Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OA on Linux  (Read 7354 times)
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« on: August 27, 2008, 01:10:03 pm »

Hi there,

is there someone who wants to help me to setup an IDE for developing oa on Linux?
But be warned: i never coded C under Linux before.

THX
Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1428


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2008, 02:08:32 pm »

Isn't there some documentation on the wiki ?
If you get IDE working, that would be nice if you report missing infos there.

Otherwise, I'd say, do not wait for others to tell you, and Just try Tongue
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2008, 02:51:09 pm »

Thanks for your quick reply,

the IDE is my biggest problem: i do not know which IDE i should use.
Any hints?
Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1428


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2008, 03:10:30 pm »

Depends on which environment you run (KDE, gnome ?), and on your own preferences.
You may not need any IDE at all, some prefer to work just with vim Tongue
If i'm not wrong, there is just ioquake3 sourcecode to handle, rest is assets and do not need IDE.
Some would reply you better than me at this.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2008, 04:04:33 pm »

In the beginning I used gedit for editing Open Arena.

I now use NetBeans. I like that it does not force you to put your source files in a specific they or handle you make files for you. In fact it stores in project files in a completly different place so the source has no evidence it was changed with an IDE (and I consider that a good thing)
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
personman
Guest
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2008, 05:12:44 am »

I've used gedit in gnome for editing PHP files, and Kate or KWrite in KDE4 for OAF.

Edit: I do have to go in and delete the temporary/backup files they create before I make new patches, just fyi.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2008, 06:07:18 am by personman » Logged
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2008, 07:58:06 am »

I now use NetBeans.

That is what i want to hear.
I used NB long time ago for a javaproject but the C-Support was not got (like Eclipse was).
Seems that they had improved the Support for C/C++.

Maybe i could ask you in IRC if i have some questions about the Configuration (NB <-> OA)?
I saw, that i can use IRC to get in direct contact with you.

personman: found the .patch-File and inspected it. Thank you for reply in the other thread.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2008, 08:05:20 am by Peter Silie » Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2008, 12:12:30 pm »

Maybe i could ask you in IRC if i have some questions about the Configuration (NB <-> OA)?
I can't really answer much. I don't use any of NetBeans functions apart from auto complete. I just created a NetBeans C/C++ project from existing source and told there my make file was.

I use a script for compiling and running (I don't use NetBeans for that):
Code:
make && cd build/release-linux-x86_64/baseq3 && rm vm/vm.d && zip -r /path/to/openarena/modname/modname.pk3 vm && /path/to/openarena/openarena.x86_64 +set fs_game modname +set debug 1 +set sv_pure 0

My source and make files are stripped of engine code (well a lot of it at least, see the Open Arena Expanded source).

Engine changes are usually small and I apply them with gedit.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Case
Member


Cakes -3
Posts: 176



WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2008, 04:51:17 am »

There are a bunch of ide's available for linux and all will work with OA, Eclipse, Kdevelop, Code::Blocks (<--- couldn't compile it though Sad  ), you could search freshmeat.net for ide and you'll get a million hits, my personal fav "ide" would have to be vim though Smiley
Logged
epicgoo
Member


Cakes 5
Posts: 204


« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2008, 04:58:26 am »

use a development version of codeblocks(there are debian/ubuntu packages if you search the nightly builds section of the codeblocks forum)
why do you need an IDE? I use it just for auto complete.
Logged
Case
Member


Cakes -3
Posts: 176



WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2008, 05:18:30 am »

vim has code completion as well
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: