Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Skybox problem?  (Read 11434 times)
matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« on: February 21, 2014, 01:24:36 pm »

I started mapping since 4 months ago and i really like it, i mapped all kinds of maps  Defrag, FFA, CTF.
But i never put skybox in it. When i put skybox on radiant it wont have light (maybe its shaders?) and its like 500 skyboxes in one grid. I really need some help.

Thank you! Cheesy
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2014, 01:32:37 pm »

Witch type of Radiant ?
I mean: Q3Radiant - GTKradiant - NETradiant ?

First of all you have to make your personal shader for the skybox, or take one from OA original and modify it as you want.

Like this:

matija_sky.shader

Quote
textures/matija_sky
{
   qer_editorimage textures/matija_sky.tga
   surfaceparm noimpact
   surfaceparm nolightmap
   q3map_globaltexture
   q3map_lightsubdivide 256
   q3map_surfacelight 145
   surfaceparm sky
   q3map_sun   1 1 1 32   90 90
   skyparms textures/env/matija_sky - -

}

Remember that you have to place the .shader file in scripts folder.
Also you have to edit the shaderlist.txt in script folder and add the line matija_sky

Wink
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 02:08:05 pm by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 01:50:24 pm »

ParseShaderFile(): scripts/matija_sky.shader, line 31: { not found!
Found instead: e
Last known shader: t 


Error
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2014, 02:07:47 pm »

Whoops  Tongue

I've forgot to specify something:

In textures/ENV folder you have to place the skybox images:

matija_sky_dn.jpg
matija_sky_rt.jpg
matija_sky_ft.jpg
matija_sky_rt.jpg
matija_sky_dn.jpg
matija_sky_bk.jpg


P.S.: You don't ask me what type of Radiant you are using.

Download the attachment.

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2014, 02:09:53 pm »

Can you upload the shader file? That sounds like a syntax problem.
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2014, 02:17:44 pm »

textures/matija_sky
{
   qer_editorimage textures/matija_sky.tga
   surfaceparm noimpact
   surfaceparm nolightmap
   q3map_globaltexture
   q3map_lightsubdivide 256
   q3map_surfacelight 145
   surfaceparm sky
   q3map_sun   1 1 1 32   90 90
   skyparms textures/env/matija_sky - -
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2014, 02:20:19 pm »

textures/matija_sky
{
   qer_editorimage textures/matija_sky.tga
   surfaceparm noimpact
   surfaceparm nolightmap
   q3map_globaltexture
   q3map_lightsubdivide 256
   q3map_surfacelight 145
   surfaceparm sky
   q3map_sun   1 1 1 32   90 90
   skyparms textures/env/matija_sky - -


You miss a "}" or it's just a typing error ?

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2014, 02:23:04 pm »

Typing error. But } is in shader file but wont work :/
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2014, 02:24:57 pm »

@Neon_Knight: what do you think ? The shader must be right, because it's the same of oa_suicizer. But i don't know what type of Radiant matija123  is using  Huh

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2014, 02:34:07 pm »

I'm using 1.4.0
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2014, 02:40:04 pm »

I'm using 1.4.0

Uhm, GTKradiant 1.4.0. In that case i can't help you, i'm using Q3Radiant202 Tongue

I hope Neon_Knight (or another mapper/user) can help you.

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



matija123
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 63



« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2014, 02:45:22 pm »

Hmm, ok then Cheesy
Logged

“If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.”
― Mark Twain
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 48
Posts: 4237


WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2014, 04:10:09 am »

Majita, the error message you posted above mentioned "line 31", but the code you showed us is much less than 31 lines. Could you please post/upload the whole .shader file?

Quote
When i put skybox on radiant it wont have light (maybe its shaders?) and its like 500 skyboxes in one grid.
About the first part, maybe it was a shader file missing from your scripts/shaderlist.txt? (Note: in shaderlist.txt, shader files have to be mentioned without folder and file extension)? About the second part, maybe your sky shader is being used as a "standard" sky instead of as a "skybox"?

Our work-in-progess mapping manual does not yet have infos about that, and I never did a "skybox" before. So, I'm just guessing. (Note: Even the glossary of terms does not mention what a Skybox is. Neon_Knight, could you plase write a few words about it there?)

Look at the first screenshot. I think this is a "standard" sky: with /r_showtris 1, you can see the sky appearing as a "grid" of polygons, and it is possible to guess the shape of the invisible "walls" containing the sky shader.

Look at the second screenshot. This map seems adapt to have a "skybox", but with r_showtris, again we see the "grid" of polygons. So, did maybe standard sky have been used, even if the effect resembles a skybox? Does this affect rendering speed? I don't know. Is this considered a "skybox"? I don't know.

Look at the third screenshot. This time, looking at the sky, there is no "grid" shown. Even the edges of the brushes which enclose the map for outer void are not shown by r_showtris, this time! I can guess this is a proper "skybox". How does this work exactly? I don't know.
I think skybox usage includes creating specific images for each side of the "box", giving them specific suffixes (_up, _dn, etc. such as mysky1_up, mysky1_dn, etc.), but the whole process is still unclear to me. I'd really like to better understand.

I'm not even sure there about how many different kinds of "skyboxes" are possible...
Searching for some documentation, I found this stuff:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/GtkRadiant/Skyportals
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Q3Map2#skybox --> http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Q3Map2#skybox_tutorial
From which seems there are ways to create a sort of "small box" which textures will be "ported" (enlarged) to the real map. But there are things I don't understand... e.g. why do they say to create some more geometry into the box?

Some other documentation about sky shaders in general:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/GtkRadiant/Creating_sky_shaders
http://toolz.nexuizninjaz.com/shader/shader/section3.htm#3.1

PS: GTK Radiant 1.5 can work with OA, too, while for GTK Radiant 1.6 I fear there is no OA pack yet...
« Last Edit: February 22, 2014, 04:15:47 am by Gig » Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
andrewj
Member


Cakes 23
Posts: 571



« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2014, 05:04:21 am »

The shader Akom74 posted is incomplete, it has no stages.

For example, the indented { } block in the example below is a "stage".
Stages say what to draw and how to draw it.
Every shader needs at least one stage.

Code:
skyIsland_water
{
        surfaceparm nolightmap
        {
                map $whiteimage
                rgbGen const ( 0.0 0.1 0.3 )
        }
}
Logged
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2014, 05:21:41 am »

The shader Akom74 posted is incomplete, it has no stages.

For example, the indented { } block in the example below is a "stage".
Stages say what to draw and how to draw it.
Every shader needs at least one stage.

Code:
skyIsland_water
{
        surfaceparm nolightmap
        {
                map $whiteimage
                rgbGen const ( 0.0 0.1 0.3 )
        }
}


Don't know what to tell you, it's the same shader (simplified) of oa_suicizer:

Quote
textures/akom_sky3/suicizer
{
   qer_editorimage textures/akom_sky3/suicizer.tga
   surfaceparm noimpact
   surfaceparm nolightmap
   q3map_globaltexture
   q3map_lightsubdivide 256
   q3map_surfacelight 145
   surfaceparm sky
   q3map_sun   1 1 1 32   90 90
   skyparms textures/akom_env3/suicizer/suicizer - -
   {
      map textures/acc_dm3/portal_fog.jpg
      blendfunc filter
      tcmod scale 3 3
      tcmod scroll .1 .03
      rgbgen identity
   }
   {
      map textures/acc_dm3/portal_fog.jpg
      blendfunc filter
      tcmod scale 2 2
      tcmod scroll .1 .05
      rgbgen identity
   }
   {
      map textures/acc_dm3/portal_fog.jpg
      blendfunc filter
      tcmod scale 1 1
      tcmod scroll .1 .08
      rgbgen identity
   }
}

Maybe i've forgot something ? ... Huh Tongue

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2014, 03:35:26 pm »

I can't modify my previous message, so i insert the correct stuff here:

Quote
matija_sky_dn
matija_sky_rt
matija_sky_ft
matija_sky_lf
matija_sky_up
matija_sky_bk

In the previous message i was wrong writing _dn and _rt twice, sorry.

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



*Ruthless*
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 81



« Reply #16 on: March 11, 2014, 01:40:05 pm »

matija123, where are your maps located? I love to get familiar with maps from people who take time to make them.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: