Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: New Map (Suspended)  (Read 35221 times)
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #25 on: March 20, 2007, 01:43:04 PM »

I do but doesnt seem to work. Can you give me the complete command line?

this is what I'm using in gtkradiant

[q3map2] -meta "[MapFile]"
[q3map2] -vis -saveprt -fast "[MapFile]"
[q3map2] -light -fast -super 2 -filter -flare "[MapFile]"

-flares should be in the bsp stage so in Radiant ->: Build > Customize and get something like this:

Code:
[q3map2] -meta -skyfix -flares "[MapFile]" 
[q3map2] -vis "[MapFile]"
[q3map2] -light -fast -super 2 -filter "[MapFile]

the -skyfix flag is a definite must use as iD coded around a bug in the nVidia drivers and that enables the correct behavior
 -fast is not useful for vis (But great for testing) and -saveprt is only useful if you want to view the portal info for your map.  (Would be nice if someone could get oamap to build on windows as it removes the need for the -flares switch) also try -bounce 6 in the light stage as that will brighten the map a little and get a little more realistic lighting.

Personally, I suggest writing a batch script to build your maps with as Radiant just adds more overhead to an already CPU hungry process (And the current build of Radiant leaves a lot of zombie processes).  As I use Debian GNU/Linux here is a sample of a shell script that I use, it shouldn't be too difficult to convert it a .bat.:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd /path/to/q3map2/
./q3map2.x86_64 -v -connect 127.0.0.1:39000 -game oa -fs_basepath "/path/to/oa/" -fs_game baseoa -skyfix -patchmeta -meta -flares -samplesize 4 "/path/to/craptastic/maps/oa_bases3.map" && ./q3map2.x86_64 -v -connect 127.0.0.1:39000 -game oa -fs_basepath "/path/to/oa/" -fs_game baseoa -vis -hint "/path/to/craptastic/maps/oa_bases3.map" && ./q3map2.x86_64 -v -connect 127.0.0.1:39000 -game oa -fs_basepath "/path/to/oa/" -fs_game baseoa -light -fast -cpma -dirty -dirtmode 1 -dirtdepth 128 -bouncegrid -bounce 6 -samples 2 -shade -thresh .5 "/path/to/craptastic/maps/oa_bases3.map"
echo "finished"
exit
Logged

baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #26 on: March 20, 2007, 08:51:00 PM »

Looks good with the flares on, thanks for the compile code. Hopefully this is the final version.

http://home.comcast.net/~dadaniel30/Suspended.zip

Cheers!

@tw3k: Dude, can you check with Red to see if he can host this map in beer garden? Would love to see it in action.

Cheers!
Logged
tw3k
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 143



« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2007, 03:02:04 AM »

@tw3k: Dude, can you check with Red to see if he can host this map in beer garden? Would love to see it in action.

I e-mailed Red, not sure if he checks e-mail on vaca tho Grin

If not I'll ask him on the server once he gets back.
Logged
gavinyog
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 28



« Reply #28 on: March 21, 2007, 03:23:56 AM »

baronofhell recieve my message??
Logged

leader of the bikini bottom!
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #29 on: March 21, 2007, 07:21:39 AM »

@tw3k: Thanks man.

@gavinyog: yup, replied just now.

I forgot the map file, here is the full zip file.

http://home.comcast.net/~dadaniel30/Suspended.zip
Logged
Kojiro_S
Lesser Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 143


Har har har...


WWW
« Reply #30 on: March 21, 2007, 09:46:24 AM »

For some reason, all the maps with added light effects are running a bit (just a bit) jerky on my computer, whereas the last no-light version of the map runs smoothly. They are still perfectly playable. Just wanted to mention that, in case there's something else to polish.

I'm using 0.6.0.
Logged


*ROOOAAAR*
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #31 on: March 21, 2007, 10:59:24 AM »

I compiling the map again with some tweaks. I'll post the pk3 when it's done.
Logged
tw3k
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 143



« Reply #32 on: March 21, 2007, 11:47:52 AM »

overwrote last url plz
Logged
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #33 on: March 21, 2007, 12:13:00 PM »

@Kojiro_S: Can you try this one and see?

http://home.comcast.net/~dadaniel30/suspended.pk3


overwrote last url plz

The recent suspended.zip is the same one with the map file included. Do you still need the old one?

Cheers!
Logged
Kojiro_S
Lesser Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 143


Har har har...


WWW
« Reply #34 on: March 21, 2007, 01:06:33 PM »

Doesn't run jerky anymore. Nice job with the map.
Logged


*ROOOAAAR*
tw3k
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 143



« Reply #35 on: March 21, 2007, 01:26:54 PM »


The recent suspended.zip is the same one with the map file included. Do you still need the old one?


nope, updated link is just fine thx

btw; red put transylvania in rotation Grin
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #36 on: March 21, 2007, 06:06:31 PM »

you have a brush on the second tier that has the grate texture on both visible sides.
Logged

baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #37 on: March 23, 2007, 07:30:43 AM »

Are you referring to this?




I've corrected it in this, can you try now?

http://home.comcast.net/~dadaniel30/suspended.pk3

Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #38 on: March 23, 2007, 03:04:01 PM »

nope, this is what I was talking about. 
Logged

tw3k
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 143



« Reply #39 on: March 23, 2007, 03:20:08 PM »

they are all, the decks, transparent when you look up with picmips 5

fun map
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #40 on: March 23, 2007, 03:22:20 PM »

it's also weird that you can shoot rockets through them

the map looks great though the fire appears to be broken
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #41 on: March 23, 2007, 03:42:02 PM »

@dmn_clown: gotcha, I've fixed it and I'm compiling it now, will post it after it's done.

it's also weird that you can shoot rockets through them

the map looks great though the fire appears to be broken

I wanted to be able to shoot through the platforms and someone above or below Smiley , and Thanks! Weird that the fire is broken, it works fine for me, unless you're using version 0.6.0 Cheesy

The fire is broken when I run it in the 0.6.0 version of OA, but is fine with the svn version.

@tw3k: Is the fire texture broken for you?


Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #42 on: March 23, 2007, 04:08:47 PM »

@baron - sweet, I want to integrate this into the project.

@fromhell - The fire is only broken if you have the transylvania pk3 loaded up due to the way the engine loads shaders (The sfx2 script in suspended doesn't have the fires he used in transylvania.  The transylvania script is loaded first which makes the engine ignore the suspended sf2 shader).  You can shoot through the grates because he used clip instead of caulk, makes it more of a skill level as there won't be any splash damage {-;<
Logged

tw3k
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 143



« Reply #43 on: March 23, 2007, 04:11:44 PM »

@ the b: which flame g

I'm not sure about the flame texture i'll have to look again. It's sure ain't as pretty as the screenies Grin

I can drop through the solid thing under the quad damage.

I could also hit some rails trought the platforms but some of them miss. I thought it was the holes in the grate and a chance shot. I didn't try any splash damage weapons.
Logged
baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #44 on: March 23, 2007, 09:23:30 PM »

I'm not sure about the flame texture i'll have to look again. It's sure ain't as pretty as the screenies Grin

I can drop through the solid thing under the quad damage.

Nothing really is, right? Cheesy

I'm able to stand on the quad damage platform :s


@clown: The compile is done, hope there isn't any more bugs.

http://home.comcast.net/~dadaniel30/Suspended.zip

Cheers!

« Last Edit: March 23, 2007, 10:56:40 PM by baronofhell » Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #45 on: March 23, 2007, 10:38:35 PM »

I didn't notice any.
Logged

Sindwiller
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12


Member


« Reply #46 on: March 24, 2007, 01:14:36 PM »

Not bad! Best OA map by now Wink

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot0001.jpg

I'd personally change this texture. Looks very rough and improper. Ask me, if you need textures Smiley

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot0002.jpg

Low scale is eeeeevil. Change it, please.

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot01.jpg

Missing texture? (though I've got the last pk3, not the zip. Too lazy to rename it Tongue)

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot0003.jpg

Speaks for itself.

I'd also change the lighting a bit. More shadows, more contrasts. Maybe stronger lightsource outside. And I'd give it a more dirtier look.
Logged

fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #47 on: March 24, 2007, 01:20:16 PM »

I think that texture is fine, though it could use a detail texture overlay (yeah we need more of those Sad )
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #48 on: March 24, 2007, 02:16:24 PM »

He used a texture that is not available in 0.6 hence the missing texture.
Logged

baronofhell
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 103



« Reply #49 on: March 26, 2007, 07:10:05 AM »

Not bad! Best OA map by now Wink

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot0001.jpg

I'd personally change this texture. Looks very rough and improper. Ask me, if you need textures Smiley

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot0002.jpg

Low scale is eeeeevil. Change it, please.

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot01.jpg

Missing texture? (though I've got the last pk3, not the zip. Too lazy to rename it Tongue)

http://xs113.xs.to/xs113/07126/shot0003.jpg

Speaks for itself.

I'd also change the lighting a bit. More shadows, more contrasts. Maybe stronger lightsource outside. And I'd give it a more dirtier look.


"I'd personally change this texture. Looks very rough and improper. Ask me, if you need textures Smiley"

Do you have a texture for it or can you suggest one?


"Low scale is eeeeevil. Change it, please."

I'll try something else there Smiley


"Missing texture?"

Like Clown said, svn.


"Speaks for itself."

Shaders were not written for grates in 0.6.0, so svn again.


Cheers!


Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to: