Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to create a dedicated server--!!! solved =)  (Read 14091 times)
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« on: July 03, 2007, 01:13:05 PM »

HI, i was trying to crate a dedicated server, but i really dont know too much about codes and programming, so please, could someone give me a code list to create my server?Huh
I was looking for it and i found this:

* I created a .bat file :  server.bat

ioquake3.x86.exe +set dedicated 2 +exec server.cfg




* And a .cfg file, this one:   server.cfg



g_gametype 0

fraglimit 20

timelimit 0

sv_maxclients 20

sv_hostname "DFNP -ISHYR-"

g_motd "BIENVENIDOS A MI SRVIDOR, ALGO COMUN PERO BUENO, VISITA www.openarena.es #OpenArena"

sv_privateClients 0

sv_pure 1

sv_maxRate 10000

set d1 "map OA_RPG3DM2 ; set nextmap vstr d2"

set d2 "map AGGRESSOR ; set nextmap vstr d3"

set d3 "map DM6ISH ; set nextmap vstr d4"

set d4 "map KAOS ; set nextmap vstr d5"

set d5 "map DM4ISH ; set nextmap vstr d6"

set d6 "map CBCTF1 ; set nextmap vstr d1"

vstr d1

g_weaponrespawn 5

g_allowvote 1

g_quadfactor 3




*after I execute the .bat file i see this..::

___________________________________________________
Hitch warning: 6534334 msec frame time
broadcast: print "Server: g_quadfactor changed to 3\n"
broadcast: print "Server: g_weaponrespawn changed to 5\n"
Resolving dpmaster.deathmask.net
dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Hitch warning: 626 msec frame time
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net



*i don't know what do i have to do after that..!!!!!!

***please someone tell me what to do...?...

thx..! Grin
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 03:51:48 AM by davismael » Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
Czestmyr
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 87


Member, Player, Mapper


« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2007, 01:21:24 PM »

I think that this is what it is supposed to do. The "problem" with the dedicated server is, that you don't see the game, unless you let it run in the background and then run Openarena again and connect to your new server.
Logged

Jabber ID: Czestmyr (rolled-herring-sign) jabber.cz
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2007, 07:48:00 PM »

THX BUT NO, I ALREADY TRIED THAT, AND MY SERVER DIDN'T APPERAR WHILE I RAN THE GAME...

THX Czestmyr

ANOTHER OPTION?HuhHuh??
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
Keet
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 76


"Violent, stingy, schizophrenic..."


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2007, 01:34:06 AM »

um, maybe try "sv_lan 0"? (probably a stupid answer--I only know it works for the HL games, not sure about Quake 3 but I think it should be similar, but could be why it's not showing up online...unless you mean it doesn't show up in lan games either, then I don't know the problem)

edit: hmm...I don't think it is a variable for Q3/OA...then again, I have no idea, and barely know much of the server variables anyways...

Edit 2:

Yeah, don't pay attention to the above (playing too much HL2/DM), I don't think sv_lan is a console variable in Quake 3--let alone OA (correct me if I'm wrong though). But is your problem that you can't see your server in the online server list? I think it might just be on there. Next time after you start up your server, check the DPMaster server list to see if your server appears on there (it's at http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena ). And (please don't tell me you haven't tried this), have you tried scrolling down to further expand the list of servers? It might be located somewhere in that pile of servers somewhere.

I think I'll do more looking around though before I give a true intelligent answer to this though =P
« Last Edit: July 04, 2007, 01:43:49 AM by Keet » Logged

Pronouns are evil!

"Violent, stingy, schizophrenic... It sounds... like me!" ~~B.B. Hood

hyp3rfocus
Guest
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2007, 06:32:45 AM »

not related to setting up a server, but informative none the less...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caps_lock
Logged
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2007, 07:34:11 AM »

well. jeje, of course keet, I looked 4 my server in all the servers list.... Grin
 and also in the link you provided me, but i can't see my server. :@

it's supposed (<-- is that right? Grin) tht my server name is "DFNP -ishyr-" right?? so, i can't find it....!!!

I can't find an error...

something else, in the http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena , the list finish when the ping is 229, and my ping is higher, could that be a reason...? Huh

---***wait... after hours of headache, this appears in to my command box:::*****


Hitch warning: 35257699 msec frame time
Resolving dpmaster.deathmask.net
dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
Sending heartbeat to dpmaster.deathmask.net
ime


**that's because i'm already in?HuhHuh (please tell me yes..)

= but still without find my server... :|

***help....***!!!!!


Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
Keet
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 76


"Violent, stingy, schizophrenic..."


WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2007, 08:33:42 PM »

A normal server does send "heartbeats" to its master server (which is DPMaster)

I think if it can't connect, it should say so though. When I run a dedicated server, it says pretty much something like that, and it shows up.

(more research time...)
Logged

Pronouns are evil!

"Violent, stingy, schizophrenic... It sounds... like me!" ~~B.B. Hood

<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2007, 11:25:57 PM »

hey Keet, look, i'm gonna try to run my OA console and wait until my server works... i guess it's the only thing left....

please answer me sthg, what does this means.Huh

Error: counldn't load syn.c

is that important..??'?

what is that for??

thx...!!! Grin
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2007, 08:01:51 PM »

well, i'm really mad....

Could somebody guide me step by step to create a dedicated server..Huh please... Grin  keet?? leileilol? dmn_clown?? someone?Huh

i would like to start from the begining... i really dont know too much about programing, but i do understand, and, obviously i can't speek english PERFECTLY..!!! so, please give me a hand, i really like this game and i'm telling everyone i know to play it... i also type always in the game "visit: www.openarena.es", because i think people who doesnt speak english should know more about OA.... Grin although that web site is really abandoned...!!!

please someone tell me how to create a dedicated server... please...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
Czestmyr
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 87


Member, Player, Mapper


« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2007, 01:21:24 AM »

Another thing:
Do you have a firewall and is it properly configured? Because I had difficulties creating a server myself. It also didn't appear in the server list, but otherwise, everything was ok. Check rules for TCP and UDP ranges 29750-29760

Also, you say you weren't able to connect to your server. Try this, just to be sure, that at least your dedicated server is running correctly:
Run the dedicated server and let it run in the background.
Try to connect to your server locally. That is, connect to server 127.0.0.1 on your port (should be 29760) and see, whether the game is at least running. If you can connect this way, then the problem is somewhere between you and the master server - probably even the firewall.

P.S.: You might want to download the 0.7 version of the game. It has more maps, player models and uses a newer version of the game engine.
P.P.S: Don't shout here please (!!!!!!!!), it won't help you get more answers and it will only get us pissed. This applies to any other forum on the internet.
Logged

Jabber ID: Czestmyr (rolled-herring-sign) jabber.cz
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2007, 09:06:32 PM »

ok, thanks Czestmyr..!! I'll take all the recomendations..

and, well, I can connect to my server using the adress: 127.0.0.1 (27960), yes, I guess its another port. "27960".. it works.

but when I check out the server list on http://dpmaster.deathmask.net/?game=openarena, my server isn't there..  then I notice that in my OpenArena Console this appears,

                      dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950

so, I tried to connect with that direction from other pc, but, it didn't work.

about the Firewall, it's dissabled, and my internet connection is not locked. (allouds other pc's connection)

then, I saw in my server, (when I was playing) this address.. 10.0.0.3:27960
Do u think, I should try to connect from other pc using that address???

thanks.. There's olnly one step left-..
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
Czestmyr
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 87


Member, Player, Mapper


« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2007, 01:36:39 AM »

10.0.0.3 is your local network address. You can try connecting to your server from the other computer, but that should definitely work, when 127.0.0.1 worked.

I suggest resolving your IP address, for example here: http://whatsmyip.org/ and trying to connect to that address. Hmmm, maybe you're behind a NAT and that may be the problem. I'm not sure if you can create a game server if you don't possess a public IP address.

Unfortunately the final step is the hardest one.
Logged

Jabber ID: Czestmyr (rolled-herring-sign) jabber.cz
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2007, 06:59:16 PM »

no way..!!! It's done..!! Czestmyr, thank you so much for your time and your help.
My server works now.. thanks all for your time and your help...!! Grin
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2007, 01:48:27 PM »

hi, it's me again.

Recently I changed my DSL with another DSL but with two ports, so I guess (if I'm not wrong) that's creating a double IP, and when I start my server it works but just for the other computer connected in the same DSL and for me. Now these appears..

-In my OA server console:
  dpmaster.deathmask.net resolved to 64.22.107.125:27950   (IP= 64.22.107.125 ; Port= 27950) right??

-In my server, when I am playing this:
  connecting to... 10.0.0.3 : 27950

-And in the website Czestmyr provided me I saw my IP like:
  190.31.21.122

my firewall allowds the OA connection so that's not a problem. is there some way to configure my DSL.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2007, 01:54:15 PM by davismael » Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2007, 01:49:42 AM »

Never worked, any way, thanks to all for your time and help. Cheesy
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
beast
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 142



« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2007, 02:19:38 AM »

Even though your firewall is disabled, this is not enough since your machine exists behind a router. (This is evidenced by the fact that you have multiple machines sharing an internet connection.) You need to forward the port to the machine that is running the server. Without port forwarding, your local machines will connect fine, but the server will not show up in the master server list. If you need more information on port forwarding, there's a ton of info out there. Try visiting http://www.portforward.com and see if that helps. If you can't find anything that helps, post your hardware configuration here and I'll try to help you out. (DSL modem type, any other routers/etc on your net, etc.)

Good luck...

[update]
Here's another link that explains a little about the goings on... http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=177
[/update]

[update2]
In case anyone references this later, I thought I would clarify. Without the port forwarded, your server can still show up in the master list, but no one will be able to join it. You must have dedicated set to 2 (+dedicated 2) to make the server communicate with the master server. Without setting dedicated to 2, your server will not show up in the master server list even with your port forwarded. So, in a nutshell, dedicated 2 gets your server in the master list, port forwarded gets players into your server. Hope this helps to explain a little better.
[/update2]
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 01:53:13 PM by theBeast » Logged
<< ME >>
i claim to be leilol and i think every forum is a public and free speech venue
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 230


0Wn ME iF yOu Can!!!


« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2007, 03:50:48 AM »

Man, really, thank you sooo much..!! Really.
Finally I did it, my own server... well now Im gonna make some things on it, if u wanna play this is the address 190.30.115.86:27960
but of course maybe tomorrow, I need to fix some things its gonna be a CTF server..

Thanks again dude.. Grin
Logged

"uh.. FREE SPEECH?? does it make any sense to you??
Deleting posts and locking topics is just the same as banning"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: