)

Code:
textures/kick52/curl2
{
surfaceparm trans
surfaceparm nolightmap
{
map textures/kick52/win.tga   
tcmod stretch sin 1.2 .8 0.5 1.5
}
}

will stretch and shrink the texture in an even manner

the surfaceparm trans won't make the texture transparent as such, you need to add a blend function to accomplish that, something like this:
Code:
textures/kick52/curl2
{
surfaceparm trans
surfaceparm nolightmap
{
map textures/kick52/win.tga   
blendfunc add //this will brighten the texture a blendfunc filter will darken the texture
}
}

There are other blendfuncs, read the q3 shader manual for their full explanation.


Title: Re: Shader problems (not updating)
Post by: kick52 on June 24, 2007, 02:13:23 PM
thanks for that little intro, but its annoying i have to make a new shader each time i want to change something...