Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how to spot a cheater?  (Read 9175 times)
Aileras
Nub

Cakes 0

« on: May 27, 2018, 09:17:55 PM »

First off thanks for answering my many noob questions, you all are very helpful  Smiley

There is that one player that doesn't seem to miss and always knows where to aim. His score per minute (from Gametracker) is 10. Taking into consideration the server is modded and the players have all the weapons available to them all the time, that score is still way higher then any of the other players.

My question is: has anyone come up with a way to tell if someones cheating?(using an aimbot?)

I don't want to ban someone if they're just really, really good and I don't want to make accusations unless I know something is rotten in Denmark so to speak lol.

Would love to see some discussion from players on this subject as well.

thanks guys!
Gig
In the year 3000

Cakes 45

« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2018, 04:39:50 AM »

I'm not an expert about the topic.
As a starting point, I would suggest to DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Manual/Spectate]spectate him and to register DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Manual/Demos]a demo, to observe his mouse movements more closely to see if they feel unnatural, to see if he fires with precision when his opponents aren't yet visible behind walls, etc...
I can guess that a good cheat system may warn him about being spectated... but in that case, if he stops cheating when being spectated, I suppose his frag rate should go down...
« Last Edit: May 28, 2018, 04:43:59 AM by Gig » Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Aileras
Nub

Cakes 0

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2018, 06:24:13 PM »