Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rating system  (Read 18988 times)
Martian
Nub

Cakes 1

« on: January 15, 2010, 07:03:26 PM »

I don't know if this is possible, or desired.

In chess you have your rating, say 1400, and play with players from 1300 to
1500. That is your level, like kindergarten kid play against another kindergarten kid, right?

Here's my idea.

One server ring with web page where you register your name and get your
password. On this servers you cannot log if you are too strong or too weak.
Every skill level have another server.  Every frag and flag you make adjust
your rating somehow. When fraged too. Is it possible?

My guess, 3 skill levels will be enough. Beginners, average players and pros.

Now another thing

Wouldn't  be nice if  when you spot a total beginner, helped him.

I've seen players not using a mouse, walking, and handicap messed up.
What about this, an oa patrol in search for beginners and trying to
redirect to one server where beginners play.

Will this help?  Any idea?

pulchr

Cakes 34

« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2010, 03:37:03 AM »

well, the handicap system ought to be explained somewhere. i've seen lots of new players believing that adjusting the handicap will help them...
MIOW
Lesser Nub

Cakes 5

I play to win.

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2010, 04:45:51 AM »

Would be better to remove it from the menu altogether :p
Bane

Cakes 5

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2010, 07:22:22 AM »

I don't know if this is possible, or desired.

In chess you have your rating, say 1400, and play with players from 1300 to
1500. That is your level, like kindergarten kid play against another kindergarten kid, right?

Here's my idea.

One server ring with web page where you register your name and get your
password. On this servers you cannot log if you are too strong or too weak.
Every skill level have another server.  Every frag and flag you make adjust
your rating somehow. When fraged too. Is it possible?