Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Languages for OA  (Read 7399 times)
Chronos
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« on: August 16, 2008, 11:43:45 PM »

Hy there!
I've started working on the Wiki page of OA, and i'm thinking on translating the whole page to Hungarian(thats my native language).
Would be a nice start to make OA multilanguage. It would become more popular (probably).
So my question is do you agree that a multilanguage Wiki OA page would be nice?
And if definitely yes, how can i start?
Thank, regards:
Chronos.hun
Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2008, 08:20:19 AM »

That could be a good idea, though at the current state : there is no easy way to integrate several languages on the wiki.

First, the wiki is hosted by wikia, and I suppose even fromhell doesn't have full control over it.
Second, I'm not sure mediawiki engine handles internationalization natively, and several subdomains (en. , de., hu., fr. ...) are usually used.

For french speaking guys, we started a wiki by ourselves on another website ( http://openarena.tuxfamily.org ).
It is more than a simple Wiki, though, and we're planning to do more.

If your efforts mainly consist into translating documentation, you could subscribe to a new wikia account, with a name inspired by the original wiki address (such as openarena-hu.wikia.com ? I'm not sure of which suffix hungarian use), then that would be fine I think Wink

The license of the official wiki uses GNU FDL, I don't know it well but I'm quite sure it allows translations to be made Wink You'll just have to use that license too.

You'd also have to put efforts into setting up the wiki with the same graphical theme than the official one (could be as simple as selecting a theme in a list of choice, and in fact, nobody enforces you to use the same theme Wink ), and the bad point would be : ressources within the wiki would have to be copied manually from the official wiki, I mean, I'm not sure you can directly use images from OA's wiki, and you'd have to copy them locally, which isn't great effort Wink

Good luck Wink
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2008, 05:18:59 AM »

Wikia can be multi-languaged. Transformers wikia has many languages, which uses the native prefixes, (hu.transformers.wikia.com, for example) Although I don't know how to start it.
BTW, I'm a Hungarian, too, so if you need, I'll help you.
And Cacatoes, FYI Hungary use the suffix .hu
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 05:21:10 AM by Graion Dilach » Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14511



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2008, 05:19:45 AM »

OA doesn't have its strings localizable in seperate .txt files though Sad
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2008, 01:24:42 PM »

That would be in after 1.0.
Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
Chronos
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2008, 05:28:11 AM »

I think making localization could increase the popularity of OA, and the translation would be made fast.

Thanks, i will ask you if i need help, but you can ask me too Smiley

Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14511



WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2008, 05:32:31 AM »

some problems though
the engine has no support for east asian or accented characters Sad
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3763


Trickster God.


« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2008, 11:52:16 AM »

some problems though
the engine has no support for east asian or accented characters Sad
Hmmm... I now understand why Translation has been delayed for 2.0 in the Roadmap... do you have plans to incorporate that support for these before that version?
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2008, 04:08:27 AM »

isn't possibile to switch the engine to unicode?

As far as i remember there isn't any kind of localization support in q3, but it was added in the raven branch andit worked quite well (at least for european languages, dunno for non roman scripts). Unluckily, that code isn't gpl, so everything will need to be redone from scratch.
Logged
andrewj
Member


Cakes 24
Posts: 581



« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2008, 04:38:28 AM »

isn't possibile to switch the engine to unicode?
Unicode is only a small part of the solution.

Most significant thing is drawing the characters properly.
Right now the engine puts all characters in a big image
(16x16 characters, a total of 256).  That method cannot be
used for Unicode (way way too many characters).  Hence you
need a true-type (TTF) font rendering code.

Once you can display all the characters, you need a way to
be able to type them in.  I have no idea how this part would
work, I guess you would need use the IMs (input methods)
of the host operating system, since rolling your own would
be totally impractical.
Logged
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2008, 04:43:57 AM »

isn't possibile to switch the engine to unicode?
Unicode is only a small part of the solution.

Most significant thing is drawing the characters properly.
Right now the engine puts all characters in a big image
(16x16 characters, a total of 256).  That method cannot be
used for Unicode (way way too many characters).  Hence you
need a true-type (TTF) font rendering code.

Once you can display all the characters, you need a way to
be able to type them in.  I have no idea how this part would
work, I guess you would need use the IMs (input methods)
of the host operating system, since rolling your own would
be totally impractical.

right.

well...this would be a sort of hell, i guess...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: