Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Create ladders?  (Read 15001 times)
Dave
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 29


« on: December 03, 2007, 03:59:54 PM »

I want to create a ladder, but I cannot seem to locate anything to make a ladder with within GTKRadiant.

Any help would be great!
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2007, 04:13:33 PM »

open dm4ish and see how that ladder was done.
Logged

Taiyo.uk
Half-Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 63


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2007, 11:29:37 PM »

There should be a ladder shader in textures/common.

Create your ladder geometry using brushes, patches, models, etc. then create a ladder brush over the ladder geometry.
Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2007, 01:01:16 AM »

q3a did not have a ladder shader.

we will not have a ladder shader.
Logged

steauengeglase
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 34



« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2007, 08:20:54 AM »

Was it RtCW that introduced that?
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2007, 11:16:00 AM »

Elite Force also had a ladder shader
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 636


Shoot him..


« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2007, 02:00:09 PM »

& Soldier Of Fortune 2: Double Helix
Logged
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2007, 02:40:39 PM »

Quake 2 had ladders. Tongue
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
pulchr
Member


Cakes 34
Posts: 625



WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2007, 01:44:12 AM »

most important! donkey kong had ladders:

Logged
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2007, 02:42:19 AM »

No, no, no, no, no, no, and no.  In case that wasn't clear, no.
Logged

iLeft.bye
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 187



« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2007, 03:41:55 AM »

rage will have ladders
Logged
steauengeglase
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 34



« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2007, 08:40:20 AM »

Quake 2 had ladders. Tongue
I had completely forgotten. Man it has been so long since I last played Q2.
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2007, 08:54:05 AM »

q3 doesn't have bloom or ladders, but it has bouncy pads..
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14520



WWW
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2007, 09:55:56 AM »

It could have been worse. Quake4 doesn't have water.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
dmn_clown
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 1
Posts: 1324


« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2007, 12:40:47 PM »

yeah, but I don't want to support a fork of q3map2 (the only way adding surfaceparm ladder will work).
Logged

cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #15 on: December 09, 2007, 03:20:39 AM »

Quote
I had completely forgotten. Man it has been so long since I last played Q2.
Games tend to have less and less good gameplay features but better graphics instead. Sad
On the other hand, no Arena-style game should have ladders. Jumppads serve this purpose better. Imagine the best tournament maps are those with much vertical action. You would spend most of your time climbing ladders. Boring!
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
pulchr
Member


Cakes 34
Posts: 625



WWW
« Reply #16 on: December 09, 2007, 05:29:57 AM »

yes, but imagine a openarena remake of this level:

awesome? Tongue
Logged
w1zrd
Member


Cakes 2
Posts: 582


Give to life what you expect back


WWW
« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2007, 07:15:22 AM »

yes, but imagine a openarena remake of this level:

awesome? Tongue
Is that the CTF map you are secretly working on? Smiley
Logged

'Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.'


pulchr
Member


Cakes 34
Posts: 625



WWW
« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2007, 07:36:15 AM »

Quote
Is that the CTF map you are secretly working on? Smiley

no, but that might be a great dm-map
this is my idea for ctf:

it's already mirrored!

edit: broken link
« Last Edit: December 10, 2007, 07:39:04 AM by pulchr » Logged
Gerbil
Member


Cakes -2
Posts: 308


not so strong


« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2007, 08:11:46 AM »

have a ladder texture by a wall, but a bounce pad right beside it. or you could just do the bounce pad. or you could do a series of boxes leading up(increasing the usefullness of rocket jumping Wink)

Quote
I had completely forgotten. Man it has been so long since I last played Q2.
On the other hand, no Arena-style game should have ladders. Jumppads serve this purpose better. Imagine the best tournament maps are those with much vertical action. You would spend most of your time climbing ladders. Boring!
thats why the ladder would be a jump pad in disguise Smiley

most important! donkey kong had ladders:


I agree
Logged

Quote from: sploosh
there once was an animal called gerbil
he dreamed he was eating his turtle
he awoke with a frieght
in the middle of the night
to find out that he was a squirtle
ailmanki
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 17


« Reply #20 on: December 22, 2007, 10:16:46 AM »

for the 2d style, its possible in rtcw:et, so I suppose its possible in oa too ? Cheesy
Logged
iLeft.bye
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 187



« Reply #21 on: December 22, 2007, 10:57:06 AM »

yeah, but I don't want to support a fork of q3map2 (the only way adding surfaceparm ladder will work).
does tremulous need a custom q3map2?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: