Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Noob need's some starting stuff -.-  (Read 39538 times)
GermanNoob
Ok i've posted twice!

Cakes 0

« on: May 06, 2008, 10:40:09 AM »

Hi all,

I'm very new to OA (I loved to play Q3A) an have some maybe stupit Questions:

1. I always get the "Invalid Game Folder" Message. The wiki tells that the server has another Version. But as the Server has displayed 0.7.6 (that's the version I've installed) in the ServerName I think it is possible that the server has a mod enabled? I've the problem in 7 of 10 Servers (very often). So the only way I can play is just search for a working one. Whats up with this?

2. When somebody leaves the game without quitting (hardware-reset), he will still be in the game. It's very bad on last man standing games, as he always will be the last player. The real last player can only suizide

Please forgive my bad english ;-)
skankychicken
Lesser Nub

Cakes 1

OpenArena 1.0.0 - /cg_roaminganimals 1 ; /cg_flipf

« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2008, 11:14:07 PM »

You are not alone, it's impossible to ask a stupid question here. 0.71 the curent working version, unles you lile bugs and hot fixes etc. The community is on 0.7.1. I'm sorry Sad Its so frustrating.

There is a hot fix for 7.6 but I doubt the admins like to play with fire when things are just fine the way they are :S

fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!

Cakes 35

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2008, 12:18:06 AM »

Server admins are lazy and aren't aware of 0.7.6.

You know skanky, telling people to stick with 0.7.1 isn't really encouraging development. It's basically a 'fuck off' to the efforts we're going through to keep new. It also spreads the mentality that older is better because it's more vulnerable to old security issues. Great logic. You surely are the sage to go to.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2008, 12:26:13 AM by leilol » Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone