Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: new DM map: medieval  (Read 16086 times)
hackira
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« on: October 20, 2007, 04:01:57 PM »

Hi everyone;

Here is my last map for open arena: http://j.blanc.free.fr/openarena/ (pk3 and screenshots)
It is a medieval environnment for 3 or 4 players in deathmatch mode.

Enjoy and let me know any remarks!

PS: use it for free if you want to embed it in open arena or something else.
Logged
spyker
THIS ONE POST HERE SHOULD DO IT.


Cakes 0
Posts: 1


« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2007, 04:08:37 PM »

Nice work !
It's a very good deathmatch map, with well balanced areas.
The design is overall very good too Smiley
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2007, 07:10:59 PM »

PS: use it for free if you want to embed it in open arena or something else.

We can't because you haven't specified a license (and even then we can't if it isn't GPLv2 or compatible).
Logged

hackira
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2007, 02:02:27 AM »

I just have to put a copy of GPL and a README?
Logged
MilesTeg
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 144



« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2007, 04:00:14 AM »

you have to agree that you will release the map (including the .map file!) are released under the GPL. IMHO it would be enough if you mention it here on the board.
Logged

"We are all connected"
hackira
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2007, 05:34:43 AM »

Ok i release it under GPL; i have updated the site http://j.blanc.free.fr/openarena/medieval/ with map file and quick description.
Enjoy!
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2007, 10:50:57 AM »

IMHO it would be enough if you mention it here on the board.

Except that a forum post isn't legally binding.
Logged

cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2007, 01:44:29 AM »

Hey hackira,

it's a nice map. I'm not sure how it plays yet but I had a run through. I like the idea how to reach the railgun. You did a fine job texturing the map.

You asked so I have a few remarks Wink

- texture flickering in the house at the wooden board (see screenshot)
- red portal waves shader kicks too much so the background is visible (if it's your intension ignore this)
- The rock texture (which I like a lot) could be boring when placed all over the borders of the lava playground. Maybe you're able to add a few more details?
- The bridge arches are well designed but open at the top side. This looks strange because Q3 engine doesn't render patch meshes from the inside. (screenshot)
- After the bridge this stony hallway is blocked by giant lamps. Is it possible to get them a bit smaller so they are no real obstacles? Again if you want them, leave them the way they are. (screenshot)
- Why does the lava run from down to the upside? It's a magical place, I know. Wink
- The archways connecting the house are a bit too small. Imagine when there is action it might be difficult to get through. There is some strange brushwork in one of them (see screenshot) and sometimes you get a little stuck when you're running through pressing yourself to the right side of the wall.

I'm looking forward to play this map online.
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
hackira
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 4


« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2007, 06:41:48 AM »

Great thanx for your remarks.

I will fix the texture problem; there is also a patch problem with the door of the chapel if you look at it far away.

Ok for the portal; in fact i havent found some portal texture so i use this lava one ^^

There are also some collapse problems (for example if you throw a rocket above the arches of the hall) but it's harder to fix because it implies many architecture reworks.

Will also fix the bridges arches; i never try to test with 3rd personn view so i havent notice!

For the lava flowing on the wall... Yes its a magical place :-D The reality is that i havent found a lava texture which act like waterfall :-(

For the archways connecting the house or the giant lamps it is to put some difficulties to reach areas; same think with stairways to reach the chapel room from the cave; i have played many times with some friends its not a problem; but maybe i will re-think about this.

i will try to find a way for the rock texture to be better merged with lava Wink

Thanx and have nice play!

PS: a friend tell me he has problem to open the .map; do you experienced that too? Thanx.
Logged
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2007, 10:26:32 AM »

No, sorry,

I cannot open your map. GtkRadiant reports an error.
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2011, 04:51:34 AM »

Now available in MapRaider:
http://www.mapraider.com/maps/?fileid=5594
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2011, 06:39:53 AM »

Seems he's french, I'll email him to see if he's still around, just curious.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2011, 06:39:56 PM »

Can someone confirm the problem cosmo had opening the map ?
He answered me, he's no longer mapping but he could have watched about it if necessary.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2011, 06:58:12 PM »

I've managed to open it in NetRadiant, but had to use the alternate texture projection.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2011, 04:49:24 AM »

So, is this fine this way or is there something he could have done so that this map is OA-compliant and well made ?
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2011, 05:16:19 AM »

The map runs well in OA, but he should have used botclip to cover the complex brushes and give the map bot support this way. There's a lot of complex structure in there.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2011, 07:40:56 AM »

Tried the map, it's a bit "small" and may have been thought without strafejumping in mind, though there has been some care put on it.
Indeed I see why bots could be problematic on that map.
I suppose anyone can work on it and improve this, I'm not sure it would have success in multiplayer mode but could be good in single player.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2011, 08:08:59 AM »

Now that you mention it... perhaps those maps (such as czest1dm, some of the spacemaps and this one) which aren't accepted in MP should be left to SP only? We might even rescue older versions of official OA maps and put them as SP-only maps.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2011, 12:46:18 PM »

Great map, but i have open it with Q3Radiant 202 and it give me an error.

Here is a schreenshot of the error:



As you can see, there is a leak in the map.

Maybe this error appear only in Q3Radiant202, anyone else see this error ?

Bye.
Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2011, 01:15:30 PM »

That may explain why there's no AAS file.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2011, 02:56:48 PM »

Ok, i have fixed the map adding some polygons to cover the leak:



Really it isn't a true leak and this is the only system to fix the map.

Bye.
Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3775


Trickster God.


« Reply #21 on: March 17, 2011, 03:00:01 PM »

Yeap, I've found A LOT of mapping errors as well. I could name them all, but I'll resume it by writing that this map basically breaks each and every single rule about mapping.

Sad
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: