Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Missing 3D models with some graphic drivers  (Read 10583 times)
fabio
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« on: July 01, 2009, 04:41:35 AM »

I noticed this mesa bug: quake3 engine don't see player model in setting menu.

And I noticed I have the same problem with my card (Radeon X1600 RV530): 3D models to the right are missing when selecting player model (I tested also current mesa git). I am using OpenArena 0.8.1 found in Ubuntu 9.04. Models show fine when using software render, however.

Does anyone know what may be the problem? An OpenGL extension missing from the r300 driver, and then OpenArena disable 3D models? An r300 bug? A blacklist from OpenArena for r300 card?

Thanks.
Logged
Rose Wine
Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 13


« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2009, 05:36:25 AM »

The radeon cards should work with the Catalyst driver inestead of the mesa (a generic driver with missing openGL extensions), unfortunately Ati has dropped the suport for the r300 - r500 graphic cards family in the Catalyst 9.4 drivers, and the Catalyst 9.3 driver isn compatible with the 1.6 X.org version, that uses ubuntu 9.04.

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=amd_r500_legacy&num=1

There are 2 solutions downgrade to Ubuntu 8.10 (or another distro that uses the version X.org 1.5 or less) or check the ati free drivers still in early developmen.
 
http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/ATIRadeon
Logged
fabio
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2009, 06:33:55 AM »

Thanks for the reply. I am well aware of the Catalist driver but I'd prefer to use the free driver. My point was to try to identify the nature of the problem hoping that it could be fixed also with the free r300 driver.

EDIT: of course I am using second solution you say, the ati free drivers (xserver-xorg-video-radeon for 2D and mesa r300 for 3D). They are available (and I am using it) since Ubuntu 8.10 for R500 cards (mesa 7.2) and a lot before for previous Radeon cards. The driver works pretty fine with most < OpenGL 1.5 games (see e.g. Supported Program List for Radeons), also OpenArena works perfectly excluding the missing models problem. The problem persists also with latest mesa driver compiled from current git sources.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2009, 07:57:20 AM by fabio » Logged
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2009, 08:06:24 AM »

I noticed this mesa bug: quake3 engine don't see player model in setting menu.

And I noticed I have the same problem with my card (Radeon X1600 RV530): 3D models to the right are missing when selecting player model (I tested also current mesa git). I am using OpenArena 0.8.1 found in Ubuntu 9.04. Models show fine when using software render, however.

Does anyone know what may be the problem? An OpenGL extension missing from the r300 driver, and then OpenArena disable 3D models? An r300 bug? A blacklist from OpenArena for r300 card?

Thanks.

For me this bug seems to come random : sometimes the model is showed , sometimes is not ... ( r2xx , ATI OSS 6.10 , MESA 3D 7.0.3 , Xorg 7.3 )
Logged
Snickersnack
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 196


obnoxious OA fan


« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2009, 06:56:36 PM »

In the past, when I was using an R200 Radeon (Radeon 9100) with the free radeon drivers, the models in the player selection screen would not show up for me. Everything else worked fine so I didn't look into it. IIRC, the models will show up when using the mesa software renderer.

I think that was a little over a year ago.
Logged
fabio
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2009, 05:12:33 AM »

For me this bug seems to come random : sometimes the model is showed , sometimes is not ... ( r2xx , ATI OSS 6.10 , MESA 3D 7.0.3 , Xorg 7.3 )

This let me think of a race condition, probably in the radeon 3D drivers, since apparently it happens only on these.
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2009, 04:06:48 AM »

It also happens with the original SGI OpenGL driver for Windows 95 and also happens for Savage 2000 chipsets. Later Savage drivers fixed it - but it was a hack that expanded the model to fill the whole screen. Not fun playing Elite Force running around, then suddenly a huge Tuvok face covers the screen in your face.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
fabio
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2009, 03:21:32 AM »

Bug report for ioquake3 is here:
http://bugzilla.icculus.org/show_bug.cgi?id=4261
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2009, 03:44:09 AM »

But it's a driver's OpenGL ICD bug! It's not even a ioq3 specific bug.

The darkplaces bug is unrelated.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
fabio
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 01:25:33 AM »

But it's a driver's OpenGL ICD bug! It's not even a ioq3 specific bug.

The darkplaces bug is unrelated.

Hi, how can you be sure this is a driver bug? Apparently it happens with different drivers (r200-mesa, r300-mesa, SGI OpenGL driver for Windows 95, Savage 2000). Also why are you sure it's unrelated to the darkplaces bug?

Just asking in the hope it can lead to a fix.
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2009, 01:34:53 AM »

The darkplaces bug is about polygons and affects several uncommon cards that support OA's player menu fine.

The Q3/OA bug is related to viewports. 3D heads, armor and ammo in the HUD (as well as enemy head and scoreboard heads) won't work either. The SGI GL driver is an outdated (1997) software rasteriser. The Savage2000 stopped being in the market in 2001.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
fabio
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 6


« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2009, 02:57:20 AM »

This issue appears to be fixed with mesa 7.6 on my Radeon RV530. Can someone confirm it?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: