Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Preforming modifications to OA  (Read 5981 times)
Wendell890
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12



« on: July 12, 2010, 11:39:30 am »

I have modified some content in one of the .pk3 files, and it's not showing up in-game. I had unzipped the .pk3 file and zipped it back up, but that did nothing.
What am I doing wrong?
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 12:14:06 pm by Wendell890 » Logged
Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 12:49:27 pm »

It depends upon what have you modified.

Giving out more info about what did you do may resulting with a correct answer.
Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
Wendell890
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12



« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2010, 01:13:29 pm »

It depends upon what have you modified.

Giving out more info about what did you do may resulting with a correct answer.
Yeah, I guess. I modified a targa file for the Machine Gun in the weapon2 folder, inside pak0.pk3.
Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3653


Trickster God.


« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2010, 08:30:28 pm »

I have modified some content in one of the .pk3 files, and it's not showing up in-game. I had unzipped the .pk3 file and zipped it back up, but that did nothing.
What am I doing wrong?
Care to mention which pk3 you've modified? If it's one of the game's pak*.pk3 files, then you did something wrong.
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Wendell890
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12



« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2010, 01:04:26 am »

I have modified some content in one of the .pk3 files, and it's not showing up in-game. I had unzipped the .pk3 file and zipped it back up, but that did nothing.
What am I doing wrong?
Care to mention which pk3 you've modified? If it's one of the game's pak*.pk3 files, then you did something wrong.
I did mention the .pk3 in the post above. Why is it that I should not modify the default .pk3 files?
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 48
Posts: 4198


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2010, 05:49:35 am »

Maybe he meant "If you modified one of the game's pak*.pk3 files, and it still doesn't work, this probably means that you did something wrong while you did it.", maybe....

Anyway (be aware that I may say something wrong):
- modifying a baseoa "factory" pk3 may give you problems, if you want to connect to "pure servers" (most servers)
- if you modified a texture and it seems unmodified when you play, maybe it is not the one really used: they could simply be there two similar textures, but with only one really used (for example machinegun.tga instead of machineg.tga); or maybe there is another one with the same name but in another pk3 file, that has an higher "pak" number in its name, or that is in your "%appdata%" folder instead of your installation folder, thus "overrides" your texture in the pak0.
- maybe you could try to restore the original pk3 file (if necessary, download the installation package again), then create a new file, for example pak8-mytexture.pk3 that contains (obviously, with the right path inside!) only your custom texture. This way, when connecting to a "pure" server, your custom pk3 should simply be ignored, but when playing locally or on an "unpure" server, you should see your customized texture. It's just an idea...
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Wendell890
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12



« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2010, 11:10:43 am »

Alright, well, thanks for your help guys.
I have a side question: What do these errors mean?
ld: library not found for -lvorbisfile
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [build/release-darwin-ppc/openarena.ppc] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: *** [targets] Error 2
make: *** [release] Error 2
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 10:34:02 pm by Wendell890 » Logged
dbX
Member


Cakes 11
Posts: 199

Shazpaca!


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2010, 11:38:51 am »

Alright, well, thanks for your help guys.
I have a side question: What do these errors mean?
ld: library not found for -lvorbisfile

This probably means you do not have the vorbis development package installed.
Logged

In defeat we learn.
Wendell890
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12



« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2010, 09:14:44 am »

Alright, well, thanks for your help guys.
I have a side question: What do these errors mean?
ld: library not found for -lvorbisfile

This probably means you do not have the vorbis development package installed.
That little error is fixed, but now I'm getting this error:

ld: symbol(s) not found
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [build/release-darwin-ppc/openarena-smp.ppc] Error 1
make[1]: *** [targets] Error 2
make: *** [release] Error 2
Logged
Wendell890
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 12



« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2010, 05:46:52 am »

Sorry for double post.
Here's a nice little question:
What is your step process for packaging and making a mod playable?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: