Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Liquid test  (Read 10625 times)
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« on: December 20, 2007, 08:19:17 AM »

I found myself in a dark alley with no way out, so I thought I'd share this mystery with you all.
I've been playing around with pools of water (isn't that fun) but for some peculiar reason I can't get the liquids to liquidate properly.
In this little map (yea, it's a map) all the textures under /liquids (http://openarena.ws/svn/textures/liquids/) are used, but only 2 of the lava, 1 acid:ish and 1 water works.

 So is there something wrong in my GTK setup, my incompetence or is it that liquids simply aren't liquid because it seems like only the .tga files will actually work and act fluidly.

Here is the map
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2007, 08:48:24 AM »

About 5 of your Textures don't show for me. Like liquids/bubbles.

From my use of water in OpenArena you have to apply the water textures that have no image. The ones that say: Shader Image Missing.

Like Hydrowater, Hydrowater2, Islewater, justwater, acid, lavahell_750, oldacid, refwater, rapidwater, softlava, softwater, tele & waveywater.

I edited your file to show.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2007, 08:50:20 AM by kit89 » Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2007, 09:05:20 AM »

Ok, that is interesting. None of the textures show in my GTK (shader not found) but all has the proper water/lava/liquid functions.
I.e none of the shaders you applied, I have access to..
Code:
//**********************************************************************//
// shaderlist.txt modified for Q3Radiant //
// by Eutectic - 13 May 2000 //
//                                                                      //
//      Rev history:                                                    //
//      08/11/2000
//      TTimo - changed liquid to liquids and sky to skies for better   //
//      consistency with the directories and actual shader names        //
// //
// Added the names of the new shader files created as a result //
// of the cleanup of the old shader files so Q3Radiant will read //
// and display all the shaders in the texture window. //
// //
// SHADER FILE NAMES ADDED: //
// base_door //
// gothic_button //
// gothic_door //
//**********************************************************************//

// this file lists all the separate shader files
base_button
base_door
base_floor
base_light
base_object
base_support
base_trim
base_wall
common
ctf
//eerie
//gfx
//hell
gothic_block
gothic_button
gothic_door
gothic_floor
gothic_light
gothic_trim
gothic_wall
liquids
//menu
//models
organics
sfx
skin
skies
That is my default_shaderlist.txt in install/oa.game/baseoa
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2007, 09:13:34 AM »

My shaderlist is much longer and include (among other things):

oasky
oafx
beams
liquid_lavas
liquid_water
oalite
oaflares
oanew
oa_fogs
evil8
clown
clown2
terrain
oasfx
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2007, 09:16:27 AM »

I know I had trouble figuring out what ones I could use as Water, lava acid etc.. and what where just the textures, that where nothing but images.

So I modified the liquid_water.shader, to use a default image in map editing. for all the water_liquids.At this moment it doesn't include lava or acid. As I believe they should have there own default texture to distinguish them from water.

What it does is instead of have a "Missing Shader Texture" it uses a texture called water.tga(Its blue with the words "water" on it). This way map editors can tell what they can use and cant use. Smiley

Rename the .zip to .pk3 & place in the baseoa folder to use. This is merely to help in mapping, and you dont need to include any of these files in the release .pk3, if you decide to use it.

I wrote all this just before you replied. I think your shaderlist is outdated.
Mine is:
Code:
// Created by QuArK
// No shader in this map
common
common2
oasky
oafx
beams
liquid_lavas
liquid_water
oalite
oaflares
oanew
oa_fogs
kaznexctf2
quark
el3dm1
evil8
light
skies
clown
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2007, 09:34:34 AM »

Ok, now I'm confused (as usual). When I replace my default_shaderlist.txt with what you posted, it won't show any others than the old ones, even after flushing. Where should be default location for that file, or should if have another name than default_shaderlist.txt when contents is added?
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2007, 09:42:03 AM »

You shouldn't need a shaderlist.txt or default_* in any of the GtkRadiant directories. As OpenArena comes with its own in pak0.pk3
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2007, 09:45:50 AM »

You shouldn't need a shaderlist.txt or default_* in any of the GtkRadiant directories. As OpenArena comes with its own in pak0.pk3
Then it is even more odd since I have the 0.7 pak0.pk3 (patched with 0.7.1) and nothing added apart from that. OA is not installed from SVN this time around, but GTK Radiant is.
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2007, 09:49:47 AM »

Can you take a screenshot of your problem so I can figure out what it could be.
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2007, 09:55:37 AM »

Can you take a screenshot of your problem so I can figure out what it could be.

A listing of the texture list in current state:
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2007, 10:05:36 AM »

And my modification to oa_lt.pk3 textures display up fine in OpenArena?

Do you have any feature that removes texture that don't have a texture?
Do you have "Hide Image Missing" Enabled in the View option in the texture window?

If so Disable "Hide Image Missing".
« Last Edit: December 20, 2007, 10:07:20 AM by kit89 » Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2007, 03:34:40 PM »

About 5 of your Textures don't show for me. Like liquids/bubbles.

From my use of water in OpenArena you have to apply the water textures that have no image. The ones that say: Shader Image Missing.

Like Hydrowater, Hydrowater2, Islewater, justwater, acid, lavahell_750, oldacid, refwater, rapidwater, softlava, softwater, tele & waveywater.

I edited your file to show.
Where do you get the actual textures from?
I can't find them in the SVN, nor were they in my shaderlist until now after I added both yours and sagos..
Settings in GTK seems to be ok by the way..
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2007, 05:10:16 PM »

About 5 of your Textures don't show for me. Like liquids/bubbles.

From my use of water in OpenArena you have to apply the water textures that have no image. The ones that say: Shader Image Missing.

Like Hydrowater, Hydrowater2, Islewater, justwater, acid, lavahell_750, oldacid, refwater, rapidwater, softlava, softwater, tele & waveywater.

I edited your file to show.
Where do you get the actual textures from?
I can't find them in the SVN, nor were they in my shaderlist until now after I added both yours and sagos..
Settings in GTK seems to be ok by the way..


For reference:

Code:
textures/liquids/hydrowater
{
surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm trans
surfaceparm water
cull disable
tessSize 32
fogparms ( 0.215686 0.278431 0.333333 ) 1024
{
map textures/liquids/pool2.tga
blendfunc filter
tcMod scroll 0.05 0.05
}
{
map textures/liquids/pool3d_4b2.tga
blendfunc add
rgbGen const ( 0.501961 0.501961 0.501961 )
tcMod scroll -0.03 -0.06
}
{
map textures/liquids/pool3d_4b2.tga
blendfunc add
rgbGen const ( 0.501961 0.501961 0.501961 )
tcGen environment
}
{
map $lightmap
blendfunc filter
rgbGen identity
}
}

The reason why some of your test "liquifications" aren't working is because you are just using the textures, not the shaders.  The shaders in Radiant are shown by the white box around the texture image.

Without the surfaceparm water/lava/slime the compiler + engine will not create water/lava/slime.  (also judging by the missing textures that show up in your map in my 0.7.1 install you have some extra textures that aren't in the game, probably in your ~/.openarena/baseoa/textures/ directory)
Logged

w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2007, 07:23:23 AM »

Been checking this several times over and even though there are small white frames around certain textures (i.e shaders connected) they do not behave like liquids. Others who have tried compiling that test map get similar issues, but no missing textures.
I did have a texture which I experimented with as a water dummy in /textures, but I really can't find anything wrong in the setup.

Making a long story short, I'm off to get the whole thing off the SVN again...
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2007, 08:37:19 AM »

Quote
Others who have tried compiling that test map get similar issues, but no missing textures.

Is that your oa_lt.map? or the modified oa_lt.map I did?

If its yours then the reason is because your using the texture & not the shader.

Shaders for me display as a "Shader Image Missing" Because there is no texture to link to it in GtkRadiant.

If you check one of my above post I posted a .pk3 that applies a texture to the "Shader Image Missing" shaders. That says "Water" with a blue background. This will allow you to find all the water shaders you can use as water. However I did not implement it for Acid or Lava.

As shown below.
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #15 on: December 24, 2007, 10:33:26 AM »

Actually, I found this after MUCH searching through the net:
Quote
Hi!

I'm trying to fix a bug in Radiant 1.5 but now I'm completely confused and hope that someone can help me. Note: I've never really played Q3 and never mapped for it.

Here's the problem:

Quote from bugzilla (http://zerowing.idsoftware.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=1114):
Quote:
The liquid shaders in q3 do not show up, only the textures, but not the white surrounding indicating it is a shader, this makes it impossible to use any liquids, it only creates solid blocks. It worked in 1.4.

I found out that it's a naming problem:
Quote:
A temporary fix should be to rename the entry "liquids" in the shaderlist.txt to "liquid" (without the trailing "s").

But while looking at the shaderlist.txt that currently comes with Radiant 1.5 (link), I noticed that some entries are commented out and I wanted to know why. I looked at my Q3A 1.32 installation and found out that several entries in the shaderlist.txt didn't match. Examples:

- eerie is commented out. Why? That shader file looks good.
- There are entries for gothic_button and gothic_door in the shaderlist.txt but I don't have the corresponding .shader files.

I'm a complete Q3 noob and don't know about the difference between Quake 3 Arena and Quake 3 Team Arena and have no idea what that missionpack is good for that comes with Radiant and its own shaderlist.txt.

Maybe you understand now why I'm confused

It would be great if somebody could give me some information about all this Q3 specific things so that a complete and correct shaderlist.txt file can be put in Radiant 1.5.
So, I threw out old GTK, downloaded new from SVN and wouldn't you think it? I'm stuck again! Smiley
This time I have NO textures at all, loool....
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: