Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Connection problems in OA  (Read 6788 times)
adriano

Cakes 4

« on: August 26, 2010, 01:48:12 PM »

Hello all,

I hope you can help me to solve my problem. The problem is that when I play on a server in multiplayer, I get sometimes "Connection interrupt" for some seconds or for an instant. This make me really sad. Sad
Unfortunately I am newbie in connections things, so I describe you my connection:

Download: 7.940 kbit/s  (993 kByte/s)  
Upload: 551 kbit/s (69 kByte/s)
ping: 20.92ms

>My connection when I do nothing or surf in Firefox or something else (except OA):
Transfer Rate: 48-54 MBit/s
Signal strength: Very good (4 of 5 lines)

>My connection when I enter in a server of OA and do nothing else:
Transfer Rate: 36-54 MBit/s
Signal strength: low  (2 of 5 lines)

ping in OA: 30-50

How I said, I am a newbie in it....I thought that is has maybe something to do with ports...udp...tcp......so I entered (now) my ip in adress bar and so on and set this:

Before I did this, I removed my Comodo firewall and activated Win XP firewall and on firewall exception I added openarena ports  UDP and TCP, both 27960. I also tried to deactivate the firewall and try again playing in multiplayer but nothing changed. WHAT AND WHERE IS THE PROBLEM?Huh

I hope some of you guys can help me....
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 02:07:14 PM by adriano » Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot

Cakes 73

also banned for baiting another to violate rules

« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2010, 02:30:33 PM »

Hiya,

- It is not likely due to some ports issue.
- OA shouldn't use a large amount of bandwidth (considering rate = 25000bits/sec ?)