Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: map creation guide?  (Read 11775 times)
NESFreak
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« on: January 04, 2007, 08:50:33 am »

hi there. I'm thinking about creating some maps and maybe other stuff. Just experimenting for myself. Now the problem is. I've never created anything before and i don't know where to begin.

I've got gtkradiant installed, but now i need to make it work with OA therefore i've found this thread http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?topic=213.0 But how do i open the .bsp files?

bit of a noob when it comes to level editing.

NESFreak
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 31
Posts: 14471



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2007, 01:03:13 pm »

You don't open .bsp files. BSP files are the compiled map files ready for use in the game. The files you want to save and open for editing are .MAP files.

To produce a .BSP file you must compile it with a tool such as q3map2, which should come with gtkradiant
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
MilesTeg
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 145



« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2007, 01:23:54 pm »

...and the map files can be found in the svn:
http://openarena.ws/svn/source/assets/maps/

cheers
MilesTeg
Logged

"We are all connected"
NESFreak
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2007, 02:13:23 pm »

...and the map files can be found in the svn:
http://openarena.ws/svn/source/assets/maps/

cheers
MilesTeg

TNX i thought the svn was for devsnapshots.

NESFreak
Logged
NESFreak
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2007, 03:02:25 pm »

*.aas Huh now how do i open them?

NESFreak
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 31
Posts: 14471



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2007, 03:15:00 pm »

.aas files are like BSPs compiled for bots to roam around in.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Fragjooski
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 13


« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2007, 09:41:24 am »

I wonder if somehow gtkradiant (or a similar open source tool) could be modified to use the textures that are already in openarena....
Logged
baconfish
Guest
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2007, 11:04:14 am »

It does... this should be taken care of when you're setting up gtkradiant for making OpenArena maps.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2007, 11:06:00 am by baconfish » Logged
Ryan450
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 26


« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2007, 12:23:47 pm »

any idea how to set up the gtkradiant editor to work with OpenArena under Linux? I'm currently running Ubuntu Linux and would love to get into the map creation hub, and there are some differences between the linux and windows.
Logged
Blaenk
more like blank dumb
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 135



« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2007, 01:50:33 pm »

Wrong. Everything should be pretty much the same, since all you're doing is giving GtkRadiant some scripts/files. Put the oa.game folder in /opt/gtkradiant or wherever it gets installed to, and put the oa.game file in the games folder in that folder as well. Take a look at this thread for info. If you have any problems then ask here. Check this out as a cross-reference.
Logged
Ryan450
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 26


« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2007, 03:51:39 pm »

ok, I make the copies of the q3.game folders where directed. however when instructed to open oa.game in a text editor on my system it looks like this.

Code:
" Press ? for keyboard shortcuts
" Sorted by name (.bak,~,.swp,.o,.info,.aux,.log,.dvi,.bbl,.blg,.brf,.cb,.ind,.i"= /opt/gtkradiant/oa.game/
../
baseq3/
missionpack/
default_build_menu.xml
game.xlink

which looks nothing like the file listed on that thread you've so kindly directed me to, and I guess I have to repeat myself. In linux oa.game is not a "file" it is a "folder/directory" hence it cant be edited like that.

Also I'm sure this is going to be a problem eventually, but the way the linux distro of openarena is packaged it just comes in an executable folder and it runs as is which is fine and dandy for a quick start up. But sadly the game doesnt get registered into my linux system and I"ve tried to do it manually by moving its executable to /usr/local/bin but it doesnt work.

As for installing it I had no problems. I can load up gtkradiant without a hitch, its just that I cant get it to associate itself with open arena.
Logged
Blaenk
more like blank dumb
Lesser Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 135



« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2007, 05:56:33 pm »

Are you using 1.4? The guide there was for 1.5, I'm sorry, I don't know how to do it with 1.4 Sad
Logged
Ryan450
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 26


« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2007, 06:17:15 pm »

got it to run at last! but for some reason when I go to save my .map files they are saved in /home/ryan450/.q3a/baseoa/maps

I want them to get saved into /home/ryan450/.openarena/baseoa/maps

what do I need to do to get this to save my files and export the .bsp files where they belong?
« Last Edit: January 20, 2007, 08:50:33 pm by Ryan450 » Logged
ratix
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 48



« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2007, 09:10:54 pm »

got it to run at last! but for some reason when I go to save my .map files they are saved in /home/ryan450/.q3a/baseoa/maps

I want them to get saved into /home/ryan450/.openarena/baseoa/maps

what do I need to do to get this to save my files and export the .bsp files where they belong?
In the file games/oa.game, change prefix=".q3a" to prefix=".openarena"
Logged
Ryan450
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 26


« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2007, 10:08:55 pm »

beautiful, thnx ratix Smiley. Time to get to work at last! Cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: