Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Creating Dedicated Server *Can't Connect"  (Read 6543 times)
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« on: May 12, 2010, 09:12:39 am »

I am trying to create a dedicated server for open arena, i am trying to follow the basic steps on the wiki/server page but its a little vague

When it says to create an Open Arena user account what does that mean exactly?
« Last Edit: May 12, 2010, 11:30:48 am by zigguruat » Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1652


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 09:38:32 am »

When it says to create an Open Arena user account what does that mean exactly?
It just means you shouldn't use ad administrator account and preferably you should use a user account that you don't use for any other purpose.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 48
Posts: 4256


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 09:43:30 am »

I think that "create an OA user account, do NOT run the server with root priviledges" DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Servers#Server_Setup]here means that you should use a standard user profile on your server, and run the program under its credentials.

For example, under Windows, OpenArena.exe shouldn't "run as" an "Administrator" account (user account under "Administrators" group), but as a standard "user"...

I think this is for security reasons: if someone will ever able to find a security bug in OpenArena and finds a way to take control over your machine, if the program runs under a non-administrator user profile, the hacker should be able to make less damage to your system...

Anyway, probably that guide could be improved (for example, that external link for enabling "http download" could be "recap" directly there, I suppose)...
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2010, 11:05:27 am »

alright, thanks for that XD

 My friend and i are now trying to set up the server but for some reason i can't connect to it. I know that it will take some time to show up on the master list, but i cant even specify the ip address and connect. we both have the latest patches.

Anybody have any idea if this might be a problem with the server? or with me connecting?

if so any ideas on how to fix it?

*EDIT*
we used the default config files for the server.
Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1428


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2010, 12:54:41 pm »

What is the log output when you start the server ?
You use Windows or Linux ?

You may also paste your server configuration here. Did you set the map rotation well and have a "vstr" line at the end of your config file ?
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2010, 08:11:07 pm »

I am running Win 7
We have set the server up in both windows xp, 7, and linux.

The os was reinstalled so i dont have the log files right now. I can post them in the morning when we try again.

The config file has been a custom and the default (but i dont have the custom because of the re install)

We scanned both ports on both comps, they are both open and working properly. default udp port 27960

Ill post the other information in the  morning thanks again.
Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2010, 08:02:08 am »

alright so. Here is the game logs

 0:00 ------------------------------------------------------------
  0:00 InitGame: \sv_floodProtect\1\sv_maxPing\0\sv_minPing\0\sv_maxRate\0\sv_minRate\0\sv_hostname\noname\version\ioq3+oa 1.36_SVN1759M win_mingw-x86 Jan  3 2010\dmflags\0\fraglimit\20\timelimit\0\g_gametype\0\protocol\71\mapname\wrackdm17\sv_privateClients\0\sv_maxclients\8\sv_allowDownload\0\gamename\baseoa\g_maxGameClients\0\videoflags\7\elimflags\0\voteflags\0\capturelimit\8\g_doWarmup\0\g_needpass\0\g_allowVote\1\g_voteGametypes\/0/1/3/4/5/6/7/8/9/10/11/12/\g_voteMaxTimelimit\0\g_voteMinTimelimit\0\g_voteMaxFraglimit\0\g_voteMinFraglimit\0\g_obeliskRespawnDelay\10\g_enableDust\0\g_enableBreath\0\g_delagHitscan\0\elimination_roundtime\120\g_rockets\0\g_instantgib\0\g_lms_mode\0\g_altExcellent\0
  0:00 Info: ServerInfo length: 691 of 1024
  3:20 ShutdownGame:
  3:20 ------------------------------------------------------------


sorry for it being crowded together for that.

And here is the script we are using. its the default.cfg script



// generated by quake, do not modify
seta net_socksPassword ""
seta net_socksUsername ""
seta net_socksPort "1080"
seta net_socksServer ""
seta net_socksEnabled "0"
seta net_mcast6iface "0"
seta net_mcast6addr "ff04::696f:7175:616b:6533"
seta net_enabled "1"
seta sv_banFile "serverbans.dat"
seta sv_lanForceRate "1"
seta sv_master5 ""
seta sv_master4 ""
seta sv_master3 ""
seta sv_master2 ""
seta sv_dlURL ""
seta sv_floodProtect "1"
seta sv_maxPing "0"
seta sv_minPing "0"
seta sv_maxRate "0"
seta sv_minRate "0"
seta sv_hostname "noname"
seta vm_ui "2"
seta vm_game "2"
seta vm_cgame "2"
seta com_introplayed "0"
seta com_maxfpsMinimized "0"
seta com_maxfpsUnfocused "0"
seta com_ansiColor "0"
seta com_blood "1"
seta com_maxfps "85"
seta com_altivec "0"
seta com_hunkMegs "128"
seta com_zoneMegs "24"






Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2010, 08:03:08 am »

sorry for the last post, i thought it would wrap instead of scroll but anyway there it is.
Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1652


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2010, 08:09:13 am »

There is no default config for a dedicated server included with OA. You can start one with parameters like:

Quote
oa_ded.exe +set com_dedicated 2 +map dm4ish
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2010, 08:30:12 am »

im only relaying what was told me for the server info.

My friend is the one doing the setup for the server

Where exactly would i set the parameters for that?

this is very frustrating
>_<
Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2010, 08:33:09 am »

Also, idk if this helps any but...When i try to connect to the server via specifying the ip. i get stuck at awaiting challenge...it never goes any further

*edit*
if somebody would like to talk to me directly feel free to im me on AIM, screen name is in my profile info.


*edit2*
mapname\oa_rpg3dm2  that i am getting in the logs does not match the map that was set
« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 09:12:45 am by zigguruat » Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1428


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2010, 10:03:22 am »

1) Paste the log of the server starting, it helps. (Remove passwords in it ..)
2) Use [code][/code] around what you paste on this forum.
3) Paste the server config, it helps too.
4) Check if there is a vstr line at the end of the server config file.
5) Try Sago's command, and see if it works and if you can connect to your server. It's the command you can type (from the cmd.exe Windows program, or by making a Windows Shortcut® to oa_ded.exe which can handle parameters)
6) What is your config file name, and by which command do you start the server ? You can't simply double-click on oa_ded.exe, it won't work.
7) Help yourself with DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Servers#Windows]this and DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Servers#Server_config_example]that.

If it stays at "Awaiting Challenge", it could be because you haven't set a start map.
It could also be a firewall/router problem.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2010, 10:31:12 am »

he tried sago's command

Sorry for not puttin
Code:
suppose that woulda made things a little clearer

the biggest problem is that i can't connect to it.

He is running it, and can connect locally.

i can't connect to it at all tho.

im having him check his router settings right now
Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
zigguruat
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 15


« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2010, 11:52:49 am »

thanks everybody for your help!!!

got it running

the port was closed so it was a router issue.

thanks again punched
Logged

War doesn't decide who is right...only who is left
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: