Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: openarena + xreal  (Read 7256 times)
MilesTeg
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 145



« on: April 16, 2008, 03:28:10 pm »

Hi

I've just played around with the current xreal game and got a little frustrated about the media licensing (many copyrighted stuff, cc-by-nc etc.).

So I decided to replace the content with the nice oa stuff Smiley

After some copy and paste (different file paths) I got at least
 the menu working fine with only some dozens of xreal files needed.

Sounds are working (after converting them to ogg) and most of the static models are
already there.

Levels are loading, but as you can see, you see nothing Wink

I think I still have to create and setup the textures with normal maps so it works right.

I keep you updated
cheers
MilesTeg

Screenshot:
http://www.opencontentgames.org/oastuff/oa+xreal.jpg
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 03:29:43 pm by MilesTeg » Logged

"We are all connected"
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 637


Shoot him..


« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 04:32:26 pm »

For the maps to work properly, you will need to re-compile them using the xmap2 compiler.

However I do believe xmap2 doesn't support the quake3 .map. I think it either the Q4 or D3 version xmap2 supports. Best check the wiki. Smiley

For now all OA models should work fine. Until .md3 is removed and fully replaced by .md5.

The Xreal engine is very impressive. Smiley
Logged
vennatorr
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 15


« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2008, 02:00:41 pm »

xmap2 can convert a quake3 .map file into a doom3 .map file. very useful feature.
Logged
vennatorr
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 15


« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2008, 11:11:14 am »

how's it going MilesTeg? i'm hoping this takes off.

the files that need replacing, what are they? i might be able to help.
Logged
MilesTeg
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 145



« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2008, 03:44:44 am »

I haven't moved on with this project yet. The next thing I try is recompiling the maps with xmap2.

I'll give you a list of files that need to be replaced ASAP.

Maybe I even upload the current Xreal/oa meshup.
Logged

"We are all connected"
iLeft.bye
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 188



« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2008, 12:29:37 pm »

xreal? xreal is a joke ... really. it only runs slow on nvidia and on ati it doesnt run at all. I wonder what is the deal with the programming I know engines that look a lot better and works equally well on nvidia and ati.(and they are not even optimized). also I can't call it a tech demo. it uses nothing new to gaming world. If you badly want a quake based engine with pixel/vertex shaders take a look at qfusion It lacks some stuff but it is balanced well(features/speed)
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: