Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: admin.dat file is not "working"  (Read 7123 times)
MilanFIN
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 41


WWW
« on: January 03, 2011, 05:42:48 AM »

So I have made a 0.8.5 server and created an admin.dat file with these directions http://code.google.com/p/oax/wiki/Admin_Enable
I have changed the names of adin groups from the example file, but in game they do not change.
The name of the first group should be OA player, but there read still uknown player in game console with command !listplayers. Other group names are wrong too.
Logged

http://arenafinland.tk a finnish OpenArena server and clan.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 07:34:49 AM »

Boh, do you really need to rename admin groups ? I didn't try it myself. But their use is limited ... it's just how they appear in the !listadmins command right ?
Do your admin files work fine except that renaming issue ?

I didn't find an easy guide to deal with admins system but with:
/rcon !setlevel your_nick 5
... you're almost done.

Note: There are !listplayers and !listadmins command.

PS: and welcome around !
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
MilanFIN
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 41


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 08:14:26 AM »

I don't really need to change the names of the groups, but it would be nice to do.
I Can set up admins, so there is not real problem.

Then I would ask how can i add few names of admins, email, website and other stuff to server info, is it possible.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 11:56:35 AM by MilanFIN » Logged

http://arenafinland.tk a finnish OpenArena server and clan.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4382


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 07:37:01 AM »

You can define some variables using "sets" command: in this way, those variables will be shown with the server information.
But be aware that there is a limit on the info string sent by the server (that includes the variables you set with "sets" and some important info, like the current map, gametype, fraglimit, etc), and if you pass that limit, you will get errors in console.
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Command_console#Set_variable

You can also set a "message of the day", that players will see when connecting: (DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Message_of_the_day

But I'm not sure I understood correctly your question. If you know how to use the admin system and even need more admin groups, I suppose you already know these things.
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
SharpestTool
Lesser Nub


Cakes -27
Posts: 143


« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2011, 03:36:43 PM »

admin.dat is just a plain text file that's read in on level load by the server.

You need to create your own, have it outside the server pk3 in the appropriate pk3 then set the cvar to point to it (g_admin something or other)

then follow the instructions above.

the stock admin.dat provided in the pk3 is read only...else it would require re-downloading each time with sv_pure set to 1.

Logged
MilanFIN
Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 41


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2011, 11:57:55 AM »

Then I would ask what should I write to serverconfig so it would load the admin.dat file from baseoa-folder
Logged

http://arenafinland.tk a finnish OpenArena server and clan.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2011, 06:33:16 AM »

Nothing I think, it should be the case by default.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: