Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Two gripes  (Read 9657 times)
HelloKitty!
Lesser Nub

Cakes 12

« on: July 21, 2010, 04:45:54 PM »

There are two things annoying me with OpenArena at the moment.

First of all, every now and then it forgets my settings and asks me to set my connection speed, and resets all controls, sensitivity and other vars to some old values I don't use anymore, and sets the resolution to 640x480. Most of the keys are the same (it's the first thing I set when I started playing), but some of them are wrong and old. It seems like it's loading an old q3config from somewhere and overwriting the current one. I have a suspicion that this happens when I use a new mod, but can't explain it. It's frustrating to have your settings fiddled around with at unpredictable intervals, and then having to readjust them in mid-game. Yes, I did make an autoexec.cfg for this purpose, but it isn't copied to new mod dirs, which grab some ancient q3config from somewhere. And if I forget to put some changed setting into my autoexec.cfg, then this gets lost during such a regression. And if I update the autoexec.cfg in baseoa, the autoexec.cfg in insta, corkscrew, DM and other mods stays wrong. So what I did is I symlinked all of them to the autoexec.cfg in baseoa/, but that doesn't work with new mods either, etc.

Shouldn't it just remember my settings and keep them? Where does it get the old settings from? Why do my current settings get overwritten by some junk from 6 months ago?

Second, why is physics RESOLUTION-dependent? I know about fps effects, but why on Earth do I get completely different physics with each possible resolution? The result is that once a mod messes up my config, I can't even strafejump anymore.  Due to experimental drivers I'm using (Linux, ATI), I often need to adjust the resolution to make the game playable. And I have to relearn the circle jump, air-strafe, and can't make half of the usual jumps anymore. This CAN'T be by design?