Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: pc shut down  (Read 11738 times)
wijkkie
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« on: October 05, 2007, 01:49:31 PM »

I,ve ubuntu 7.04 and installed Openarena with packet manager.
When i want to run OA my screen gets black and ubuntu restarts.

Somebody knows what's wrong?
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2007, 01:50:34 PM »

sounds like it hates your video driver Sad More system information, please.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2007, 07:06:21 PM »

Does your system reboot or do you just end up at the GDM login prompt?
Logged

wijkkie
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2007, 12:55:26 AM »

My system is an old IBM PC300L (if i'm right) it has an S3 64 3D Onboard videochip in it. I have 196 MB memory and running Ubuntu 7.04

My PC doesn't reboot totally. I get a black screen with text and end with al couple of seconds in the login screen.

Thanks for helping.
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2007, 01:57:39 AM »

X crashes, that isn't a reboot.  Try this

Code:
cd /pathto/your/oa/
./ioquake3.i386 +set r_allowSoftwareGL 1

Either the Savage driver isn't fully hardware 3d OR the game is trying to change to a resolution your video card doesn't support.  If the above command crashes X you'll have to start the game using
Code:
./ioquake3.i36 +set r_customwidth X +set r_customheight Y
where x + y are your screen resolution, alternately add the resolution 640x480 to xorg.conf if it is not there in the screen section, like so:
Code:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Generic Video Card"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
(assuming you aren't using xorg 7.3 yet which has done away with the configuration file except for proprietary drivers).
Logged

next_ghost
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 76


« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2007, 03:44:16 AM »

The onboard video could also be Trio3D which has the 3D part just for buzzword compliance.
Logged
wijkkie
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2007, 05:58:32 AM »

I think my videocard is too old for openarena. But i have Unreal Tournament running on the system. I'll try out the things were said above.
But think it will not work. I'f i'm right my videocard is just 4M
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2007, 12:28:07 PM »

I'f i'm right my videocard is just 4M

OUCH! OpenArena requires at least an 8MB OpenGL-compliant video card.

s3 cards are horrible with GL so you're out of luck Sad
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
iLeft.bye
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 188



« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2007, 01:30:46 PM »

new ones run oa on windows
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2007, 02:26:21 PM »

new ones aren't 4mb
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2007, 02:30:07 PM »

s3 cards are horrible with GL so you're out of luck Sad
Not really, if he has an open pci slot he can always pick up an old pci card off ebay that has enough video ram (if he only has 4M onboard mem).  If all he has is ISA slots then he's SoL.

This looks like an ati rage for $1.00 (it should run on that hardware...)
Logged

fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2007, 02:58:04 PM »

This looks like an ati rage for $1.00 (it should run on that hardware...)

OH NO NOT THAT CARD, not recommended
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2007, 03:09:10 PM »

With DRI the shaders shouldn't be an issue (I've never had an issue with alpha channels using DRI Tongue) the original problems came from ATI's less than spectacular drivers not their chips.  That being said the link was just an example.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: