Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cheating Clans  (Read 14881 times)
Marble of Doom
Bigger member


Cakes 4
Posts: 151

Caketastic


« on: April 13, 2009, 12:00:40 PM »

I've noticed that it's usually people in big clans that cheat, don't follow rules, and take the fun out of the game. Some of them have so much ego, the will say and do anything to treat people like crap. Other people (like BOS DAVON) will go into railtag servers, magically whip out a bfg and slaughter everyone. Other than kicking them from the current map, there's not much else to stop them.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2009, 12:04:34 PM by Marble of Doom » Logged

JESUS SCOUSE
Half-Nub


Cakes -2
Posts: 89



« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 12:34:09 PM »

Never met the player you mention. I find most members of clans to be fair , honest and above all helpful. There are a few idiots in some clans but they soon get kicked out. I have never seen a clan member cheating. Maybe I just don't notice?
Logged
Gerbil
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 308


not so strong


« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2009, 03:47:20 PM »

record a demo of the suspected cheater and post it on the forums. Saying that just because a player is better than the majority of the players on a certain server does not mean he is cheating.

to record a demo, spectate them, type "/record" in console. When you are done, type "/stoprecord" The demo file will be in your baseoa folder.
Logged

Quote from: sploosh
there once was an animal called gerbil
he dreamed he was eating his turtle
he awoke with a frieght
in the middle of the night
to find out that he was a squirtle
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2009, 04:11:44 PM »

Or if you like to have autorecording, cl_autorecorddemo 1 @ console and you're done. Cheesy
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
schumi_gr
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 6



« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2009, 04:33:13 PM »

In what format is the demo stored and what can we do with it?
Logged
KILLIE THE GREAT
Lesser Nub


Cakes -6
Posts: 121


« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2009, 04:44:50 PM »

ummm. uuuhh, we can uuuh..... we can post it or keep it, watch it and decide if the player was cheat or no, it's quite east to see if someones using aim bot, ever seen how NIGHTMARE BOTS AIM works, aimbot works almost in the same way, this is not rubbish.
Logged

KHOTANAS.... They waste precious RSA currency on top class clothing, then burn & tear is days later
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2009, 05:16:55 PM »

In what format is the demo stored and what can we do with it?
You can find it at baseoa/demos, the files are stored with dm_71 extension. Other versions had dm_68, dm_69 and dm_70 extensions.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Martian
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 31



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2009, 08:24:18 AM »

For easy recording

make a file with this in it

bind F12 vstr demotoggle
set startdemo "g_synchronousClients 1;vstr demonumber;g_synchronousClients 0; set demotoggle vstr stopdemo"
set stopdemo "stoprecord; vstr democycle; set demotoggle vstr startdemo"
set demo_1 "record demo_1; set demonumber vstr demo_2"
set demo_2 "record demo_2; set demonumber vstr demo_3"
set demo_3 "record demo_3; set demonumber vstr demo_4"
set demo_4 "record demo_4; set demonumber vstr demo_5"
set demo_5 "record demo_5; set demonumber vstr demo_6"
set demo_6 "record demo_6; set demonumber vstr demo_7"
set demo_7 "record demo_7; set demonumber vstr demo_8"
set demo_8 "record demo_8; set demonumber vstr demo_9"
set demo_9 "record demo_9; set demonumber vstr demo_10"
set demo_10 "record demo_10; set demonumber vstr demo_11"
set demo_11 "record demo_11; set demonumber vstr demo_12"
set demo_12 "record demo_12; set demonumber vstr demo_13"
set demo_13 "record demo_13; set demonumber vstr demo_14"
set demo_14 "record demo_14; set demonumber vstr demo_15"
set demo_15 "record demo_15; set demonumber vstr demo_16"
set demo_16 "record demo_16; set demonumber vstr demo_17"
set demo_17 "record demo_17; set demonumber vstr demo_18"
set demo_18 "record demo_18; set demonumber vstr demo_19"
set demo_19 "record demo_19; set demonumber vstr demo_20; echo ^1ONE DEMO LEFT! CYCLE ABOUT TO FLIP!"
set demo_20 "record demo_20; set demonumber vstr demo_1"
set demonumber vstr demo_1
set demotoggle vstr startdemo


rename it record.cfg

put it in baseoa

bind F11 "exec record"

and now all you have to do is press F12 to start and stop

enjoy
Logged
HITMAN
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 245


The doctor is in the house!


WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2009, 09:58:18 AM »

For easy recording...

Whenever I make a demo and play it back, the Scoreboard (whenever it is shown) doesnt not displays how it looks in the game. It will have multiple copies of someone's name or missing players names and scores...Will this .cfg file fix that problem? i have used the "g_synchronousClients 1; record; g_synchronousClients 0" in a bind i use to record but the problem still occurs.
Logged

h!+m@n * d/hit/p + kozak6 / CloudStrife - (Orochi + {C}easar) = a whole buncha screenames
Martian
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 31



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2009, 08:20:29 PM »

Will this .cfg file fix that problem?

Probably not.  I don't know, try to reinstall and keep in mind that all
versions of open arena in win will use

C:\Documents and Settings\user\Application Data\OpenArena

so for clean reinstall you have to clean that folder too, I think
Logged
HITMAN
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 245


The doctor is in the house!


WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2009, 09:28:55 AM »

Will this .cfg file fix that problem?

C:\Documents and Settings\user\Application Data\OpenArena


Yea, and in Vista its: C:\users\<username>\appdata\Roaming\Openarena (which i use)
I'm guessing you dont have that problem i have, right? Did you (or anyone) ever have that issue?

Sorry for going off-topic
Logged

h!+m@n * d/hit/p + kozak6 / CloudStrife - (Orochi + {C}easar) = a whole buncha screenames
Martian
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 31



WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2009, 01:52:29 PM »

I'm guessing you dont have that problem i have, right?

Right. I remember in 071 when visiting certain servers and autodownload from there
caused a mess to my bots, many disappeared.

Other cause can be upgrading oa with all data from old version still in OpenArena folder

I have two OpenArena folders, one for 071 and one for 081, and rename before playing
other version so no data mixed.  Im talking about OpenArena folder in Application Data.
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2009, 02:03:27 PM »

I have two OpenArena folders, one for 071 and one for 081, and rename before playing
other version so no data mixed.  Im talking about OpenArena folder in Application Data.
You can use "set fs_homepath PATH" to use different folders, so you don't have to rename the folders.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
yasha
Half-Nub


Cakes -2
Posts: 68


Did thunder hit my head?


« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2009, 03:37:48 AM »

Just question, does /recordemo works? It should then name demo somthing like date_time_yourname_mapname so it would be "2009_4_19_11_35_12_yasha_oasago2". Thats how you know when it was recorded, which helps.
Logged

... Am I in desert? ...
guix
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2009, 03:54:01 PM »

edit
« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 04:33:21 PM by guix » Logged
castuopichon
THIS ONE POST HERE SHOULD DO IT.


Cakes 1
Posts: 1


« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2009, 10:21:58 AM »

hi to all, yesterday are an aimbot cheater in rolf instantgib, I have a demo.

click for aimbot demo

he was walk all the time.

rolf dont have permission for callvotes, I want to do a callvote kill and it is impossible.

sorry for my english.

what is your opinion???
Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2009, 02:21:01 PM »

Yes, someone already posted it.

Servers should allow voting, kicking should be improved, and that should be fine.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
dash9
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 189


« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2009, 08:34:39 PM »

Hi, have a look at the wiki page to see details about how to record demos (of cheaters Tongue):
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Manual/Demos
Logged

I found a great camping place: the enemy base!
jessicaRA
Lesser Nub


Cakes 16
Posts: 115


Wild pony spotted derping around oasago2.


« Reply #18 on: May 07, 2009, 01:37:16 PM »

its too easy to cheat in oa but yeah still not seen a clan member do it in a real game.
as far as i know there is only 2 aimbots made to work specifically with openarena, both private at the moment.
it is actually surprising there is not more cheating in oa.
Logged
AllCoholic
Half-Nub


Cakes -10
Posts: 60


/name " All"


WWW
« Reply #19 on: June 02, 2009, 03:17:31 PM »

In what format is the demo stored and what can we do with it?

You can delete it, for example


Anybody want's a demo? I can supply you with my view ;-)
Logged

The road from legitimate suspicion to rampant paranoia is very much shorter than you think.
In a world without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: