Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: i need big help setting up a server...  (Read 3881 times)
ratso
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« on: June 01, 2008, 05:12:57 pm »

Edit : i forgot to give my q3config_server.cfg cvars as im very new to this as well and i may be missing a few key commands. Here it is below



seta net_socksEnabled "0" all the server cgf's ive seen have this set to 0 SHOULD THIS BE 1
seta net_ip "192.168.0.101"
seta net_port "27950"
seta com_zoneMegs "24"
seta com_hunkMegs "64"
seta sv_hostname "Ratso's Romp Room"
seta g_motd "youtube.com/phalxor"
seta sv_maxPing "150"
seta net_noudp "0"
seta sv_strictAuth "1"
seta sv_lanForceRate "1"
seta sv_pure "1"
seta sv_maxRate "25000"
seta sv_fps "91"
seta sv_master5 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master4 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master3 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master2 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master1 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master0 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
   
//If you want to use unlagged functionality (since 0.7.6)
seta g_delaghitscan "1"

seta sv_floodProtect "1"
seta com_blood "1"
seta rconPassword "haxor"
seta g_allowvote "1"

//GAMETYPES

seta g_gametype "0"
seta g_forcerespawn "1"
seta g_gametype "0"
seta g_rockets "1"

// makes all maps loop on the server (last vstr is m1 to go at the beginning):
set m1 "map aggressor; set nextmap vstr m2"
set m2 "map cbctf1; set nextmap vstr m3"
set m3 "map ce1m7; set nextmap vstr m4"
set m4 "map czest1dm; set nextmap vstr m5"
set m5 "map czest1tourney; set nextmap vstr m6"
set m6 "map czest2ctf; set nextmap vstr m7"
set m7 "map czest3ctf; set nextmap vstr m8"
set m8 "map delta; set nextmap vstr m9"
set m9 "map dm4ish; set nextmap vstr m10"
set m10 "map dm6ish; set nextmap vstr m11"
set m11 "map fan; set nextmap vstr m12"
set m12 "map hydronex; set nextmap vstr m13"
set m13 "map islandctf; set nextmap vstr m14"
set m14 "map islanddm; set nextmap vstr m15"
set m15 "map kaos; set nextmap vstr m16"
set m16 "map kaos2; set nextmap vstr m17"
set m17 "map oasago2f2; set nextmap vstr m18"
set m18 "map oa_bases3; set nextmap vstr m19"
set m19 "map oa_bases3plus3; set nextmap vstr m20"
set m20 "map oa_bases5; set nextmap vstr m21"
set m21 "map oa_ctf2; set nextmap vstr m22"
set m22 "map oa_ctf4ish; set nextmap vstr m23"
set m23 "map oa_dm1; set nextmap vstr m24"
set m24 "map oa_dm2; set nextmap vstr m25"
set m25 "map oa_dm3; set nextmap vstr m26"
set m26 "map oa_dm4; set nextmap vstr m27"
set m27 "map oa_dm5; set nextmap vstr m28"
set m28 "map oa_dm6; set nextmap vstr m29"
set m29 "map oa_dm7; set nextmap vstr m30"
set m30 "map oa_pvomit; set nextmap vstr m31"
set m31 "map oa_rpg3dm2; set nextmap vstr m32"
set m32 "map oa_shine; set nextmap vstr m33"
set m33 "map oa_shouse; set nextmap vstr m34"
set m34 "map q3dm6ish; set nextmap vstr m35"
set m35 "map suction; set nextmap vstr m36"
set m36 "map suspended; set nextmap vstr m1"




so i know my biggest problem is the fact im behind a router.

i have setup the server config, i launch the dedicated server and i see

Winsock Initialized
Opening IP socket: 5.xx.xx.55:27960
Hostname: Phalxor
IP: 192.168.0.101
IP: 5.xx.xx.55
(hid the ip, dunno if i can get haxd :{

as soon as i set the map i get


map fan
------ Server Initialization ------
Server: fan
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\OpenArena/baseoa
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak7-patch.pk3 (12 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak6-misc.pk3 (204 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak5-TA.pk3 (15 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak4-textures.pk3 (1720 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak3-music.pk3 (1 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak2-players.pk3 (610 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak2-players-mature.pk3 (234 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak1-maps.pk3 (89 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena\baseoa\pak0.pk3 (988 files)
C:\Games\OpenArena/baseoa

----------------------
7746 files in pk3 files
Loading vm file vm/qagame.qvm...
...which has vmMagic VM_MAGIC_VER2
Loading 1049 jump table targets
VM file qagame compiled to 1279468 bytes of code
qagame loaded in 2758336 bytes on the hunk
------- Game Initialization -------
gamename: baseoa
gamedate: May 27 2008
------------------------------------------------------------
InitGame: \sv_hostname\Ratso's Romp Room\sv_maxPing\150\sv_maxRate\25000\g_delag
hitscan\1\sv_floodProtect\1\g_gametype\0\g_rockets\1\dmflags\0\fraglimit\20\time
limit\0\sv_maxclients\8\sv_minRate\0\sv_minPing\0\g_maxGameClients\0\capturelimi
t\8\elimination_roundtime\120\elimination_ctf_oneway\0\g_lms_mode\0\version\ioq3
+oa 1.35 win_mingw-x86 May 28 2008\protocol\69\mapname\fan\sv_privateClients\0\s
v_allowDownload\0\gamename\baseoa\g_needpass\0\g_instantgib\0
0 teams with 0 entities
14 items registered
-----------------------------------
------- BotLib Initialization -------
loaded weapons.c
loaded items.c
loaded syn.c
loaded rnd.c
loaded match.c
loaded rchat.c
------------ Map Loading ------------
trying to load maps/fan.aas
loaded maps/fan.aas
item_health in solid at (864.0 0.0 96.0)
item_health not reachable for bots at (864.0 0.0 96.0)
item_health in solid at (-864.0 0.0 96.0)
item_health not reachable for bots at (-864.0 0.0 96.0)
found 38 level items
-------------------------------------
23 bots parsed
38 arenas parsed
AAS initialized.
FinishSpawningItem: item_health startsolid at (864 0 96)
FinishSpawningItem: item_health startsolid at (-864 0 96)
-----------------------------------
Resolving dpmaster.deathmask.net
dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Resolving dpmaster.deathmask.net
dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Resolving dpmaster.deathmask.net
dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Resolving dpmaster.deathmask.net
dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Resolving dpmaster.deathmask.net
dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950   
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net


(i have added seta sv_master5 "dpmaster.deathmask.net" seta sv_master4 "dpmaster.deathmask.net" seta sv_master3 "dpmaster.deathmask.net" seta sv_master2 "dpmaster.deathmask.net" seta sv_master1 "dpmaster.deathmask.net" seta sv_master0 "dpmaster.deathmask.net") lemme know if this is bad, as i read it automatically should send your server data to the master server

to me it looks as if i am hosting my server properly and sending my server info the the master

i go and check http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena but it does not appear in the list of servers

i have tryed port forwarding multiple ports for both 192.168.0.101 and 5.xx.xx.55 ip's (64253, 27950, 27960 and 6112) that it shows in the server window. all with the same result, i am able to connect (means nothing since im hosting it) but i have not tested if anyone else can join via ip. if someone would like to test connect to my server or has any good info regarding this, i would be most grateful... im trying to get a good Westcoast server going for 7.7 as there are 0 right now

thx Tongue
« Last Edit: June 01, 2008, 05:23:00 pm by ratso » Logged
Case
Member


Cakes -3
Posts: 176



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2008, 10:07:54 pm »

Your config seems excessive, why do you have those first 5 options in there?
or seta net_noudp "0"
seta sv_strictAuth "1"
seta sv_lanForceRate "1"
seta sv_fps "91"

and what about a fraglimit?

I guess I tend to go for the minimal
Logged
ratso
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2008, 01:51:21 am »

yeah the config itself is really bad, i made a really good one and then saved it but the commands on the website i looked at said to type set commandhere instead of seta commandhere

so i had a fully setup server in nearly everyway but about 80% of the commands got trashed when quake formatted the config file and i just put in the most basic stuff that i saw to get the server actually up and running.

i'm just trying to get it online then i can worry about making it a good server.
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2008, 03:50:45 am »

seta sv_master5 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master4 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master3 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master2 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master1 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"
seta sv_master0 "dpmaster.deathmask.net"

You should not put the same master server more than once or you will just spam it. The reason you can place more is if you want to appear on different master servers.

IP: 5.xx.xx.55[/color] (hid the ip, dunno if i can get haxd :{

Your IP will be published if you host a server. Not that it is a problem if you have a router.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
ratso
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2008, 07:08:33 pm »

K, i believe ive learned all ive needed. I need to invest in an actual hosting isp and get some static ip's.

some things i learned, you need to run the dedicated.exe with a shortcut with lines +dedicated 2 etc
you need to set the map after the server starts for it to actually be running ( im sure theres a way to automate this )

and you need a decent isp with static ip
« Last Edit: June 28, 2008, 08:45:00 pm by ratso » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: