Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: duplicate guid  (Read 21534 times)
MasonD
Nub

Cakes 0

« on: November 06, 2012, 03:55:20 PM »

i have setup a dedicated server on a lan, downloaded 0.8.8 and once extracted allowed everyone to copy the oa folder from a shared drive. however when 1st player joined ok and then i tried to join got duplicate guid error? do all players need to download a separate copy of the oa client to get round this?
any info appreciated as im fairly new to setting up
Gig
In the year 3000

Cakes 45

« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2012, 02:10:29 AM »

I don't know how GUID check works.
With a quick search on the forum, I see Sago added "duplicate GUID check" since DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/OpenArena_eXpanded]OAX B40.

I hope Sago will notice your question and give some infos about it.

I can find a "duplicate guid" line in the OAX svn here, but I can't understand what the controls that trigger it do.

I've found a few general infos about guid on ioquake3 readme:
http://svn.icculus.org/*checkout*/quake3/trunk/README (see the "cl_guid Support" section down in that page)....
To sum up, the GUID is automatically generated by the client, and you can see your guid checking the cl_guid variable. The cl_guidServerUniq variable allows your client to generate a different GUID depending from the server it is connecting to (if enabled, when playing on a certain server, the client would use a specific GUID... if disabled, the client would sent the same GUID to any server).
But I don't know how that GUIDs are calculated, so I don't know how it is possible that different machines get the same GUID... do they have identical hardware? Did they customize their playername?