Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Maya ok for creating GPL'd maps?  (Read 9226 times)
jukeboxhero
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 31


...stars in my eyes...


« on: April 22, 2009, 04:18:18 AM »

Hello everyone,

I am a complete newbie as far creating maps goes for games. I would like to contribute by making one for OpenArena using Maya. I know Blender is the choice of modeler here but if its ok with 'licensing' issues then I would like to use that to create maps for OpenArena.

Of course, all the things that I create for OpenArena, I would GPL it, but I wanted to know that if I can use Maya to create GPL stuff for OpenArena or do I HAVE to Blender.

BTW, I love OpenArean Smiley A lot of people may know me from the servers Smiley This is my first post though on the forums.

Please let me know.

ggs,
JukeBoxHero
Logged
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2009, 05:16:53 AM »

If you publish your GPL'ed model within a format non-maya users can work with I don't see a problem.
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
andrewj
Member


Cakes 24
Posts: 584



« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2009, 06:58:23 AM »

You don't make maps with a modelling program (Maya or Blender).

Instead you use a mapping program, like QuarK or GTKRadiant.
Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2009, 07:36:38 AM »

There is a way to make a Q3 map via 3D modelling programs.

Look at this article:

http://www.leveldk.co.uk/q3tut_model.htm
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
0kelvin
I LEFT THE FORUM BY EDITING ALL MY POSTS OUT!!! HAHAHA!!! TAKE THAT, INTERNET!
Half-Nub


Cakes -54
Posts: 87



« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2009, 08:04:11 AM »

openarena
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 01:06:31 PM by 0kelvin » Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2009, 11:09:00 PM »

There is a way to make a Q3 map via 3D modelling programs.

modeling a map is a joke though. For one, collision is buggy. Second, there's that whole VIS thing where the entire level is rendered. And finally, particle systems and modeled maps don't get along (and neither do bots!)
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
jukeboxhero
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 31


...stars in my eyes...


« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2009, 09:35:40 PM »

If you publish your GPL'ed model within a format non-maya users can work with I don't see a problem.

Thnx I just wanted to confirm this.

ggs,
JukeBoxHero

Logged
jukeboxhero
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 31


...stars in my eyes...


« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2009, 09:37:38 PM »

So I guess the verdict is to use Quark or GtkRadiant to produce maps and NOT modeling programs like Maya or Blender. Hmm, but as others have indicated since it can be done, I'll give it a try Smiley

ggs,
JukeBoxHero

Logged
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2009, 04:21:55 AM »

Please be aware that the engine interprets models different and brush volumes are no faces like you know from modelled things.
You should learn this and try radiant to understand the basic principles. I disencourage usage of quark as long as maps created with it are not editable with radiant which is standard in id tech mapping tools.
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
0kelvin
I LEFT THE FORUM BY EDITING ALL MY POSTS OUT!!! HAHAHA!!! TAKE THAT, INTERNET!
Half-Nub


Cakes -54
Posts: 87



« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2009, 08:37:22 AM »

openarena
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 01:05:37 PM by 0kelvin » Logged
jukeboxhero
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 31


...stars in my eyes...


« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2009, 01:19:40 AM »

Please be aware that the engine interprets models different and brush volumes are no faces like you know from modelled things.
You should learn this and try radiant to understand the basic principles. I disencourage usage of quark as long as maps created with it are not editable with radiant which is standard in id tech mapping tools.

Can I model objects in Maya and then move them into quark? After I am finished in quark, I can export the map into a format that radiant can understand.

Is this possible? Can I/Should I do this?

ggs,
JukeBoxHero
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2009, 11:32:40 PM »

I think that that tiny difference is caused by brush polygons being two-sided
not true, VIS usually takes care of that problem.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
0kelvin
I LEFT THE FORUM BY EDITING ALL MY POSTS OUT!!! HAHAHA!!! TAKE THAT, INTERNET!
Half-Nub


Cakes -54
Posts: 87



« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2009, 03:57:50 PM »

openarena
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 01:06:15 PM by 0kelvin » Logged
zaizaexu
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2009, 11:44:47 AM »

you can make proper brush based maps in blender if you use a quake .map exporter. this converts box shaped meshes in blender into proper brushes that can then be compiled with q3map2. it also converts blenders lamps into q3 lights in the .map file.

it's very basic and can't compare to using gtkradiant, but it technically works.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: