Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: April 15th 2008  (Read 37371 times)
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« on: March 19, 2008, 10:24:09 am »

So… Am I missing something?

I see that "PRESSURING DEADLINE FOR NEXT VERSION" warning but… what should we have in the next version?
There is something ready? Something established?
I' d like to ship the mac version with the others this time, for 0.7 we had some last time problems that prevented that…
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 10:25:48 am »

There was an issue with OA having no deadlines set for 0.8.0 so I put one there.

Missionpack probably won't make it :/
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 10:35:05 am »

pardon me, but aren't you supposed to be "retired"? O_o
No offense intended: if you're coming back i'll be happy!

So, we haven't something ready at all, right?

What could be included?

-Missionpack: not ready…

-New/enhanced maps?
-New/enhanced skins?

-Enhancements to the engine (apart the ioq3 ones there was something added in these monts?)?

i'm updating my svn now to see what comes out…
Logged
misantropia
Nub


Cakes 3
Posts: 16


« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 02:53:52 pm »

What are (code wise) the things that need fixing the most?
Logged
Snickersnack
Member


Cakes 1
Posts: 196


obnoxious OA fan


« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2008, 03:52:27 pm »

Openarena is better with fromhell than without. Sad

I don't know how authorative it is but there's a roadmap with a v0.8 todo list on the wiki.
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Roadmap
Logged
escapedturkey
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 49


« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2008, 04:00:57 pm »

What are (code wise) the things that need fixing the most?

Is this an offer? Smiley

http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=1621.0
Logged

jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2008, 04:18:49 pm »

Openarena is better with fromhell than without. Sad

sure.

Quote
I don't know how authorative it is but there's a roadmap with a v0.8 todo list on the wiki.
(DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Roadmap
ya, that roadmap…

Quote
Focus on "missionpack" project (i.e. put missionpack entities in existing CTF maps, make team symbols, UI etc)
will not be, right?
Quote
The following weapons will be remodeled (old models will still appear in the attic):
Gauntlet
Machine Gun
Shotgun
Rocket Launcher
Plasma Gun
Chain Gun

done? (still updating the svn, no idea…)

Quote
Port Tremulous's particle system to cgame code for special effectsry that can be optional for client (So we can get rid of the fake fillrate eating sparks and other fake things)
i suspect that's not ready yet…right?
Quote
color1 should change railgun wall mark, not color2
rail beam discs should return
sorry… no idea on the meaning… :-(

maybe a 0.7.5 release would be a better idea if this is the situation and we _must_ release next month (must we?)…

What are (code wise) the things that need fixing the most?

Is this an offer? Smiley

http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=1621.0
it could be…
but someone has to write the code…

Logged
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2008, 07:56:20 am »

i'm finally taking a look at the latest svn…

what version of the source code will be used for the next release? not the "experimental-oa" one, right?
i request also to use at least revision 1238 of ioq3, since that would made mac compiling easier…
Logged
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2008, 08:56:10 am »

trying to build the "experimental-oa source"…

there is something strange in "net_ip.c", line 758: "OSIOCGIFADDR" in latest ioq3 source is  "SIOCGIFADDR". with OSIOCGIFADDR it doesn't build on my mac.
Code:
code/qcommon/net_ip.c: In function ‘NET_GetLocalAddress’:
code/qcommon/net_ip.c:758: error: ‘OSIOCGIFADDR’ undeclared (first use in this function)
code/qcommon/net_ip.c:758: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
code/qcommon/net_ip.c:758: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[2]: *** [build/release-darwin-ppc/ded/net_ip.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [targets] Error 2
make: *** [release] Error 2


Logged
misantropia
Nub


Cakes 3
Posts: 16


« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2008, 09:26:55 am »

A typo perhaps? SIOCGIFADDR is the correct flag.
Logged
misantropia
Nub


Cakes 3
Posts: 16


« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2008, 09:31:51 am »

I'd rather work on issues that are on the road map, but I agree that it is a good feature. Talking about road maps:
Quote
rail beam discs should return
What does this mean?
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2008, 09:47:06 am »

Quote
rail beam discs should return
What does this mean?
Up until Q3 1.30 there were 'discs' that appeared in the railgun beam.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2008, 10:55:00 am »

A typo perhaps? SIOCGIFADDR is the correct flag.
i thought so…

Quote
rail beam discs should return
What does this mean?
Up until Q3 1.30 there were 'discs' that appeared in the railgun beam.
and they're no longer there?

continuing on the build…

in "sdl_input.c":
Code:
#include <drivers/event_status_driver.h>
the ioq3 one is:
Code:
#include <IOKit/hidsystem/event_status_driver.h>
with the oa one i get:
Code:
CC code/sdl/sdl_input.c
code/sdl/sdl_input.c:47:39: error: IOKit/event_status_driver.h: No such file or directory
code/sdl/sdl_input.c:222: warning: function declaration isn’t a prototype
make[2]: *** [build/release-darwin-ppc/client/sdl_input.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [targets] Error 2
make: *** [release] Error 2
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2008, 10:51:00 am »

Well without anyone being able to commit to SVN it is a little hard to know how far we are so far.

I have these comments/wishes to the next version:

I don't consider missionpack that important or more precise I don't think pushing a quick missionpack GUI together in no time is a good idea.

Since no commits have happened some of my points might already have been addressed.

Maps:
Some of the maps in SVN have gotten some of the weapons replaced with missionpack ones. That is unfortunately as the maps are now missing a lot of weapons in standard gameplay. Standard weapons will need to return for a while.

There has been a lot of maps lately, more maps are more fun, so some more should be included.

Re texturing of maps such as spirit3t3 and spirit3ctfduel1

Models:
More models, more fun. I have seen on the IRC that some work are done in this area.

I don't know anything about modelling but I don't think any of the current models are so bad that they need to be removed.

Code:
What ioquake3 version are we aiming for? I can see jackoverfull suggests 1238 or newer.

What about the expanded or experimental QVMs?


Who are looking into what?
I personally believe that we will have enough content to make a meaningful 0.8.0 release 15th of April.

It is just putting it together...

EDIT 1:
Just cleared something on IRC
« Last Edit: March 30, 2008, 12:30:05 pm by sago007 » Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 637


Shoot him..


« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2008, 12:12:25 pm »

What's happening?
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2008, 07:45:09 am »

I just checked out 1288 from SVN. It appears to work fine.

The only real enchantment I noticed was that it now detects possible screen resolutions, so you can select anything your screen supports from the gui. Unfortunately they did come in a weird order on my system but it could be great for widescreen users.

If nobody else is doing it... I don't mind applying OA patches to it.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2008, 09:56:47 am »

0.8.0 aka the missionpack edition will be on august. This month may see 0.7.6.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
jackoverfull
Member


Cakes 14
Posts: 385


Member


WWW
« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2008, 03:39:47 pm »

why "6"?
Logged
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 62
Posts: 1664


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2008, 03:45:08 pm »

why "6"?

0.7.1 plus a half... I don't know.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
skankychicken
Lesser Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 115


OpenArena 1.0.0 - /cg_roaminganimals 1 ; /cg_flipf


« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2008, 07:20:50 am »

oh the disks.. is that the segment length thing which i have set to 90 Cheesy arent these the same things that are in corkscrew mod?
Logged
BRS
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 18


[cocking gun], heh hehe heh..


WWW
« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2008, 01:25:56 pm »

When will the networking ever be updated?

I hate the fact that you have to upload your maps to a site just so others dont have to wait 30mins to download your self created levels.

The ingame uploader/downloader needs to be faster.

Why cant you make it where if people mod their models... others can see it?

I am a pak hacker and the only way that people would be able to see my models is if I sent them my paks.
I modded sergie so he has merman's head(blue), gargoyle's body(blue) and sergies legs(looks fricken sweet).

One suggestion would be to add 2 commands into the console for changing upper and lower md3's on your characters. (like uppermodel and lowermodel) just like you got headmodel.

Brings new life to the possibilties of your models.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2008, 01:27:58 pm by BRS » Logged

Get games 1/3 of cost  https://www.g2a.com/r/brsg2a
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 34
Posts: 14512



WWW
« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2008, 01:35:26 pm »

One suggestion would be to add 2 commands into the console for changing upper and lower md3's on your characters. (like uppermodel and lowermodel) just like you got headmodel.

animation.cfg says no
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
BRS
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 18


[cocking gun], heh hehe heh..


WWW
« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2008, 01:41:14 pm »

That sucks thanks for update though. I'll just leave it how i got it animated or not. still looks cool. Its animated for me(animation.cfg would have to be rewritten? something I havent done), but i guess not for others(with modded paks of course)? Idk, I'll just pass out my paks to others I guess..

 How about the networking upgrade?
« Last Edit: April 07, 2008, 01:53:13 pm by BRS » Logged

Get games 1/3 of cost  https://www.g2a.com/r/brsg2a
kit89
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 637


Shoot him..


« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2008, 01:01:14 pm »

Quote
How about the networking upgrade?

That's not a good idea. You don't want your game server to be shunting out 12MB files to someone, while at the same time passing information back and forth to a potential of 64 players(I believe that's the max amount quake 3 can handle).

You want a separate server handling that side of things while your game server handles solely what it's meant to do.
Logged
pikaunforgiven
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 143


« Reply #24 on: April 09, 2008, 06:25:12 pm »

ya, in my days playing q3 ive run into a lot of servers that simply lagged a lot because their servers were running large maps that nobody had and they werent using http for downloading. bandwidth isnt cheap nor is it infinite, especially for game servers.

the way i see it, if your game server really can handle the load and you have the bandwidth to spare, run a separate web server with per ip bandwidth throttling so you dont get a single person with godlike download speeds (think verizon fios or T3) raping your server.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to: