Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem with Open Arena  (Read 25947 times)
Color
Nub

Cakes 0

« on: June 21, 2013, 12:25:53 AM »

Hello!
I played Open Arena long ago and recently decided to come back and play again..

But I'm having a lot of trouble with Open Arena. I'm playing it on 32bit Windows 7 and here's some issues that happen..

- Computer freezes, monitor shows green and pink pixels and textures glitch, sound glitches too and sounds like a dubstep song - it started happening at same time when I started playing OA (like 5 days ago) and it was happening really often every 5-10 minutes, it was happening only when I was playing OA. However now I see some green and pink pixels even though I'm not playing OA (but the PC isn't freezing), could it be that OA screwed something up for me ?  Cry

I thought it could be a driver issue, so I updated my driver even though the drivers didn't need update.. But that didn't help
So I googled the problem and some people said it could be caused by over heating - and to fix it I need to clean the dust from my PC, I cleaned dust from my PC but the problem is still happening..
in event viewer it says critical error: Kernal Power

- Lag spikes and connection crashes.. On every server I keep getting connection interrupted which lasts few seconds every few minutes and after some time my connection crashes (I share the connection on 2 PCs)..
When I'm not playing OA connection doesn't crash..

For the first problem I was told it could be cfg files causing the problem, so I uninstalled OA (0.8.1 since 0.8.8 didn't want to run last time I dled it) then I downloaded 0.8.8 today, and I was playing it for a bit - no lag nor freezing, until some point where the PC instantly shut down together with the router.. I feel like it's caused by OA since this stuff doesn't happen to me when I'm not playing OA.. After that shut down I'm afraid to open Open Arena since I feel like it might shut down again.. forever  Roll Eyes