Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Open Arena menu  (Read 9017 times)
Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« on: October 31, 2010, 09:27:22 AM »

Hum, I've got a question...
What do you think about this picture as a 3d menu...?
More simple than the picture, but with the green object with buttons on (single player, multiplayer, setup...).
Personnally, I like it on a side with a landscape on the other side...
Comments...!
         
                          ±END¤CONNEXION±
Logged

Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2010, 10:58:44 AM »

This isn't a default OpenArena map, is it?

UIE had an interesting idea... it putted the player model to the right.
Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2010, 11:43:45 AM »

Yes, it's not a default map. ^^
UIE...? what does it mean...?
           ±END¤CONNEXION±
Logged

Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2010, 01:13:29 PM »

UI Expanded, a Quake 3 mod, which is uncompatible with the missionpack stuff in OpenArena. Otherwise it still works.

If it isn't a default map, and you don't have the rights to GPL it, then stop dreaming. You should know that only GPLv2 things can be featured and although while the concept is interesting, the current idea is marked to death.
Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2010, 01:15:51 PM »

Hum you know, I'm not dreaming ^^
It's possible to make an interface with this picture in inspiration...!
Nope..?
I'm sure that's possible cause it's a new project, it's not a map...!
         ±END¤CONNEXION±
Logged

Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2010, 04:47:49 PM »

It can be used as inspiration, but making 3D buttons for the menu would require more loading and processing. 2D would be okay, but green? I don't know, I think fromhell wants to make OA blue.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2010, 05:01:45 PM »

Quote
but making 3D buttons
No, I wanted to say that buttons would be 2d but landscape behind in 3d.
Quote
green? I don't know, I think fromhell wants to make OA blue.
Blue is alright, all is alright...! ^^
It's just a proposition, not a critic.
I'll try to put some sketchs of my idea...
____

Then, here are the first plan ^^
I've replace the idea of 3d in the menu by screenshots or simple animations (like cartoons).

            ±END¤CONNEXION±
« Last Edit: October 31, 2010, 05:58:59 PM by Someone_mad » Logged

Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2010, 07:02:39 PM »

Then, I've try to make more easy to understand....!
Have a look to the pictures...!
(naturally ya will put more details and nices stuffs, I'm not as good enough)
There's the start menu:



And there's the player model menu:


What about you...?
               ±END¤CONNEXION±
Logged

Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2010, 10:09:32 AM »

Pictures, cool, now I understand! The landscape should be a stock OpenArena map, no third party maps please. The black borders are too wide it takes up valuable space. But it's not a bad idea, I like it, let's see what the others think.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2010, 10:13:06 AM »

Yeah, really sorry for the quality, I wanted to make it as faster as possible...
        ±END¤CONNEXION±
Logged

Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4382


WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2010, 10:47:22 AM »

I don't know how to customize menus, but Sago says that modifying the Q3 menus is a pain (and modifying the Team Arena menus is a pain, too: they changed the menu system there, but did not do it easier to customize). From his words, I understood that even simply adding a new line for a new option requires some work.

I have fear that a complete re-style of it may take too much time. Not the time needed to draw a nice background image, but the time needed do re-position all the items, or other changes. I'd prefer if Sago may use his precious time to fix the many bugs in the game, instead of re-writing the menu system.

Maybe a possible solution may be changing the background image, and holding the rest unchanged?
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2010, 11:12:51 AM »

Okay, but I'm embarassed that everybody said that's a copy of Quake 3, that's not...!
And the menu is apparently the same...
That's why I posted this comment...
           ±END¤CONNEXION±
Logged

Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2010, 02:10:58 PM »

I don't know how to customize menus, but Sago says that modifying the Q3 menus is a pain (and modifying the Team Arena menus is a pain, too: they changed the menu system there, but did not do it easier to customize).

I think Sago never said that modifying an existing TA menu is difficult, but making the switch from the current menu to the TA menu is a hard task. Modifying the TA menu is indeed much easier than modifying the Q3 menus and thus it is a desired change not only for a redesign, but for adding more options, better in-game server browser etc. So hopefully one day it will come, definitely not in 0.8.6, since as you mentioned, bug fixing has priority.

But thinking about how it's done is early. Let's think about a broader view, OA is still looking for concept artists, but we not only need character designers, but UI and webpage designers too. If we can come up with a specific look, how the UI and website and other things should look like, everything will look more consistent and professional, and making the UI and website themes will be much easier.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Someone_mad
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 102


Painted nails and long haired... I'm not a witch!


WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2010, 02:21:37 PM »

In any way, I was not thinking about to have it in 0.8.6 but later ^^ ...!
If it's really hard, just keep the idea, we will see later...
If ya need my help for some graphism, music or idea I'm okay...!
(have a look to my links to be sure if it's good enough for OA)
Oi! ^^
                  ±END¤CONNEXION±

Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: