Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: New Map (Suspended)  (Read 34792 times)
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« on: March 15, 2007, 04:00:21 PM »













Still working on bugs, hope to upload a beta version in a couple of days.

Cheers!
Logged
Blaenk
more like blank dumb
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 135



« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 04:30:09 PM »

Haven't tried it, but it looks pretty cool. The screenshots look pretty dark, is that how it really is?
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14519



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2007, 10:25:14 PM »

I like this map.

Is that a skybox captured from Celestia?
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Blaenk
more like blank dumb
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 135



« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2007, 10:49:16 PM »

Cool, leileilol is happy for once! Good job baronofhell! Cheesy I should try it soon, er, after I get my new parts, my computer's crashing as it is.
Logged
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2007, 08:27:46 AM »

I used the regular space skybox and pasted a screenshot of the earth from Celestia on the bottom image. Tried rotating the skybox to give the map a real feel, but in vain Sad

I'll try to post the pk3 soon, it's still buggy.
Logged
Czestmyr
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 87


Member, Player, Mapper


« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2007, 08:35:48 AM »

WoW! That looks pretty cool. Simple yet attractive architecture and layout. The lighting is ok, in my opinion. Can't wait to test-play this one. Count me in.
Logged

Jabber ID: Czestmyr (rolled-herring-sign) jabber.cz
gavinyog
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 28



« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2007, 10:52:32 PM »

count me in too! oh, and don forget to tell me how to use it for windows!!
Logged

leader of the bikini bottom!
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2007, 12:25:11 AM »

The link to the pk3 below:

http://home.comcast.net/~dadaniel30/suspended.pk3

The map is still buggy with gaps in brushes showing. Still in beta stage.

Suggestions are welcome on items and weapons placing.

@gavinyog: just put the file in your OpenArena\baseoa folder and in game hit the "~"  key and type "map suspended"

Cheers!

Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2007, 04:17:45 PM »

where did you get fire2.wav?
Logged

baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2007, 04:20:03 PM »

I took the file1.wav and amplified it and saved it as fire2.wav, is that a problem :s ?
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2007, 05:04:01 PM »

No, no problem, it just sounded familiar and I couldn't quite place it.

The only problem I have (Other than the things you've already mentioned) is the 11.6 meg aas file.  On your next bspc compile try  -optimize -aasopt it will remarkably shrink the file size.
Logged

baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2007, 05:13:35 PM »

I tried a regular bspc without -forcesidesvisible and the bots did nothing other than jumping off. The -forcesidesvisible made the 11mb aas file.

thanks for the tip.
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2007, 07:36:53 PM »

Yeah, I am beginning to think that there are issues with the bspc tool and oa.  Our maps can't be that fubared to need -forcesidesvisible for every map.
Logged

fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14519



WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2007, 09:25:03 PM »

This map looks fancy, could use some touches of flare lights in some places however, and some contrasted lighting probably stuck as lights under the platforms lighting the areas above the players only a little to give more depth. Just make little light blocks (that have flares) under the platforms like this)

You don't have to use these light colors though

Looks cool with 16x anistropy at 1280x960x32!
« Last Edit: March 18, 2007, 09:28:40 PM by leilol » Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2007, 10:06:38 PM »

Another tip - the common shader (Unless you are using one of the mirrors in it) doesn't need to be distributed with the map.  All of the nodraw/clip/hint info is stored in the bsp.

Also if you take fromhell's advice, (Which would look nice) check the oalite.shader from the svn first.  There are quite a few flared lights in it.

Logged

gavinyog
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 28



« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2007, 05:25:07 AM »

i copy from c:/ drive to openarena/baseoa folder but did mot work?!
!! and the thing look like this: i go to start at the bottom right of windows, go to look for files or folders, type openarena.
           then i pressed one of the files containing baseoa, i then paste the file i copied to there. then i open OA the game, in the console i typed 'map suspended' (without the ( ' ) sign). the game then wrote that it cannot find the map. and maybe all the problems i had is due to
me downloaded the game from gamershell.com???
« Last Edit: March 19, 2007, 05:36:17 AM by gavinyog » Logged

leader of the bikini bottom!
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #16 on: March 19, 2007, 07:27:28 AM »

Another tip - the common shader (Unless you are using one of the mirrors in it) doesn't need to be distributed with the map.  All of the nodraw/clip/hint info is stored in the bsp.

The reason why I did this was, when I copied just the pk3 file to another laptop with just the OA installation (without the svn stuff) and launched the map, the grates did not work and I could see through the platforms from below (any idea why this happens?). I checked the pak0.pk3 and the common shader was missing. So I thought the common.shader was required in the pk3.

@fromhell - Great idea, I'll add the lights.

@gavinyog - probably, uninstall OA, then download it from this site. Launch OA and check if it is working by typing 'map kaos' which is a map already in OA. Then download suspended.pk3 and put it in 'C:\program files\openarena\baseoa'. Then try 'map suspended' again. If that doesnt work send me a message and I'll try to walk you through the process.

Cheers!

« Last Edit: March 19, 2007, 07:31:59 AM by baronofhell » Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2007, 08:42:44 AM »

That is probably because the grates didn't have shaders written for them in 0.6.
Logged

pio
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 36


Member


WWW
« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2007, 09:37:48 AM »

wow looks trippy
Logged

You are all indviduals
Blaenk
more like blank dumb
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 135



« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2007, 04:23:56 PM »

Quote
That is probably because the grates didn't have shaders written for them in 0.6.

That is the reason.
Logged
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2007, 10:34:25 AM »

I've added some lights, all blue.






Link below:
http://home.comcast.net/~dadaniel30/suspended.pk3


If you think blue is too sober, I can try changing the color Smiley

Cheers!
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2007, 12:19:34 PM »

Are you using the -flares switch in the bsp stage with q3map2?
Code:
-fs_game baseoa -skyfix -meta -flares
Logged

baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2007, 12:35:11 PM »

I do but doesnt seem to work. Can you give me the complete command line?

this is what I'm using in gtkradiant

[q3map2] -meta "[MapFile]"
[q3map2] -vis -saveprt -fast "[MapFile]"
[q3map2] -light -fast -super 2 -filter -flare "[MapFile]"
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14519



WWW
« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2007, 01:03:39 PM »

do you have r_flares set to 1 ingame?
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2007, 01:16:13 PM »

I set r_flares to 1 in game and lights look the same with or without r_flares. Did you try the map? I'm not sure what I should expect. What's the difference with or without flares?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to: