Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Some spontaneous AO character concepts  (Read 48696 times)
Arne
VIP
Nub

Cakes 5

Doesn't actually know who Vash is. Once had hair.

« on: February 27, 2015, 06:26:30 PM »

Hey all. For some reason lost to me I started drawing Open Arena characters, which you can see on the page linked right below. Now thinking about doing some models, but I'm no 3D modeller (currently locked in mortal combat with Blender). Also wrote a background story of my own, but I'm also no writer.

Open Arena page (mildly NSFW but so is OA I guess).

An image from the page to spice up the post. Characters should be around 500-1k ... vertices? What about weapons? Same model is used as handheld and map item?

fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!

Cakes 35

« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2015, 09:50:14 PM »

Those weapon sketches are very inspiring.  Weapon designs are among some of my biggest creative blocks, I still haven't made the new non-spinning machinegun for OA3 yet. or a rocket launcher.  What was sort of modeled so far is a plasma gun, lightning gun (spinning 3 prongs), railgun (not ingame or textured), gauntlet (also not ingame nor textured) and chaingun (barely textured and only lowest lod level so far)

Also I like how you tried to make a sensible story of the nonsense that is OA's art inconsistency!  I had a hard time trying to think about it as well with theories about thematic consistency, though the general consensus from the players were more of a 'i don't care, a game is a game' thing.

Characters should be around 500-1k ... vertices?