Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OpenGL, reflections, and shameless hacks  (Read 15754 times)
hermitian
Ok i've posted twice!

Cakes 0

« on: July 19, 2012, 06:24:58 PM »

Hi, I'm Hermitian, this is my first time posting here. 

I've been reading about 3D graphics lately, I've had some experience with OpenGL.  I have a very simple 3D FPS Engine that I've been writing lately.  One of the things that is most often quoted regarding OpenGL is that it doesn't handle reflections, however I've seen reflections done using OpenGL, so I wondered how THAT was done?  Well, after poking around I saw that the solution involved creating a stencil, and projecting the object you wish to reflect onto the surface of whatever you are reflecting onto and simply shading in the stencil with the shape of the object that you are reflecting.  That was discouraging... it's not a direct simulation of the light's behavior, it's just a 'shameless' hack. I assume this is probably done for efficiency reasons.  A true ray trace simulation would likely be more computationally expensive than what OpenGL does.  Does anyone here have experience with this?  Am I barking up the wrong tree?

(Note:  I thought this was pertinent to the Graphics portion of the forum because the id tech 3 engine used OpenGL) 
hermitian
Ok i've posted twice!

Cakes 0

« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 06:39:38 PM »

Here I am posting all of this without references like some kind of a cave fungus (my bad), this is what I've been going on about:

(Example 1) 
http://www.swiftless.com/tutorials/opengl/basic_reflection.html

(Example 2)
http://www.videotutorialsrock.com/opengl_tutorial/reflections/home.php
Hitchhiker

Cakes 11

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 02:11:49 PM »

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post your question. Some internet forums specialized in opengl might be a better place to get an answer.

but if it can help (I'm no expert)...