Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [BUG] 0.7.1 Patch (KAOS2) - HUNK_ALLOCATETEMPMEMORY: FAILED ON 16777224  (Read 6301 times)
Danny
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« on: August 25, 2007, 05:55:43 am »

The new patch causes an error to be thrown up after the KAOS2 loading screen.

HUNK_ALLOCATETEMPMEMORY: FAILED ON 16777224

This doesn't occur without the 0.7.1 patch and I have also tried redownloading from a different mirror, so it's not a corrupt file.

At a quick glance it seems this only happens on KAOS2. I have tried this in both single player, and skirmish.

Thanks,
Danny.
Kubuntu 7.04
Logged
next_ghost
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 76


« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2007, 06:51:46 am »

Try increasing com_hunkmegs.
Logged
Danny
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2007, 07:10:26 am »

Changing from the default 64 to 128 worked.
Maybe the default should be changed?

Thanks
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2007, 09:06:46 am »

I haven't heard that increasing hunkMegs should be required for kaos2, and I haven't had the problems myself either. Do you get the same error when loading the map without bots? 64, or even 54, should be enough for Open Arena to run smoothly if you're not using any custom maps.
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


next_ghost
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 76


« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2007, 09:13:27 am »

I can confirm that 0.7.1 KAOS2 works even with com_hunkmegs 56.
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2007, 03:46:03 pm »

What about people with custom player models? Do they also use the hunkmegs? Weapons models etc.?

Can there be difference on different architectures?
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2007, 03:54:20 pm »

What about people with custom player models? Do they also use the hunkmegs? Weapons models etc.?

Can there be difference on different architectures?
Normally it would be 2 mb allocated/model, that could be a reason for the crashes if the system is low on memory.
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


Danny
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2007, 07:31:18 am »

I have no custom models, etc. This is a fresh install. I have 2GB of RAM.

I can confirm that simply executing the command "map kaos2" works fine with hunkmegs 64.

Also, this problem exists with czest1dm and dm4ish in single player mode, giving the same number after "FAILED ON"...

Thanks,
Danny.

EDIT: If I go into skirmish on FFA the problem still exists, unless I either remove Kyonshi or Grism or (Raid and Dark). OA_RPG3DM2 works with the default bots, but if I change them to the KAOS2 bots I get the same error message. KAOS2 works in team deathmatch mode with the default bots.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 10:04:02 am by Danny » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: