Poll
Question: Migration to q4 engine good?
Yes - 2 (33.3%)
No - 4 (66.7%)
Total Voters: 6

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Engine migration.  (Read 4413 times)
Coder
Nub


Cakes -14
Posts: 47


Coding(logical)


« on: May 27, 2011, 11:21:18 am »

It would be cool to see OA using Nexuiz engine (with tweaks so that it doesnt look the same). BUT...

Open arena name doesnt have any sence with new engine because it is based on q3 arena. Well...maybe.

Models are currently iqm and zym (i think) format...coders would have to make engine compatible with md3 (if it is not already)

GOOD STUFF *drumroll*
EXTREMELY COOL GFX
VARIOUS MENU THEMES
AND OTHERS...

Whats your opinion?
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4373


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 11:38:18 am »

Would that break compatibility with stuff (e.g. MODS) designed for Q3/OpenArena?

From the DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/NOTTODO]NOTTODO page:
Quote
This is a list of stuff we won't do and never will:
[...]
Adding or changing stuff which will further break mod compatibility, as mod compatibility IS a main objective of OA.
[...]

PS (OT): Here a link with a free promo video from Nexuiz http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Nexuiz_promo_video.ogg, that appears on its Wikipedia page... what about doing something similar for OpenArena?
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14511



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 12:14:06 pm »

I contemplated about this in 2007. It wouldn't even end up more network efficient either.



If this were done it'd probably be just a few .dat's for the OA folder for darkplaces to work
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3763


Trickster God.


« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2011, 12:25:19 pm »

OA without IdTech3 is just not OpenArena. It's like Q3A without the IdTech3 engine. Even Id understands this, there's a reason of why QL uses IdTech3. (A modifed version for browsers, but is still IdTech3)

There's also the mod compatibility problem. It's one of the main objectives of OA, regardless of what certain people wants.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 02:12:29 pm by Neon_Knight » Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Coder
Nub


Cakes -14
Posts: 47


Coding(logical)


« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2011, 12:28:24 pm »

WELL... It has been known that SOME q3 mods work on ionex (he he) engine...BUT...model mods dont work cuz they are in a different directory
Logged
Coder
Nub


Cakes -14
Posts: 47


Coding(logical)


« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2011, 12:29:52 pm »

Maybe....is it possible to migrate to id tech 4 (q4 engine)?
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14511



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2011, 12:52:12 pm »

no, that's pretty much a completely different monster.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Coder
Nub


Cakes -14
Posts: 47


Coding(logical)


« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2011, 03:18:04 pm »

:O  so...its too complicated....lets stick with this engine.


END OF TOPIC...TO BE DELETED
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: