Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ubuntu 9.10, OA lags and freezes system on exit  (Read 11953 times)
RMF

Cakes 12

« on: December 23, 2009, 07:09:04 AM »

I can't quite get it to work well. After spending an hour trying to get some drivers for my gpu with some commandline instructions it finally runs with a normal fps rate.. Or that is what it seems.. The meter shows very stable 125/333fps, but it still lags like it is running on 30/40. It is not the internet connection, the lagometer is just fine and pings are normal. Also no connection interrupted.

Second problem, whenever I exit OA (mainmenu or /quit or escape menu) it freezes the system. I'm not really good with ubuntu but after some combinations I found out that one of the only working keys is ctrl-alt-f4 which quits me to a commandline. This problem also occured before installing gpu drivers.

Any idea what i can do about it?
(everyone who ever tried ubuntu seems to like it above windows, that's why im trying. But so far I haven't seen much good, even the gpudriver had to be installed via command line)
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot

Cakes 73

also banned for baiting another to violate rules

« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 07:12:53 AM »

I'm not sure but we may have already discussed this issue (on a thread started by menganito), it could be related to your OpenAL library which is buggy.

What if you disable OpenAL in game options ? still experiencing freezes ?

Todo: Walk the cat.
Falkland

Cakes 6

« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2009, 09:19:23 AM »

I can't quite get it to work well. After spending an hour trying to get some drivers for my gpu with some commandline instructions it finally runs with a normal fps rate.. Or that is what it seems.. The meter shows very stable 125/333fps, but it still lags like it is running on 30/40. It is not the internet connection, the lagometer is just fine and pings are normal. Also no connection interrupted.