Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: fromhell, I need your help for md3 scripts  (Read 7455 times)
Alpha Red
Ok i've posted twice!


Cakes 0
Posts: 2


« on: July 21, 2008, 07:30:14 pm »

Hi,
I saw fromhell's post on polycount forums (http://boards.polycount.net/showthread.php?t=53865) that said that you had used the MD3 import/export scripts from the link (https://tremx.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/tremx/trunk/blender/) you gave for Open Arena. You also said that they worked with everything about MD3. I needed an import script that imported aniamtions of MD3's but couldn't find one until I found yours. I got all the scripts and placed them in Blender scripts folder and then tested them out by importing a MD3 that had animations in it. I was surprised to find that it had errored and that I had to check the python console to figure out what was wrong. As I'm not a pro nor a novice at python, I was wondering if you can tell me if they work for you for animations and maybe help me "debug" my problem. Oh for your info, I'm using Blender 2.46 and python 2.5.

Alpha Red
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2008, 11:34:25 pm »

I'm using Blender 2.46
this is your problem. 2.46 broke alot of scripts including the ones it ships with! Use 2.45.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 637


Shoot him..


« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 05:52:24 am »

Quote
this is your problem. 2.46 broke alot of scripts including the ones it ships with! Use 2.45.

Strange the import script works fine for me, under 2.46 using kubuntu. Could this possibly be a Windows issue with the scripts?
Logged
Alpha Red
Ok i've posted twice!


Cakes 0
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 08:36:27 am »

Quote
this is your problem. 2.46 broke alot of scripts including the ones it ships with! Use 2.45.
Ok this helped. I changed to 2.45 and then tried the same model and it didn't seem to work, same error which was...
Code:
Compiled with Python version 2.5.
Checking for installed Python... got it!
info      :Starting ...
info      :Importing MD3 model: C:\Documents and Settings\****\Desktop\v_ppsh_a
nim.md3
info      :Shader path name: C:\Documents and Settings\****\Desktop\
info      :Model name: v_ppsh_anim
info      :Header Information
info      :Ident: IDP3
info      :Version: 15
info      :Name:
info      :Flags: 0
info      :Number of Frames: 123
info      :Number of Tags: 8
info      :Number of Surfaces: 0
info      :Number of Skins: 0
info      :Offset Frames: 108
info      :Offset Tags: 6996
info      :Offset Surfaces: 117204
info      :Offset end: 117204
info      :
scene.link(ob) deprecated!
        use scene.objects.link(ob) instead
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 257, in FileSelectorCallback
  File "<string>", line 218, in Import
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'surface' referenced before assignment
I was confused, so I decided to try a different model and it seemed to work perfectly. So I have no idea what's the problem with this model.

Alpha Red
Logged
qubodup
Lesser Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 102



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2008, 01:37:48 am »

You can always post the model and ask others to try and screw around a bit with it Wink
Logged

jkoder
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2008, 03:40:14 pm »

I'm using Blender 2.46
this is your problem. 2.46 broke alot of scripts including the ones it ships with! Use 2.45.

I have 2.46 exporting okay on Windows XP. I didn't try importing with animation yet though.

Great scripts BTW to whoever created them, thanks a lot!
Logged
epicgoo
Member


Cakes 5
Posts: 204


« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2008, 07:02:22 pm »

can you try this? It should fix it. thanks for pointing it out
(go to line 218 of md3import.py, change surface to md3
or rename the attached txt to py)

Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: