Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: whats teh best map making program?  (Read 27940 times)
antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« on: December 31, 2007, 01:33:47 AM »

im new to 3d making, never done it before but i want to try it, anything good for me (i use linux, and have access to a windows comp, but linux is preferred)
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 09:16:02 AM »

im new to 3d making, never done it before but i want to try it, anything good for me (i use linux, and have access to a windows comp, but linux is preferred)
Old school mapping is done with GTK Radiant in most cases but you will see that the future of mapping is within Blender since it gives you the flexibility to work with meshes and gives your complete control.
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2007, 12:28:43 PM »

Don't suggest that. Vising with that sucks.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2007, 01:29:56 PM »

but what is good for beginners? (ie ppl who have never done 3d making a day of their life)
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2007, 01:38:17 PM »

Old school mapping is done with GTK Radiant in most cases but you will see that the future of mapping is within Blender since it gives you the flexibility to work with meshes and gives your complete control.

Not really, ase's have 0 vis blocking which means that you have to load any ase mesh into Radiant to convert to q3brush work or your map will run like absolute crap on anything other than high-end hardware.

The brush model isn't quite dead yet and probably won't die completely off, especially when companies are still using id tech 3 and 4.

but what is good for beginners? (ie ppl who have never done 3d making a day of their life)

GtkRadiant
Logged

steauengeglase
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 34



« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2007, 02:31:18 PM »

Get it here:
http://qeradiant.com/cgi-bin/trac.cgi

Setup for OA here:
http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=213.0

Great list of links:
http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=317.0

Not half-bad tutorial:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/GtkRadiant
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2007, 02:55:11 PM »

It takes a more powerful machine to run, which is completely true hence I used 'the future of mapping' since most people don't have 1999-ish hardware any longer (except me). Donkey's 'Ripper's Playground' (Q3) is a good map example made in Blender (and it doesn't take a monster machine to run)
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2007, 02:58:22 PM »

oa's target machine is common 1999 machines (500mhz machines with 16mb cards)

I'd rather not have these alienated.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2007, 03:00:14 PM by leilol » Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2007, 03:34:23 PM »

To start off with stick with GtkRadiant.

Tho the best option is to use a mixture of GtkRadiant & Blender. For me I use Radiant to create the level structure & then Blender for detail models. Like statues or barrels.

Never used Blender to create a full map tho.
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2007, 04:49:21 PM »

oa's target machine is common 1999 machines (500mhz machines with 16mb cards)

I'd rather not have these alienated.
Makes sense since OA is supposed to clone Quake III from that era.
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2007, 05:32:41 PM »

is there a .deb for gtkradient that i am missing, because i didnt see one
Logged
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2007, 07:28:55 PM »

I downloaded this version of GtkRadiant. It already has OpenArena setup & plugins.

Direct Link to download: http://www.smartzenegger.nl/files/math/files/gtkradiant1.5-oa.game-data.tar.gz

It's a simple case of extracting the file & placing it in your "/opt" you'll need to become root to do so. Also you may have to download libglext(if I can remember) if you dont already have it from the repo's.

Just run gtkradiant in the command line to see if you need any extra packages.
Logged
antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2007, 08:09:44 PM »

I downloaded this version of GtkRadiant. It already has OpenArena setup & plugins.

Direct Link to download: http://www.smartzenegger.nl/files/math/files/gtkradiant1.5-oa.game-data.tar.gz

It's a simple case of extracting the file & placing it in your "/opt" you'll need to become root to do so. Also you may have to download libglext(if I can remember) if you dont already have it from the repo's.

Just run gtkradiant in the command line to see if you need any extra packages.
gksudo nautilus =p, gksudo = graphical super user do nautilus = filebrowser, thus  gksudo nautilus = super user filebrowser!

how do i run it once i put it in /opt/
« Last Edit: December 31, 2007, 08:21:50 PM by antisocialist » Logged
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2008, 04:45:22 AM »

cd /opt/gtkradiant

./radiant.x86

You may want to make a link in your menu &/or on the desktop.

Quote
gksudo nautilus =p, gksudo = graphical super user do nautilus = filebrowser, thus  gksudo nautilus = super user filebrowser!

Or you could write: sudo nautilus, or if your running KDE sudo konqueror. Or if your distro doesn't have "sudo" you could use "su". Theres lots of ways of doing it, depending in your distro.
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2008, 08:45:08 AM »

oa's target machine is common 1999 machines (500mhz machines with 16mb cards)

I'd rather not have these alienated.
Makes sense since OA is supposed to clone Quake III from that era.

Quake III runs on common 1997-1998 machines, so it's still definitely higher.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« Reply #15 on: January 01, 2008, 11:04:37 AM »

yes but if you are in kde you type KDEsudo konqueror because the filebrowser is graphical so you are suppose to type the graphical super user command
Logged
Dave
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 29


« Reply #16 on: January 02, 2008, 02:59:40 PM »

Real men use DOS Edit in Windows and vi in Unix based OSes.   Screw the graphical programs with all it's stupid little bells and whistles.  You can do it in a plain old text editor and then just compile it with the compiling utility.
Logged
Dave
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 29


« Reply #17 on: January 02, 2008, 03:05:18 PM »

I'd rather not have these alienated.
I think life has already alienated them.

I searched Ebay for 500 mhz and 90% of the systems listed where Apple systems surely people just trying to extract money from those Apple zealot hardware collectors! Smiley

Does OA even compile on MacOS 9?
Logged
antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« Reply #18 on: January 02, 2008, 03:20:29 PM »

Real men use DOS Edit in Windows and vi in Unix based OSes.   Screw the graphical programs with all it's stupid little bells and whistles.  You can do it in a plain old text editor and then just compile it with the compiling utility.
real men are lazy and do it the easy GUI way
Logged
sykonort
Ok i've posted twice!


Cakes 0
Posts: 2


« Reply #19 on: January 02, 2008, 05:13:54 PM »

Quote
Donkey's 'Ripper's Playground' (Q3) is a good map example made in Blender (and it doesn't take a monster machine to run)

it looks like he uses a mix of blender and gtkradiant. gtkradiant to block out the initial map, blender to build the mesh that covers it and then gtkradiant to assemble all the parts together and compile it.

there's a nice explanation in the tutorials section of donkey's site. "Making a map from models".
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #20 on: January 03, 2008, 02:40:17 PM »

is there a .deb for gtkradient that i am missing, because i didnt see one

Not yet, IIRC there are licensing concerns.

Quote
gksudo nautilus =p, gksudo = graphical super user do nautilus = filebrowser, thus  gksudo nautilus = super user filebrowser!

Or you could write: sudo nautilus, or if your running KDE sudo konqueror. Or if your distro doesn't have "sudo" you could use "su". Theres lots of ways of doing it, depending in your distro.

All distributions have the ability to install sudo, but only one group of distributions feel it is a good thing to give the user root privileges thereby creating an insecure environment where only one password needs to be gained to compromise a system.

Sudo can be secure but only when it is used properly.  Using sudo to run your file manager is most definitely not secure.  From the Sudo man page:

Quote
CAVEATS
       There is no easy way to prevent a user from gaining a root shell if
       that user is allowed to run arbitrary commands via sudo.  Also, many
       programs (such as editors) allow the user to run commands via shell
       escapes, thus avoiding sudo's checks.  However, on most systems it is
       possible to prevent shell escapes with sudo's noexec functionality.
       See the sudoers(5) manual for details.

       It is not meaningful to run the cd command directly via sudo, e.g.

        $ sudo cd /usr/local/protected

       since when whe command exits the parent process (your shell) will still
       be the same.  Please see the EXAMPLES section for more information.

       If users have sudo ALL there is nothing to prevent them from creating
       their own program that gives them a root shell regardless of any '!'
       elements in the user specification.

       Running shell scripts via sudo can expose the same kernel bugs that
       make setuid shell scripts unsafe on some operating systems (if your OS
       has a /dev/fd/ directory, setuid shell scripts are generally safe).

Of course it should be pointed out that I have yet to run across any distribution that provides a completely secure default install (so I am not just bashing Ubuntu's use of Sudo) this means that true security is up to the end user, as it should be.
Logged

antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« Reply #21 on: January 03, 2008, 06:58:36 PM »

gksudo nautilus is safe if you know what you are doing

EDIT: i know of one (not so operational) OS that has complete security, and that is a blank hard drive, because if there is nothing to screw up, then you cant screw it upp (lol)
« Last Edit: January 03, 2008, 07:00:17 PM by antisocialist » Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #22 on: January 03, 2008, 07:08:51 PM »

gksudo nautilus is safe if you know what you are doing

How many remote vulnerabilities have been found in Nautilus?
Logged

antisocialist
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 27


« Reply #23 on: January 03, 2008, 09:21:43 PM »

how am i suppose to know
Logged
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #24 on: January 04, 2008, 04:09:40 AM »

It comes down to that it's not safe. There is no program out there that is 100% secure. So you need to be careful when using root privileges .
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to: