Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I don't really get this...  (Read 11205 times)
bobaandy
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« on: July 22, 2008, 07:42:45 PM »

After two days of mucking around i figure i'd finally post here. I have the latest source files and the game itself. However, when i compile, it says i need to install Q3. Alright, so i found the .diff file, but it didn't take when i just applyed the patch with TortoiseSVN. So because i don't understand their format, i just broke it up into 12 different .diff files. About 2 of them worked fine, the rest either gave me one error or another, or Tortoise said "UNRESOLVED ERRORS!" and pointed out how my file was different in ways it could not fix.
Ok, so i scratched that. I just found each file in oachanges.diff and changed it to revision 1107, the one referenced in oachanges.diff. Guess what, it wont compile. Gives me a bunch of errors, basic stuff about syntax.
Now, i'm using the ioq3.sln that is in the SVN, and using Visual Studio C++ 2005 Express edition. I set up all the paths in the options for all the include files, ect. However, I am is coding noob. I know what a loop and what a varible is-and that is it.

Why is this so hard? Am i missing something fundamental?
Logged
bobaandy
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2008, 01:34:27 PM »

No one? Would more information be more helpful?
Logged
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2008, 02:11:05 PM »

You may have to use the mingw compiler. There is however a version of the source code in the openarena.ws/svn

Whether that will compile under Visual Studio, I'm not sure.

Coding under Windows has always been a pain imo.
Logged
bobaandy
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2008, 02:15:55 PM »

The first thing i tried was the MinGW thing. The wiki directions are pretty vague, when i click the msys.bat two cmd prompt windows pop up and quickly dissapear. Plus, how does this thing know where my code even is?

It DOES come with a ioq3.sln file for MS visual C++.
Logged
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2008, 02:35:07 PM »

When it comes to mingw, you'll need to open a command prompt & change directory to the main source code directory.
You'll then need to run the make script it should be called something like: make

Reading the documentation you'll need to install a variety of files: Mingw & msys.
Which you'll get from www.mingw.org

Here's the info you'll need for mingw: http://www.mingw.org/wiki/Getting+Started
Here's the info you'll need for msys: http://www.mingw.org/node/18

With these installed you should easily be able to compile the ioquake3 code.
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2008, 03:41:40 PM »

I have actually tried to compile under Windows with Visual Studio 2008.

I am not entirely sure what oachanges you have used. The old one with 0.7.0 is not good anymore the ioquake svn has changed to much and the patch fails to apply.

There is no oachanges.diff to 0.7.6/0.7.7 but there is (a temporary one) to 0.8.0 it is included in the zip file in the Development forum that works with latest ioquake3 sources.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
bobaandy
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2008, 04:06:46 PM »

Thanks. The patch applyed perfectly, but I'm still getting a lot of errors. Actually, if you want to see it...

Code:
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(547) : warning C4389: '!=' : signed/unsigned mismatch
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(559) : warning C4389: '!=' : signed/unsigned mismatch
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(2967) : warning C4098: 'FS_CheckPak0' : 'void' function returning a value
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(2978) : error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before 'const'
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(2993) : warning C4098: 'FS_CheckPak0' : 'void' function returning a value
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3004) : error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before 'const'
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3006) : error C2275: 'searchpath_t' : illegal use of this type as an expression
1>        ..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(232) : see declaration of 'searchpath_t'
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3006) : error C2065: 'search' : undeclared identifier
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3008) : error C2065: 'info' : undeclared identifier
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3008) : error C2109: subscript requires array or pointer type
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3010) : warning C4047: '=' : 'int' differs in levels of indirection from 'searchpath_t *'
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3010) : error C2223: left of '->next' must point to struct/union
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3012) : error C2223: left of '->pack' must point to struct/union
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3016) : error C2100: illegal indirection
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3017) : warning C4047: 'function' : 'char *' differs in levels of indirection from 'int'
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3017) : warning C4024: 'Q_strcat' : different types for formal and actual parameter 1
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3019) : warning C4047: 'function' : 'char *' differs in levels of indirection from 'int'
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3019) : warning C4024: 'Q_strcat' : different types for formal and actual parameter 1
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3019) : error C2223: left of '->pack' must point to struct/union
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3019) : error C2198: 'Q_strcat' : too few arguments for call
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3022) : warning C4098: 'FS_CheckPak0' : 'void' function returning a value
1>..\..\code\qcommon\files.c(3034) : error C2059: syntax error : 'const'

I think this may be a reason you guys don't have as many contributers as you would like. It's very annoying to set up for windows users.
Logged
bobaandy
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2008, 04:51:03 PM »

Alright, little help from a friend and it works fine. Compiling in MS Visual C++ 2008.
Logged
bobaandy
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2008, 10:39:10 PM »

Even though it compiles, when i run it, it does something weird. I get all the sound and functionality of the game (ive gotten in-game) but it can't see anything. It just shows me this...

Constantly. It's like is crashing, but not really. I have an 8800GT.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 10:49:34 PM by bobaandy » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: