Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: 0.8.0 Bugs/Remarks thread  (Read 47126 times)
Sharpflame
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 24



« Reply #25 on: August 11, 2008, 11:38:49 PM »

Also, is it just me, or does the chaingun not leave a mark on the walls when you shoot? I couldn't even get it to create those bubbles underwater. Perhaps my graphics settings are doing this?
Logged

37
ic3w1nd
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15



« Reply #26 on: August 12, 2008, 10:19:43 AM »

Is it me or does the game needs computer with more power than 0.7.x? It seems like it does, because sometimes i have a little “studdering” of the visual output, not much, but veeeery annoying. Its like if the game lags, but it doen’t it’s just slower.

I changed nothing betwen 0.7.x and 0.8 in my config.

Well, i’m using my laptop (my best computer) it has an pentium M 1.75 GHz and an ATI X300 graphics card (well, its a graphics chip, not a standalone card) and i play in 800×600 windowed mode with lower details under Ubuntu 8.04.1

Any hints?
« Last Edit: August 12, 2008, 10:26:02 AM by ic3w1nd » Logged

*pow*
Sauer2
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 53


« Reply #27 on: August 12, 2008, 11:55:28 AM »

Some Bugs:
-Sarge Bot called Jenna (already noticed)
-retextured maps are too dark (it is not only harder to see someone, it is also bad for your eyes), and the red light suck.
-slimefac is missing (my favorite map Sad )
Logged
zuma
Lesser Nub


Cakes 5
Posts: 126


« Reply #28 on: August 12, 2008, 05:21:55 PM »

i like the retextured dm6ish (some quake 1 map?) and q3dm6ish. gives techno look =)
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14519



WWW
« Reply #29 on: August 12, 2008, 07:56:58 PM »

Is it me or does the game needs computer with more power than 0.7.x?
No, infact it should take less now with some maps optimized and a few models optimized (especially the bullet impacts)
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Sharpflame
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 24



« Reply #30 on: August 13, 2008, 12:51:47 AM »

What about the chaingun? Is it buggy? I can get machine gun shots to show up on the same graphics settings, but not chaingun. I was thinking about putting it on a map, but it seems to have issues.
Logged

37
Sauer2
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 53


« Reply #31 on: August 13, 2008, 01:37:38 AM »

i like the retextured dm6ish (some quake 1 map?) and q3dm6ish. gives techno look =)
I like the new textures, too.
The problem is the light; i mean, this is not doom(!), where you have to find your enemy.
I have normal eyes and a normal configured screen and i got my eyes hurting after a half hour playing one of those maps.
This is also an ergonomical issue, not only a matter of taste.

Logged
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #32 on: August 13, 2008, 03:04:20 AM »

What about the chaingun? Is it buggy? I can get machine gun shots to show up on the same graphics settings, but not chaingun. I was thinking about putting it on a map, but it seems to have issues.

I have no problem with the chaingun. Check out my screenshots.
Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #33 on: August 13, 2008, 07:28:32 AM »

  • This may be me, but I wonder why since 0.7.6 I can't have a FPS higher than 60 ; even with /com_maxfps set
  • Also since 0.7.6, my server complains about sv_fps being set at 20 and I don't know why
And just to mention LAN games (started with the ingame menu) do work with 2 computers running Windows XP (I had serverfix binaries, he hadn't), I expected it not to work if only dedicated servers had been fixed.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #34 on: August 13, 2008, 08:09:06 AM »

I don't know why you can't do more than 60 fps.

The sv_fps warning might be due to more restrictive protection of some CVARs (and the fact that unlagged wants to synchronize them to predict clients better). I'll look at it.

And just to mention LAN games (started with the ingame menu) do work with 2 computers running Windows XP (I had serverfix binaries, he hadn't), I expected it not to work if only dedicated servers had been fixed.

It is not only dedicated servers that have been fixed. All servers have been fixed (they share the same code). It most likely worked because you hosted the game since unpached binaries can only join. (I have not tested LAN myself, I just guess that it must be like that.)
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #35 on: August 13, 2008, 08:12:26 AM »

  • Minor thing Wink : better parsing of server's name, so that colors are well rendered (actually, ^^11 is a trick to make colors work in game browser, but a few glitches appear elsewhere.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #36 on: August 13, 2008, 10:28:30 AM »

This may be me, but I wonder why since 0.7.6 I can't have a FPS higher than 60 ; even with /com_maxfps set

It happened to me too. As long as I play in full screen (which I always do, at the same resolution of my desktop - 1280x800), it doesn't matter what settings I fiddle with.  My FPS is always 63 or lower. I've tried lowering almost all of the graphics options at once and setting /com_maxfps to different values, but I only have a maximum of 63 FPS. Sad   Even switching to vertex light or /r_picmip 10 makes absolutely no difference!

But if I set the resolution lower - even to 640x480 - the FPS fluctuates madly between about 50 and 90, but is never steady.  If I switch to windowed mode, my maximum becomes 90-something at 640x480, but the game goes darker like the contrast has been lowered.

For the record I'm on a laptop with 512mb RAM, 1.66GHz CPU, Windows XP Pro and an Intel GMA with up to 128MB shared memory.  Surely this can manage a little better?

EDIT: I'll provide more info and screenshots and demos if necessary.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 10:30:27 AM by chaoticsoldier » Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #37 on: August 13, 2008, 12:05:16 PM »

I have to add this is not a performance problem, It's a constant 60fps.
When I start OA 0.7.1, I can get 125fps.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14519



WWW
« Reply #38 on: August 13, 2008, 03:34:24 PM »

I'm on a laptop
=|
Oh for the record I get 200+fps in OA 0.7.6 and 0.8.0, my P2 233 system gets 30fps, which isn't far off the same performance it gets with stock Quake3 1.11
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #39 on: August 13, 2008, 06:24:27 PM »

  • Another point, missionpack weapons available in baseoa ; I mean, they are automatically added ... maybe coz I'm oldschool, but I like to be able to stick to usual weapons. Maybe because maps can be well thought with standard weapons, and gameplay not thoroughly tested with Missionpack weapons, or simply coz I didnt get use to it. I hope in the future they won't be available by default, or at least that some kind of server cvar allow to (dis/en)able them.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #40 on: August 13, 2008, 06:53:47 PM »

I don't see what's wrong in it, I like MP weapons. These weapons have been thought to use with teamplay maps like CTF ones.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #41 on: August 13, 2008, 07:39:49 PM »

Agreed, "I hope in the future they won't be available by default" was too much. I may like more and more these weapons after I've played with them. Still, it could be a good idea to have a way to prevent some maps to use them, or better, some way to choose which weapons should be available on every map (it's somehow what "allrockets" mode does). I'm not sure but isn't that damn ExcessivePlus allowing that kind of control ?
While playing some other guys said they'd prefer not to have them, a matter of taste Wink
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Sharpflame
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 24



« Reply #42 on: August 13, 2008, 08:13:30 PM »

The new weapons seem to be as balanced as the others, imo.

The nailgun can do good damage but the projectiles go very slow and aren't hard to dodge at long range. In fact, it's not easy to hit in middle-range either. It does do good damage if you can hit with it, pretty much instant kill if you do it at point blank.

The prox-launcher is THE weapon to be called "lame", but really, pull out a rocket launcher and the splash will take out mines. You could just run past them before they trigger, or, go around them. Anyone who uses them strategically to kill you, will probably kill you if you aren't careful. For example, mining where you won't see them until you've been exploded.

Chaingun is downright powerful, it'll shred people to pieces, but eats up ammo.

Oh, yeah, they're balanced like all the other weapons. I love them, they should be included in more maps imo.
Logged

37
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #43 on: August 13, 2008, 08:40:15 PM »

Also, the Prox-Mine has a little but considerable delay between their shooting and their activation.

I always asked myself why Team Arena wasn't so popular like Q3A... it got maps that would be CTF classics, like MPTEAM1 or MPQ3CTF1.

Ah, and Prox-Mines serve to do the Mine-Jumping in DM. Grin
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 08:42:53 PM by Armageddon_Man » Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14519



WWW
« Reply #44 on: August 13, 2008, 09:17:30 PM »

I always asked myself why Team Arena wasn't so popular like Q3A...
It was originally sold as a whopping $30 price in December 2000. This wasn't reasonable for having like 6 new maps or so, when UT was the popular hot thing and had over 30 or so. It just wasn't convincing.

With OA080 whats the excuse now Tongue though vast (and fast btw) terrain maps would be nice.

Oh and don't forget you can mine other players by lobbing a mine onto them. It'll stick like TEH PLASMA GRANDES IN THE HALO!!!!

Missionpack also had two new dm models, one being some old war soldier, the other a cybernetic near-nude girl though we already have plenty of those, just no cybernetic ones yet. Lol
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 09:19:20 PM by leilol » Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #45 on: August 13, 2008, 10:00:05 PM »

I have to add this is not a performance problem, It's a constant 60fps.
When I start OA 0.7.1, I can get 125fps.

I also can get 125fps with 0.7.1 too.
I failed to mention that with 0.7.6+, having all the options turned up is pretty much the same as having them all turned off. FPS is almost constantly 62, no matter what I do.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 10:19:26 PM by chaoticsoldier » Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #46 on: August 14, 2008, 08:10:41 AM »

Still, it could be a good idea to have a way to prevent some maps to use them, or better, some way to choose which weapons should be available on every map (it's somehow what "allrockets" mode does).

I enabled missionpack weapons in baseoa because if I didn't I don't think many mappers would use them. My limited knowledge of the strength of those weapons (especially the mine layer) might have caused some bad placement on some of my maps and the only current workaround for oasago2 is to reduce g_proxMineTimeout.

Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #47 on: August 14, 2008, 10:29:31 AM »

I always asked myself why Team Arena wasn't so popular like Q3A...
It was originally sold as a whopping $30 price in December 2000. This wasn't reasonable for having like 6 new maps or so, when UT was the popular hot thing and had over 30 or so. It just wasn't convincing.

With OA080 whats the excuse now Tongue though vast (and fast btw) terrain maps would be nice.

Oh and don't forget you can mine other players by lobbing a mine onto them. It'll stick like TEH PLASMA GRANDES IN THE HALO!!!!

Missionpack also had two new dm models, one being some old war soldier, the other a cybernetic near-nude girl though we already have plenty of those, just no cybernetic ones yet. Lol
Well, in fact, TA got 11 new maps, the 5 CTF new versions, (with new ways and items, i.e. in MPQ3CTF1) and 4 DM maps, which made a total of 20 maps. Add them to the 25 Q3A normal maps, and those Id released for free (5 in the patches and 3 more) and you got 53 maps. Not bad numbers IMHO.

Also, 1FCTF, Harvester & Overload are good games. Maybe the lack of CTF maps at normal Q3A prevented these three gametypes to appear at least in a patch. Sad. :/

Maybe they should have released Team Arena as a free addon, like Epic done with UT and their 4 free Bonus Packs, which contained some of the best multiplayer maps ever created. (CTF-Hydro16 -Hydronex anyone? Tongue- DM-Agony and DM-Viridian-TOURNEY ^^)
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 229


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #48 on: August 18, 2008, 09:49:25 AM »

Is it possible to release a patch to replace the new sounds for some better ones?
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
prime
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 9


« Reply #49 on: August 19, 2008, 05:09:51 AM »

Some maps, I have found DM6ISH and KAOS2, when started from the single player menu startup ok, but
don't spawn in any bots. Trying to use /addbot in the console to add some gives me the message :-

What's with Beret, the model is much improved, he now looks and sounds like a soldier and not
a boy scout Smiley However he seems to roll about eveywhere on one side which on some levels makes
him pretty difficult to hit.

Hi all,

Turns out the above where caused by an old config from 0.7.7 being used, when I installed on another
machine I did not get the above problems, so then I renamed and re-created my config on my main
machine and the above also went away on that.

Cheers.

Phill.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to: