Poll
Question: Who want defrag servers back!
me - 7 (87.5%)
me not - 1 (12.5%)
Total Voters: 8

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: THERE IS NO Defrag servers anymore Bring it back!!!!!!!!!  (Read 10949 times)
matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« on: February 15, 2013, 01:13:23 PM »

Why there is no oa defrag servers anymore???  Cry
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
pelya
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 399


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2013, 02:52:36 PM »

Noob here.
What is a defrag server?
Logged
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2013, 05:13:44 PM »

Mod for OA.
Main goal is to finish a course like a horse @ military. Cheesy
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4382


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2013, 02:31:52 AM »

Well, it's a DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Mod]mod for DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Quake_III_Arena]Q3A that can be used in OA, too.
A few infos here:
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/ModCompat/DeFRaG

It's particular because you do not have to kill people, but to pass obstacles. That's not easy.  Smiley

Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2013, 08:23:14 AM »

WHY THERE IS NO DEFR SERVERS TELL ME NOW  Cry  Cry  Cry
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
pelya
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 399


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2013, 08:32:30 AM »

There are a lot of that kind of servers in Xonotic, so much it's hard to find a server with actual fights on it.
I suppose the have migrated somehow from OA. Poor Xonotic.
Logged
matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2013, 08:43:33 AM »

EHHEH Bro i played xonotix Defrag ,not bad but oa defrag its much better and more similar to q3
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2013, 12:56:28 PM »

Search for clan [NOOB].
They are dedicated to Defrag and should know which servers are ready to go.
Logged
matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2013, 03:32:52 PM »

where can i search for clan [NOOB],at least i have my friend z0rn but i dont know his email adress Wink
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2013, 03:38:57 AM »

This link could help:
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/OpenArena_Clan_Roster#Clan_list
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4382


WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2013, 12:50:05 AM »

where can i search for clan [NOOB],at least i have my friend z0rn but i dont know his email adress Wink
You may use the "Find Player" feature of [http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena dpmaster] to find a server where someone with the [NOOB] tag is playing... then connect to that server and chat with that player to ask infos...
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
PopeJo
Lesser Nub


Cakes 12
Posts: 105



WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2013, 02:51:05 AM »

just look in the serverlist:

http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena

there is still purples defrag server and it has been online a long time now:
+
176.9.47.113:27998
0/20
pornstar-slopin
DeFRaG
openmafia Purple Defrag

openmafia also runs a defrag fastcap server:
+
176.9.47.113:27999
0/14
ps37ctf
defrag
openmafia fastcaps

there has been a new defrag version lately, so maybe server owners implemented some changes. if one day all defrag servers in openarena should be gone, you can still use ioquake or iodfengine and play on the q3df servers.
Logged

matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2013, 03:36:32 AM »

Thanks bro ! Wink
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
pelya
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 399


WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2013, 09:22:38 AM »

Another noob question: Is strafe-jump working in OA? Strafe-jump is this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5RCwoy9d5s
I've got impression, from reading the code at OAX SVN, that the game normalizes moving vector, so that it does not matter if you're using joystick or WASD keys - you're moving with the same speed, regardless of whether it's forward or diagonal movement.
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4382


WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2013, 10:51:59 AM »

I don't know what the OAX gamecode says exactly, but AFAIK OpenArena inherited Strafe Jumping directly from the standard Quake 3.
If you try to do what is mentioned in that video, you should be able to reach speeds higher than 500 easily enough, providing that you have enough space.

See also:
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Manual/Techniques
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2013, 12:52:37 PM »

Another noob question: Is strafe-jump working in OA? Strafe-jump is this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5RCwoy9d5s
Strafe jumping is possible in OA, it is hard not to do on a map some angeled maps (like oasago2). The only thing that has been changed in OA is the frame rate dependent physics. The changes you have spotted in OAX is likely the frame rate things.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4382


WWW
« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2013, 03:00:44 AM »

About the three OA game physics modes (framerate dependent, fixed, accurate):
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Game_physics

I have no idea what Quake Live is using.
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Suicizer
Member
Member
*

Cakes 2
Posts: 401


WWW
« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2013, 05:13:17 AM »

Quote from: Gig link=topic=4728.msg46259#msg46259 date=13614g37244
About the three OA game physics modes (framerate dependent, fixed, accurate):
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Game_phys
I have no idea what Quake Live is using.

I once read Quake Live uses a similar system, but I'm not sure.
Logged

I'm good at everything but can't do anything...
MegaAIM
I DERAIL BY PLUGGING MY CHANNEL AND COMPLAIN THAT ITS REMOVED
Nub


Cakes -8
Posts: 32


Why shoot the corpse once, if theres 50 in my gun?


WWW
« Reply #18 on: March 13, 2013, 12:27:32 AM »

If anyone needs help defraging I can surely give some help or advice if you cant find [Noob]'s or Z0RN himself.

But they are way, way more experienced than me at defraging. Though I can help you on maps such as normal strafe/racing maps.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: