Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up compiled openarena  (Read 14367 times)
lambdacalculus
Nub

Cakes 0

« on: July 02, 2016, 12:29:52 AM »

Hello everyone, I am new to openarena. I was able to compile openarena engine and gamecode on Ubuntu from the latest git repos. Separately I have successfully test-played openarena using "apt-get install openarena". I want to modify the gamecode source to try out some ideas.

For this I tried to replicate the setup of the apt-get-installed openarena within the version I compiled from source. This is where I have run into trouble. The game launches successfully, the pk3 files are read. When I select single player -> any map -> fight, the game attempts to start but dies with the following last messages:

/home/tushark/experiments/MVSRT/openarena/engine/build/release-linux-x86_64//baseoa/pak2-players.pk3 (669 files)
/home/tushark/experiments/MVSRT/openarena/engine/build/release-linux-x86_64//baseoa/pak2-players-mature.pk3 (231 files)
/home/tushark/experiments/MVSRT/openarena/engine/build/release-linux-x86_64//baseoa/pak1-maps.pk3 (100 files)
/home/tushark/experiments/MVSRT/openarena/engine/build/release-linux-x86_64//baseoa/pak0.pk3 (1042 files)

----------------------
5803 files in pk3 files
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
OpenAL capture device closed.
-----------------------
----- Server Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: VM_Create on UI failed) -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
AAS shutdown.
---------------------------
VM_Create on UI failed

Here is what I tried.
1. I copied the .pk3 files from /usr/share/games/openarena/baseoa to $MYBUILD/engine/build/release-linux-x86_64/baseoa/
2. I copied cgamex86_64.so, qagamex86_64.so and uix86_64.so from $MYBUILD/gamecode/build/release-linux-x86_64/missionpack to $MYBUILD/engine/build/release-linux-x86_64/missionpack/