Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to use/build openarena-modSDK-0.8.1 on linux ?  (Read 7869 times)
mcjo
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« on: March 22, 2009, 05:09:40 AM »

Hello team,
how to use or build the SDK?
When I launch "make clean", I have one error
Code:
make -C code/unix/setup clean
make: *** code/unix/setup: Aucun fichier ou dossier de ce type. Arrêt.
make: *** [clean] Erreur 2
But the make seems correct, I have any errors.
When I launch "make copyfiles" it is correct:
Code:
make -C code/tools/lcc install
make[1]: entrant dans le répertoire « /home/__my__/openArena/openarena-modSDK-0.8.1/code/tools/lcc »
install -s -m 0755 build-linux-i386/q3lcc ../
install -s -m 0755 build-linux-i386/q3cpp ../
install -s -m 0755 build-linux-i386/q3rcc ../
make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/__my__/openArena/openarena-modSDK-0.8.1/code/tools/lcc »
make -C code/tools/asm install
make[1]: entrant dans le répertoire « /home/__my__/openArena/openarena-modSDK-0.8.1/code/tools/asm »
install -s -m 0755 q3asm ../
make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/__my__/openArena/openarena-modSDK-0.8.1/code/tools/asm »
make  targets B=build/release-linux-i386 CFLAGS=" -Wall -fno-strict-aliasing -Wimplicit -Wstrict-prototypes -pipe -DUSE_OPENAL=1 -DUSE_CURL=1 -DUSE_CURL_DLOPEN=1 -DUSE_CODEC_VORBIS=1 -DUSE_SDL_VIDEO=1 -DUSE_SDL_SOUND=1 -I/usr/include/SDL -D_GNU_SOURCE=1 -D_REENTRANT -m32 -DUSE_LOCAL_HEADERS=1 -DNDEBUG -O3 -march=i586 -fomit-frame-pointer -ffast-math -funroll-loops -falign-loops=2 -falign-jumps=2 -falign-functions=2 -fstrength-reduce -MMD"
make[1]: entrant dans le répertoire « /home/__my__/openArena/openarena-modSDK-0.8.1 »
make[1]: Rien à faire pour « targets ».
make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/__my__/openArena/openarena-modSDK-0.8.1 »
mkdir -p -m 0755 "/home/__my__/openArena/install"/baseq3
mkdir -p -m 0755 "/home/__my__/openArena/install"/missionpack
, I have nothing in install dir, just the dirs are created :
Code:
ls -Rl /home/__my__/openArena/install/
/home/__my__/openArena/install/:
total 8
drwxr-xr-x 2 __my__ __my__ 4096 2009-03-22 03:51 baseq3
drwxr-xr-x 2 __my__ __my__ 4096 2009-03-22 03:51 missionpack

/home/__my__/openArena/install/baseq3:
total 0

/home/__my__/openArena/install/missionpack:
total 0
Logged
Snickersnack
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 196


obnoxious OA fan


« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2009, 07:03:39 PM »

Have you tried the default rule? Just typing 'make' builds qvms for me.
Logged
mcjo
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2009, 04:52:15 PM »

Have you tried the default rule? Just typing 'make' builds qvms for me.

Yes,
when I tried but only q3lcc, q3cpp, q3rcc, q3asm are present in directory "code/tools/".
When I tried whith ioquake download from ioquake svn :"svn://svn.icculus.org/quake3/trunk" equal from download page
I have a lot files compiled :
Code:
    build/release-linux-i386/ioq3ded.i386
    build/release-linux-i386/ioquake3.i386
    build/release-linux-i386/baseq3/cgamei386.so
    build/release-linux-i386/baseq3/qagamei386.so
    build/release-linux-i386/baseq3/uii386.so
    build/release-linux-i386/missionpack/cgamei386.so
    build/release-linux-i386/missionpack/qagamei386.so
    build/release-linux-i386/missionpack/uii386.so
    build/release-linux-i386/baseq3/vm/cgame.qvm
    build/release-linux-i386/baseq3/vm/qagame.qvm
    build/release-linux-i386/baseq3/vm/ui.qvm
    build/release-linux-i386/missionpack/vm/qagame.qvm
    build/release-linux-i386/missionpack/vm/cgame.qvm
    build/release-linux-i386/missionpack/vm/ui.qvm
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2009, 06:23:00 PM »

when I tried but only q3lcc, q3cpp, q3rcc, q3asm are present in directory "code/tools/".
That should be all you need to create mods.

Compiling of the engine is disabled in the make files and the source is removed from the package. Compiling of the tools and qvm files is enabled in the make files.

You cannot compare the amount of files compiled to ioquake3.

I have tried compiling it on multiple machines and never had a problem on a Linux box. What distro do you use? Have you changed anything? (Especially Makefile and Makefile.local)
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
mcjo
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2009, 04:13:01 AM »

when I tried but only q3lcc, q3cpp, q3rcc, q3asm are present in directory "code/tools/".
That should be all you need to create mods.

Compiling of the engine is disabled in the make files and the source is removed from the package. Compiling of the tools and qvm files is enabled in the make files.

You cannot compare the amount of files compiled to ioquake3.

I have tried compiling it on multiple machines and never had a problem on a Linux box. What distro do you use? Have you changed anything? (Especially Makefile and Makefile.local)
Hi,
No I have, just extract the source archive downloaded from svn repository, run 'make' and 'sudo make copyfile'.
I haven't any error on make command, but the created directory are desperately empty.
I use ubuntu 8.10, with gcc 4.3
Thank for help.
Logged
Snickersnack
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 196


obnoxious OA fan


« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2009, 07:28:21 PM »

So there were no errors? Strange.

Was a 'build' directory created?

It might be useful to see the output of make. Could you try untaring a fresh openarena-modSDK-0.8.1.tar.bz2, change directory to the one with the 'Makefile' file,  and run this command?
Code:
make &>foo
You won't see any output. It takes a minute or two to build on my AthlonX2 4200. You'll know it's done when the cursor reappears.

There should now be a new file called 'foo'. If you could attach or post a link to that file maybe someone here can figure this out. Smiley
Logged
mcjo
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2009, 01:34:53 PM »

So there were no errors? Strange.

Was a 'build' directory created?

It might be useful to see the output of make. Could you try untaring a fresh openarena-modSDK-0.8.1.tar.bz2, change directory to the one with the 'Makefile' file,  and run this command?
Code:
make &>foo
You won't see any output. It takes a minute or two to build on my AthlonX2 4200. You'll know it's done when the cursor reappears.

There should now be a new file called 'foo'. If you could attach or post a link to that file maybe someone here can figure this out. Smiley

It's all ok, I have just change the MakeFile to change
BUILD_GAME_SO = 0 To BUILD_GAME_SO = 1
Thank for all
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: