Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cannot access Custom Maps or OpenArena PHI servers  (Read 7433 times)
levelledout
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 7


« on: January 05, 2014, 12:19:30 AM »

Can anybody tell me if I need a mod and which one it is in order to access the Custom Maps and OpenArena PHI servers? I keep getting

Code:
CLIENT SERVER GAME MISMATCH: BASEOA-1/BASEQ3-1

This is with both the Debianised build of OA 0.88 and the official one.
Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3763


Trickster God.


« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2014, 06:48:05 AM »

What's the IP of the server?
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
levelledout
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2014, 07:44:01 AM »

What's the IP of the server?
Custom Maps 1: 184.82.19.112:29001
Custom Maps 2: 184.82.116.74:28356
OpenArena Phi++ Europe: 84.200.17.47:28356
OpenArena Phi++ USA: 184.82.19.112:28356

Get the same mismatch error with all of those. I have automatic downloading turned on by the way.
Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3763


Trickster God.


« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2014, 11:27:27 AM »

I'll take a look at these.

BTW, what other PK3 files aside of the official ones do you have in your baseoa directory?
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
grey matter
Member


Cakes 8
Posts: 381

>9k


« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2014, 11:51:21 AM »

You'll need to grab a copy of http://dl.dropbox.com/u/61891092/oaplus/vm1.pk3 and put it into oaplus/ in your homepath (~/.openarena/oaplus/vm1.pk3). Might not hurt to try with a clean install of OA.

FYI, http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena&server=84.200.17.47:28356 lists http://dl.dropbox.com/u/61891092 as sv_dlURL and oaplus/vm1.pk3 is the only autodownloaded file on my clean installation, so this is where my advice comes from Smiley
If you want to double check, unzip vm1.pk3 and grep vm/cgame.qvm for BASEQ3-1.

If that does not help, try asking in http://www.dkfurious.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=11 since dkfurious.com is announced when joining the server.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 11:57:50 AM by grey matter » Logged

This space is for rent.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3763


Trickster God.


« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2014, 12:00:10 PM »

It seems that the Custom Maps servers are IoQ3 servers, not OA servers.

EDIT: The OpenArena Phi++ work well, at least for me.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 12:04:05 PM by Neon_Knight » Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
levelledout
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2014, 09:48:39 AM »

You'll need to grab a copy of http://dl.dropbox.com/u/61891092/oaplus/vm1.pk3 and put it into oaplus/ in your homepath (~/.openarena/oaplus/vm1.pk3). Might not hurt to try with a clean install of OA.

FYI, http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena&server=84.200.17.47:28356 lists http://dl.dropbox.com/u/61891092 as sv_dlURL and oaplus/vm1.pk3 is the only autodownloaded file on my clean installation, so this is where my advice comes from Smiley
If you want to double check, unzip vm1.pk3 and grep vm/cgame.qvm for BASEQ3-1.

If that does not help, try asking in http://www.dkfurious.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=11 since dkfurious.com is announced when joining the server.
Thanks that worked a treat for the PHI++ servers, just out of interest how come the master server still picks up the Custom Maps servers if they are IoQ3? I don't know how the servers communicate with the master server, whether they announce themselves or whether they are picked up some other way.
Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3763


Trickster God.


« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2014, 10:06:38 AM »

It seems that recently the Dpmaster servers have been counting servers for games which aren't OpenArena or any of it's mods. There was even a server for MFArena! Somehow I guess they've modified whatever they had to modify to change the protocol to match the same one as current OA versions from 0.8.1 onwards.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
levelledout
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2014, 08:30:18 PM »

Ok thanks for the info and your help with this.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: