OpenArena Message Boards

OpenArena Contributions => Development => Topic started by: alphalon on July 12, 2007, 10:47:56 AM



Title: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: alphalon on July 12, 2007, 10:47:56 AM
I just donloaded the new release of openarena, and have been playing singleplayer. It was all well until I got to the map "Fan". I played that map for a couple of minutes and it crashed. The console said(I'm under linux):

Kyonshi^7 was gunned down by Alphalon^7
Received signal 11, exiting...
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
----- Server Shutdown (Signal caught) -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
AAS shutdown.
---------------------------
Shutdown tty console


I tried it again to make sure I didn't just press some wierd button, but the same thing happened. I can't move on to the next tier without completing that level.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: fromhell on July 12, 2007, 10:57:49 AM
DON'T PLAY FAN :(


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: alphalon on July 12, 2007, 11:04:56 AM
DON'T PLAY FAN :(

But then I can't move onto the next tier.

Whats wrong with fan anyways?


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: Kojiro_S on July 12, 2007, 11:46:50 AM
It's been reported as buggy, needs some fixes.
Even servers have been reported to crash when playing Fan.
Can't be helped.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: fromhell on July 12, 2007, 11:59:06 AM
try fraglimit 1 on fan, then score a kill


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: Leopold on July 12, 2007, 12:14:30 PM
DON'T PLAY FAN :(

But then I can't move onto the next tier.

Whats wrong with fan anyways?
There exists a workaround if you want to advance to the next tier.
OpenArena stores in its q3config.cfg what you have achieved so far.
So you have to open it in your favorite editor and search for the lines
beginning with
seta g_spScoresX
where X is the number identifying  the skillevel you played at.
It should look like this:
 seta g_spScoresX "\l6\1\l5\1\l4\1\l3\1\l2\1\l1\1\l0\1"
add Level 7 like so it looks like this:
seta g_spScoresX "\l7\1\l6\1\l5\1\l4\1\l3\1\l2\1\l1\1\l0\1"
Then you should be taken to the next Tier when you start OpenArena
again.
But be aware that this is cheating and the bots will hate you for it;)


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: alphalon on July 12, 2007, 01:04:36 PM
Thanks for the advice. Hopefully it will be fixed soon.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: dmn_clown on July 12, 2007, 01:52:42 PM
Hopefully it will be fixed soon.

I'll work on fixing it this weekend.  In the mean time, I have noticed that increasing com_zoneMegs from the default 24 to 48 or 64 seems to make the map run longer before it crashes (finally noticed it on my laptop so I have a way to test any map fixes).

EDIT:  I think I have this fixed, at least the map doesn't crash on my laptop (spec'd 3 games straight with 7 bots, fraglimit 50 no crashes, whereas the 0.7 version crashes with 2 bots before the end of a normal 20 frag match).  Needs some texture resizing, though.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: ecik on July 22, 2007, 04:31:47 AM
I am maintainter of openarena in Fedora - will a new version (0.7.1) of openarena be released or I have to fix FAN in the package manually?


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: dmn_clown on July 22, 2007, 10:42:48 AM
if you do that your users will experience weird errors when that map is played online due to different versions of the map being played.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: ecik on July 22, 2007, 01:34:17 PM
if you do that your users will experience weird errors when that map is played online due to different versions of the map being played.
So I hope a new version will be released.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: dmn_clown on July 22, 2007, 02:43:54 PM
a patch is planned it will include void4, fan, suspended, oa_bases3 and a new arenas.txt file.

I can't give a date on when, though.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: next_ghost on August 20, 2007, 08:13:20 AM
In the mean time, you can use this patch for server/client executable to work around the bug:

Code:
--- code.orig/botlib/be_aas_route.c     2006-05-12 12:22:38.000000000 +0200
+++ code/botlib/be_aas_route.c  2007-08-20 16:09:21.000000000 +0200
@@ -1827,6 +1827,11 @@
                        return qfalse;
                } //end if
                reach = &aasworld.reachability[reachnum];
+               if (reach->areanum >= aasworld.numareas)
+               {
+                       route->stopevent = RSE_NOROUTE;
+                       return qfalse;
+               } //end if
                //
                if (stopevent & RSE_USETRAVELTYPE)
                {

There seems to be a bogus areanum causing segfault. I was able to play through Fan with this modification, QVMs don't need to be touched so it's safe even for network play.


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: w1zrd on August 20, 2007, 08:14:20 AM
In the mean time, you can use this patch for server/client executable to work around the bug:

Code:
--- code.orig/botlib/be_aas_route.c     2006-05-12 12:22:38.000000000 +0200
+++ code/botlib/be_aas_route.c  2007-08-20 16:09:21.000000000 +0200
@@ -1827,6 +1827,11 @@
                        return qfalse;
                } //end if
                reach = &aasworld.reachability[reachnum];
+               if (reach->areanum >= aasworld.numareas)
+               {
+                       route->stopevent = RSE_NOROUTE;
+                       return qfalse;
+               } //end if
                //
                if (stopevent & RSE_USETRAVELTYPE)
                {

There seems to be a bogus areanum causing segfault. I was able to play through Fan with this modification, QVMs don't need to be touched so it's safe even for network play.
Fan has been fixed as of 0.7.1 though


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: EasyChat on August 21, 2007, 09:28:59 AM
Hi,

I was playing half way through fan today on 7.1 and it exited back to the desktop, i don't think this bug has gone away. :(


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: w1zrd on August 21, 2007, 10:05:44 AM
Hi,

I was playing half way through fan today on 7.1 and it exited back to the desktop, i don't think this bug has gone away. :(
Adding more information about this would be really useful then. What Operating System and some specific error codes is a good way to go..


Title: Re: Problem with OpenArena Exiting
Post by: EasyChat on August 21, 2007, 10:38:40 AM
Ok sorry for the noobness, here is my system:

Win XP Home, Service pack 2.
Nvidia geforce go 7950 512mb ram.
2gb ram
Good enough CPU.

No error sorry, the game just exited back to desktop. No time to see any potential error messages.