Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
Author Topic: oa085rc1  (Read 112264 times)
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #75 on: November 15, 2009, 03:30:22 PM »

UDI, using an on-screen keyboard may be a solution for you and the other Hungarian/Italian users.

Thanks for the tip, Graion Dilach already found the solution, there's a command called cl_consoleKeys introduced on ioQuake3:

cl_consoleKeys fixed the problem. Well, I don't know when was it added and where to, but now it works!
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
davidd
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 99


[Z] server maintainer


« Reply #76 on: November 16, 2009, 01:05:05 PM »

Hi guys, gals, fromhell specificly.

Here is a small patch to support sorting of players from the serverbrowser (file attached and here in code:)
because the sort_clients sorts on "open player spots" which doesnt make much sense
--- code/q3_ui/ui_servers2.c.orig   2009-11-16 17:38:19.000000000 +0100
+++ code/q3_ui/ui_servers2.c   2009-11-16 18:17:11.000000000 +0100
@@ -96,6 +96,7 @@
 #define SORT_CLIENTS      2
 #define SORT_GAME         3
 #define SORT_PING         4
+#define SORT_HUMANS         5
 
 #define GAMES_ALL         0
 #define GAMES_FFA         1
@@ -146,6 +147,7 @@
    "Open Player Spots",
    "Game Type",
    "Ping Time",
+   "Human Players",
    NULL
 };
 
@@ -350,6 +352,18 @@
          return 0;
       }
       return -1;
+   case SORT_HUMANS:
+      f1 = t1->humanclients;
+      f2 = t2->humanclients;
+
+
+      if( f1 < f2 ) {
+         return 1;
+      }
+      if( f1 == f2 ) {
+         return 0;
+      }
+      return -1;
 
    case SORT_GAME:
       if( t1->gametype < t2->gametype ) {


I also found 3 bugs in the current executable that i have not found in the code yet (or dont know how to fix)
  • missing background texture in serverbrowser (i see default gray with white lines texture)
  • when in the serverbrowser you can not reverse sort order (supposedly should do that with reselecting the same option)
  • i bought a widescreen yesterday, although i have r_mode 7, i have to do a vid_restart before i can see hp, 2d seems to assume 4x3
Logged

Openarena, the freedom to contribute and extend.
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #77 on: November 18, 2009, 12:19:27 AM »

Reporting openAL problem on mac osx 10.4
During play sound suddenly stops working and 5secs later the whole game is frozen. This error is unreproducible as far as I tried it.
Disabling openal reduces sound quality but works. No crashes so far.
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 384


Member


WWW
« Reply #78 on: November 18, 2009, 05:48:44 AM »

It happens every time you run the game?
Logged
davidd
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 99


[Z] server maintainer


« Reply #79 on: November 19, 2009, 08:53:54 AM »

today i got an error when playing back a demo made in openarena 0.8.1
it was
********************
ERROR: CG_RegisterItemVisuals: itemNum 62 out of range [0-60]
********************


a different error related to one i posted earlier:
^3WARNING: unknown blend mode 'gl_one_minus_dst_color' in shader 'menuback_blueish', substituting GL_ONE


  • missing background texture in serverbrowser (i see default gray with white lines texture)
Logged

Openarena, the freedom to contribute and extend.
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #80 on: November 19, 2009, 08:58:25 AM »

today i got an error when playing back a demo made in openarena 0.8.1
it was
********************
ERROR: CG_RegisterItemVisuals: itemNum 62 out of range [0-60]
********************

This should be normal since you are trying to execute a demo made with a different VM
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #81 on: November 19, 2009, 09:47:20 AM »

You should be able to play a 0.8.1 demo in 0.8.5 but not the other way around.

0.8.5 has a bigger range than 0.8.1, so if the demo has an itemNum 62 then it must be a bug in 0.8.1
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
davidd
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 99


[Z] server maintainer


« Reply #82 on: November 20, 2009, 05:32:39 PM »

You should be able to play a 0.8.1 demo in 0.8.5 but not the other way around.

0.8.5 has a bigger range than 0.8.1, so if the demo has an itemNum 62 then it must be a bug in 0.8.1

The demo plays fine in 081
you are probably right it is a bug in 081, but will i have to keep a 081 apart for the demos i made last year?
cant we up the network protocol number by one and catch this? or could i make a script that fixes the demos?
this seems like it might be a lot of work.
If I recall correctly it was a demo on   the map vdmm4 (or something like that) i can provide the demo and mapfile if required.

Logged

Openarena, the freedom to contribute and extend.
davidd
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 99


[Z] server maintainer


« Reply #83 on: November 21, 2009, 03:35:57 AM »

Ayumi^7 was railed by Dark^7
Dark^7 ate Skelebot^7's grenade
loaded cached skill 1.000000 from bots/default_c.c
loaded skill 1 from bots/angelyss_c.c
loaded cached skill 4.000000 from bots/default_c.c
loaded skill 4 from bots/angelyss_c.c
loaded bots/angelyss_i.c
loaded bots/angelyss_w.c
loaded angelyss from bots/angelyss_t.c
Angelyss^7 connected
Angelyss^7 entered the game
----- CL_Shutdown -----
Closing SDL audio device...
SDL audio device shut down.
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
----- SAyumi^7 was railed by Dark^7
Dark^7 ate Skelebot^7's grenade
loaded cached skill 1.000000 from bots/default_c.c
loaded skill 1 from bots/angelyss_c.c
loaded cached skill 4.000000 from bots/default_c.c
loaded skill 4 from bots/angelyss_c.c
loaded bots/angelyss_i.c
loaded bots/angelyss_w.c
loaded angelyss from bots/angelyss_t.c
Angelyss^7 connected
Code:
Angelyss^7 entered the game
----- CL_Shutdown -----
Closing SDL audio device...
SDL audio device shut down.
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
----- Server Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 1048600 bytes from the main zone) -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
AAS shutdown.
---------------------------
Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 1048600 bytes from the main zone
erver Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 1048600 bytes from the main zone) -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
AAS shutdown.
---------------------------
Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 1048600 bytes from the main zone

bot_minplayers 50
Logged

Openarena, the freedom to contribute and extend.
davidd
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 99


[Z] server maintainer


« Reply #84 on: November 21, 2009, 05:10:39 AM »

Code:
!readconfig: could not open admin.dat
Logged

Openarena, the freedom to contribute and extend.
barackobama
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12


« Reply #85 on: November 22, 2009, 06:03:55 AM »

hey

today i got a server error

Code:

[...]
Item: 0 ammo_lightning
Rcon from 82.100.220.96: seta g_humanplayers 2
Item: 0 ammo_shells
Item: 0 ammo_rockets
Item: 0 item_health_small
Item: 0 item_armor_shard
Item: 0 item_health_small
Item: 0 item_armor_shard
Item: 1 weapon_railgun
Item: 0 item_health_small
Item: 0 weapon_rocketlauncher
Rcon from 85.13.141.103: bot_minplayers 1
Item: 0 weapon_shotgun
Item: 0 ammo_cells
Item: 0 weapon_shotgun
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Item: 0 item_health_small
Item: 1 item_health_small
Item: 0 item_armor_shard
Item: 1 item_armor_shard
Item: 0 item_health_small
Item: 1 weapon_lightning
Item: 1 ammo_slugs
Item: 1 ammo_bullets
Kill: 0 1 7: Kyonshi killed Penguin by MOD_ROCKET_SPLASH
Item: 1 weapon_rocketlauncher
Item: 1 item_armor_shard
Item: 1 weapon_plasmagun
Item: 0 ammo_lightning
Item: 0 ammo_cells
Item: 0 item_armor_shard
Item: 1 ammo_rockets
Rcon from 85.13.141.103: bot_minplayers 1
Item: 1 weapon_shotgun
----- Server Shutdown (Signal caught) -----
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
==== ShutdownGame ====
ShutdownGame:
------------------------------------------------------------
AAS shutdown.
----- Server Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: VM_Free(qagame) on running vm) -----
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
==== ShutdownGame ====
ShutdownGame:

and btw: all oa_ded.exe (0.8.1 and 0.8.5) will crash after ~24-46h if they are run as a process without console window because the oa_ded.exe cant write logfiles for example.
The oa_ded.exe is start with php or with task planning if the physical server reboots.
The starts after reboot is definitely as ADMIN!
The phys Server is a Windows Server 2008 x86 OS on a i7 920 8 GB RAM (PAE in use).

THX ObaMa
Logged
SharpestTool
Lesser Nub


Cakes -27
Posts: 143


« Reply #86 on: November 23, 2009, 12:15:26 AM »

Code:
!readconfig: could not open admin.dat

Yeah you need to actually post the console dump-verbatim...the error message you describe is NOWHERE in the code for the admin system.   Please do so...I can let you know then for certain what the actual error message means->because unless I created a typo in the code, this one is as bug-free as it can get.<-Now that doesn't mean it can't throw errors, just that it's behavior is completely known.

bot_minplayers 50

Me-thinks this is an error with com_zoneMegs...UP IT Add +set com_zoneMegs 64 to your command line.  Be sure to substantially increase com_hunkMegs as well.

I typically use the command line openarena.exe +set com_zoneMegs 128 +set com_hunkMegs 512.  

If that doesn't work...It's due to the disgusting amount of bots you put on your server/in your match.  Z_Malloc stuff is in the engine.  This is the second crash of this kind I've seen floating around the forums.  The other one dealt with G_Alloc, which I believe we have replaced with BG_Alloc inside the "GAME" code, upped the amount of memory available to be allocated, and fool proofed that function with another BG_CanAlloc.  TO BE HONEST:

50 bots is kind of absurd...but if people really do want to have an extreme bot-slaughter like server...if theres enough of ya'll out there, I'm sure Us devs can make it happen at SOME POINT...

and if there AREN'T enough of you that want to commit AI genocide....

WELL STOP PUTTING 50 BOTS ON A SERVER LOL!!!! NPE's gobbling up resources and forcing a crash IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE...

« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 01:51:57 AM by SharpestTool » Logged
Airwolf
Nub


Cakes 3
Posts: 15



« Reply #87 on: November 23, 2009, 08:53:07 AM »

Hi,

I haven't tested this patch, but found an online "bug" yesterday and I'm not sure if u can test this patch online. Sorry if the bug is already corrected. Anyway, the problem on 0.8.1 is that when someone has the invisibility powerup AND has a high ping and is lagging, the lagging icon on the top of their head does not become invisible, making it easy for the rest to kill the poor bastard and take the powerup from him. Yesterday I fragged a poor newbie like that.
Logged
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #88 on: November 23, 2009, 10:17:31 AM »

Hi,

I haven't tested this patch, but found an online "bug" yesterday and I'm not sure if u can test this patch online. Sorry if the bug is already corrected. Anyway, the problem on 0.8.1 is that when someone has the invisibility powerup AND has a high ping and is lagging, the lagging icon on the top of their head does not become invisible, making it easy for the rest to kill the poor bastard and take the powerup from him. Yesterday I fragged a poor newbie like that.

Actually it's the same if you get an award ( Excellent , Impressive , etc ) or whit the teammates icons ( which could be good indeed ) or when you carry the flag ( the flag is visible ) .
Logged
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #89 on: November 23, 2009, 03:28:20 PM »

About the shader issue in oa_ctf4ish: Sorry, it is not oasfx.shader but clown.shader/textures/ctf/blue_telep2
Dunno why it is not working in RC1. Need to check that. I didn't touch the files.
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
SharpestTool
Lesser Nub


Cakes -27
Posts: 143


« Reply #90 on: November 23, 2009, 07:37:41 PM »

Hi,

I haven't tested this patch, but found an online "bug" yesterday and I'm not sure if u can test this patch online. Sorry if the bug is already corrected. Anyway, the problem on 0.8.1 is that when someone has the invisibility powerup AND has a high ping and is lagging, the lagging icon on the top of their head does not become invisible, making it easy for the rest to kill the poor bastard and take the powerup from him. Yesterday I fragged a poor newbie like that.

Actually it's the same if you get an award ( Excellent , Impressive , etc ) or whit the teammates icons ( which could be good indeed ) or when you carry the flag ( the flag is visible ) .

idk about the rest of you, but having seen the code...

If a player goes invisible and lags out...it should be the player's problem. 
Carrying a flag...sorry...its like a spy having his cover blown.

As far as awards, I'd say this has been a problem for sometime. Don't quote me or anything cuz I don't keep up with every single Q3 based projects patches etc...but I'm pretty sure this has been around since the dark ages of Q3Test.  We should be able to fix it though with some simple if statements.  They will probably take place client side so it would only really work on a "pure" server.
Logged
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #91 on: November 23, 2009, 08:03:06 PM »

Actually it's the same if you get an award ( Excellent , Impressive , etc ) or whit the teammates icons ( which could be good indeed ) or when you carry the flag ( the flag is visible ) .

idk about the rest of you, but having seen the code...

If a player goes invisible and lags out...it should be the player's problem.  
Carrying a flag...sorry...its like a spy having his cover blown.

As far as awards, I'd say this has been a problem for sometime. Don't quote me or anything cuz I don't keep up with every single Q3 based projects patches etc...but I'm pretty sure this has been around since the dark ages of Q3Test.  We should be able to fix it though with some simple if statements.  They will probably take place client side so it would only really work on a "pure" server.


I've only described other situations in which invisibility doesn't completely hide a player , but for me this is a feature , not a bug :-)

- If a player just disables the awards , he/she can't see invisible players while getting their awards ...
- If a player lags , it's just dependent by his/her settings , computer , connection or any other per-user-dependent reason
- For the flag , this forces who gets INV to assist his/her buddies while in offence rather that perform a too easy fast capture :-)
Logged
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #92 on: December 04, 2009, 08:46:27 AM »

Are there still any unresolved bugs? If not than a new RC2 could come with all the lei Enhanced Effects, new maps etc. If we can release 0.8.5 before the holidays, than everybody can relax. And if we come back in 2010, we can put all our renewed energy in the next major release.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #93 on: December 04, 2009, 09:36:08 AM »

I'm going to upload today the latest blitzkrieg3. That will be my latest work as of now.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #94 on: December 04, 2009, 12:55:11 PM »

Would be nice to have a RC2 before x-mas!

THX a lot, developers (for the RC1)!!!
Logged
iSubaru
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 22


Cute Player


« Reply #95 on: December 12, 2009, 06:19:59 PM »

Downloaded and tested a bit, what I found is:
When I have started LAN game I couldn't move (Connection interrupted) until hits me, 2 restarts of arena didn't helped there
also dunno what about target cursor, I have set it colours but it changes only depending on HP is there some switch done or to be done?
bots AI is rewritten or something because on Bring it on they are better but this one is good thing I guess Tongue
new maps yay!
end of report
"and now I will take my leave" <poof>
Logged

110010010111000001110111110000
0x320AC1FF
[iSubaru@OA-server]# ./openarena.x86_64
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #96 on: December 12, 2009, 07:09:17 PM »

also dunno what about target cursor, I have set it colours but it changes only depending on HP is there some switch done or to be done?

Right above the three color bars, there's a "crosshair shows health" option. Switch it off.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
iSubaru
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 22


Cute Player


« Reply #97 on: December 12, 2009, 09:05:58 PM »

Oh so this is a switch for this Smiley
Thank You very much ^_^
Time for... green-blue crosshair... or maybe purple?
"Decissions...decissions"
Logged

110010010111000001110111110000
0x320AC1FF
[iSubaru@OA-server]# ./openarena.x86_64
davidd
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 99


[Z] server maintainer


« Reply #98 on: December 31, 2009, 05:58:56 AM »

AM_galmevish in single player modus, in the end with the podium (still missing btw), the 3rd  player , bronze position, disappears in a pilar.
Logged

Openarena, the freedom to contribute and extend.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #99 on: December 31, 2009, 07:31:55 AM »

That's because that map has no info_player_intermission. The newest one has... well... one.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
 
Jump to: