OpenArena Message Boards

OpenArena Contributions => Development => Topic started by: Shiv on July 26, 2007, 09:16:06 PM



Title: pk0.pk3 checksum problem with invoking Q3 (on Solarix Express)
Post by: Shiv on July 26, 2007, 09:16:06 PM
Hi All,

I have built ioquake3 from the source on Solaris Express (OpenSolaris based) and then copied the pk3 files from the OpenArena 0.7 download.
Now on invoking the executable ioquake3.i386 I get an error saying checksum for pak0.pk3 failed. I have reproduced the error text below.

How do I solve this problem? (the OpenArena download itself is fine, I verified this on windows side by actually playing a game)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1.33_SVN1120M solaris-i386 Jul 27 2007
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/export/home/pkguser/.q3a/baseq3
./baseq3/pak6-misc.pk3 (191 files)
./baseq3/pak5-TA.pk3 (11 files)
./baseq3/pak4- textures.pk3 (1496 files)
./baseq3/pak3-music.pk3 (9 files)
./baseq3/pak2-players.pk3 (620 files)
./baseq3/pak2-players-mature.pk3 (171 files)
./baseq3/pak1-maps.pk3 (73 files)
./baseq3/pak0.pk3 (926 files)
./baseq3

----------------------
3497 files in pk3 files

**************************************************
WARNING: pak0.pk3 is present but its checksum (1954366289)
is not correct. Please re-install the point release
**************************************************

Point Release files are missing. Please
re-install the 1.32 point release.

Also check that your Q3 executable is in
the correct place and that every file
in the baseq3 directory is present and readable.
Sys_Error:
*** you need to install Quake III Arena in order to play ***
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

regards
Shiv


Title: Re: pk0.pk3 checksum problem with invoking Q3 (on Solarix Express)
Post by: fromhell on July 26, 2007, 10:10:32 PM
You tried to build ioq3 and you didn't build oa.


Title: Re: pk0.pk3 checksum problem with invoking Q3 (on Solarix Express)
Post by: Shiv on July 28, 2007, 12:26:02 AM
You tried to build ioq3 and you didn't build oa.

Yes thats right. My understanding was that ioquake3 & openarena data files would work.

I tried building OA but it failed since <basedir>/ui that contains menudef.h was missing. Based on the diffs between ioquake3 and OpenArena, I believe that menudef.h is probably taken as is and hence picked it from ioquake3 source code and built OA successfully.

My build is now successful.

Now there is problem with OpenGL when I try running it. It seems that hardware acceleration for the graphics is required for Q3.
I am using Solaris Express on VMware and the virtualization environments (VMware,Xen,etc) currently do not support hardware acceleration.
Currently I am running Solaris Express on VMware. Will verify it on another box where it is natively installed.

best regards
Shiv



Title: Re: pk0.pk3 checksum problem with invoking Q3 (on Solarix Express)
Post by: dmn_clown on July 28, 2007, 05:50:48 PM
./ioquake3.xxx +set r_allowSoftwareGL 1


Title: Re: pk0.pk3 checksum problem with invoking Q3 (on Solarix Express)
Post by: iLeft.bye on July 28, 2007, 06:18:28 PM
qcommon/files.c 2892
Code:
/*
===================
FS_CheckPak0

Checks that pak0.pk3 is present and its checksum is correct
Note: If you're building a game that doesn't depend on the
Q3 media pak0.pk3, you'll want to remove this function
===================
*/

this means you cant use ioquake3 directly if you have no pak0.pk3


Title: Re: pk0.pk3 checksum problem with invoking Q3 (on Solarix Express)
Post by: Shiv on August 02, 2007, 10:15:03 AM
./ioquake3.xxx +set r_allowSoftwareGL 1

Invoking the normal way did mention about this option. When I gave it a try, it froze the system. This is not specific to Q3, a couple of other systems that need OpenGL also behaved the same way.
Has anyone succeeded in opening OA or Q3 within VMplayer environment.