Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using other maps in single player  (Read 9338 times)
Telothrix
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 5

Member


« on: December 07, 2006, 04:48:55 PM »

Is it possible to use maps other than those provided with the OA download for single player?  I would love to do so but do not know how to get it started.
Logged
Smithamax
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 67


Member


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2006, 08:06:32 PM »

once u have downloaded a map and put it in the right folder
start any single player map and then press  ~  to bring up the console and type

/map mapname

simple
Logged



hikaricore
THIS ONE POST HERE SHOULD DO IT.


Cakes 0
Posts: 1

Member


« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2006, 04:32:09 PM »

Just curious.. what exactly is the right folder to put maps in.  Tongue
Logged
Smithamax
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 67


Member


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2006, 07:30:30 AM »

put maps in the baseoa folder
Logged



dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2006, 08:07:20 AM »

don't you mean baseoa/maps?
Logged

Smithamax
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 67


Member


WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2006, 04:58:21 PM »

well most come in pk3 so no
Logged



sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2006, 04:43:13 AM »

Would it be possible to store additional pk3 files in an alternative location?

I would like to be able to separate the extra pk3 files from the original.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Rim
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 8

Member


« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2006, 10:16:54 AM »

Would it be possible to store additional pk3 files in an alternative location?

I would like to be able to separate the extra pk3 files from the original.

Make a separate folder outside of the oabase folder.Name the folder whatever you want,lets say "maps" for example.Store all of your maps,or mod pk3 in that folder.Then copy your original oa shortcut on your desktop,right click on the shortcut,click properties.then add this in the "target" box at the end of the line,
 +set fs_game <foldername>,then click on apply.The line should look like this:

"C:\Program Files\OpenArena\ioquake3.x86.exe" +set fs_game maps

Make sure there is a space between the exe",and the + sign or it won't work.If you like,just copy and paste the line above and change the folder name to whatever you want.Now everytime you click on that shortcut.It will run through that folder and all of your maps and mods should work.



Logged
Ferk
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 58



« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2006, 11:39:23 AM »

However, if you put the maps on a different directory you won't be able to play them on multiplayer.. it did happen to me
« Last Edit: December 13, 2006, 11:41:07 AM by Ferk » Logged

sorry for my english
Rim
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 8

Member


« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2006, 01:11:32 PM »

That setup i posted is for running singleplayer,or your own mp server.If you go on someone else's server.you have to have the pk3 files in which ever location the server has it placed in.With the fs_game setup,Anyone DLing from that server should have the same directory automatically created in their oa folder.
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2006, 05:34:08 PM »

Thanks for the answer.

I discovered that I could just place them in ~/.openarena/openoa like any other Linux FPS (or else download from server would be impossible). I don't know why I didn't try it right away.

Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: