Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
Author Topic: new map for oa!  (Read 45005 times)
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #75 on: November 14, 2010, 09:57:26 am »

Seven, again you posted a new version of the map without writing a new post!
Let's go to see the re-textured version....

I copy the links here, for convenience:
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/24968770/tbs7.pk3 (old textures)
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/25008016/tbs7.pk3 (new textures)

More, the name of the pk3 of these two versions is the same... tbs7... and that name has been previously used in another version of the map (I see it's not the same version, even for the "old textures" version the size of the file is different than in the previous tbs7)!

Okay, tested the new version.
About the new textures, they seem nice at the first look (even if maybe they make a little more difficult to distinguish the shape of the map), but at the highest detail level, it is possible to see something like pixels artefacts...

I suggest you to place some item (maybe series of +5 health or armor shards, but decide yourself) on the small ramps, to encourage players to use them (otherwise, peple will always simply jump down or use the teleporter).

Another thing: somebody can tell me why in this map I have big problems in rocketjumping to get on the small platforms? PS: there is still nothing over those platforms, why should one get there?

PS: I still hope that someone may help you telling how to enable marks on walls in this map.

UPDATE: Tested with bots... it seems that bots never go to the upper level. Even if I steal their flag and stop myself in the middle of the ramp that goes up, waiting for them to chase me, they stop at the first meters of the ramp and shoot from there... it seems that they can't go further...
I forgot to delete unnecessary alpha channel in main texture Sad This is circa 2 MB.
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #76 on: November 15, 2010, 05:40:01 am »

I think that low level is good for bots, cause bots walk no reason on the top level. On top bots are unsuitable.
Do you mean that bots, if allowed to use the higher level, will simply stay there without defending their flag or trying to capture the other?
This would be a big problem. Without the bots being able to get there, any human player can capture too easily, simply using the parts of the map where bots will never follow him!

I don't know if this may or not help you optimizing the bots behavior in the map.

-----------------------------------

For Cacatoes or any mapper: About marks on walls, if it is not possible at all to have them shown in any model... I suppose this should be said DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/Modelling_a_map]here (in the list of disadvantages of "modelling" a map), right? Or is there some way to workaround the problem?

PS: I just added DO NOT LINK[/b]) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/index.php?title=Modelling_a_map&diff=7867&oldid=7598]a short intro for that page, please correct it if wrong.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 07:11:07 am by Gig » Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #77 on: November 15, 2010, 06:36:03 am »

at the moment too many bugs to a new post but...
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/25186750/wyspa.pk3

What about finishing a map before working on a new one?  Smiley

Anyway, this seems nice.
As you said, there are bugs like the fact that you don't die if falling out of the map, or the invisible wall next to the first column on the left. I noticed that, Cruriosily, while most of the map does not support them, some of the bases of the culums have a face where they work...

Maybe it could be a little bigger, or do you plan to use it for Tournament?

An important thing (I don't remember if I told you before): if you want to have these maps to be included in any OpenArena official relese, they have to completely comply with GPLv2 license... this includes all textures and models inside the maps... for example did you create the colums and the trees all by yourself, or you took them somewhere? In the second case, they need to have been released in GPLv2 by their original author (that has to be mentioned), or in Public Domain...
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 07:42:40 am by Gig » Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #78 on: November 15, 2010, 07:46:51 am »

at the moment too many bugs to a new post but...
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/25186750/wyspa.pk3

What about finishing a map before working on a new one?  Smiley

Anyway, this seems nice.
As you said, there are bugs like the fact that you don't die if falling out of the map, or the invisible wall next to the first column on the left. I noticed that, Cruriosily, while most of the map does not support them, some of the bases of the culums have a face where they work...



Maybe it could be a little bigger, or do you plan to use it for Tournament?

An important thing (I don't remember if I told you before): if you want to have these maps to be included in any OpenArena official relese, they have to completely comply with GPLv2 license... this includes all textures and models inside the maps... for example did you create the colums and the trees all by yourself, or you took them somewhere? In the second case, they need to have been released in GPLv2 by their original author (that has to be mentioned), or in Public Domain...


Pseudo circle and pseudo doric order temple is a model only for OpenArena and model can't be use in another project. I'm sure... it's not GPLv2 and v3;). I do not want see this model in another project. But if somone think that the model is good (or bad) and want use temple in oa game, everything is ok, and can use the model in the OpenArena game. This is a link to the Pseudo circle and pseudo doric order temple.
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/25202258/oatemple.ASE
ps1... and this person can cliping this model on q3 engine....

Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #79 on: November 15, 2010, 07:59:36 am »

I'm not 100% sure, but about 90% sure... if anything (including models, textures and shaders) inside a map is not under GPLv2 or Public Domain, the whole map can't be included in any official OpenArena release.

You can link it here, use the forum to "promote" it, to invite server admins to include it in their servers... but I think it will never be an official OpenArena map.
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #80 on: November 15, 2010, 08:03:20 am »

I'm not 100% sure, but about 90% sure... if anything (including models, textures and shaders) inside a map is not under GPLv2 or Public Domain, the whole map can't be included in any official OpenArena release.

You can link it here, use the forum to "promote" it, to invite server admins to include it in their servers... but I think it will never be an official OpenArena map.

but I don't want see me models and textures in another games and projects!
ok but under GPLv3
Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1428


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #81 on: November 15, 2010, 08:30:20 am »

It's always a bit weird when you work on an opensource project, which by essence aims to provide an alternative to proprietary content (here: quake 3 and all its community made maps which are proprietary too), and when someone wants to help your project by providing some proprietary material. It's a bit like "thanks but ... ahm, we can't use it". You seem to be aware of license questions, seems you use blender which is free software, and you are in a community which produces free software ... hmm ... should I ask what bothers you in licensing this model to GPL or something ?
Even if this material could be used, I fear the project won't make exception, OpenArena is entirely GPL, this is a reason of why you don't see : Creative Commons music, Creative Commons textures, proprietary-like but freely distributable materials, inside the OpenArena zip. Of course, the community, server admins, can add whatever they want to use when playing the game, but this is not the direction the project is meant to take. As I said but to say it in another way, it's not OpenArena for nothing, otherwise we would have sticked to Q3 or we would play Quake Live, whatever.
I also fear if you leave your material as is, proprietary, the community will barely use it. The community sometimes gathers Q3 community maps, Q3 models, but this is not so common, and I think in their mind this is a placeholder, and they do because they know these materials are particularly high quality and provide an enjoyable gameplay. Players can become quite exigent, which is normal.

I would have explained further but I see you re-posted while I was writing. OpenArena doesn't use GPLv3 either. I never entered into a GPLv2 vs GPLv3 debate, but, are you afraid about the tivoization of your maps ? This is likely not. So, I don't get all the logic of this choice either.
Rules in OpenArena are rather clear since the start: (DO NOT LINK) h t t p s : / / openarena . wikia . com/wiki/DeveloperFAQ#License ; the main point of not using GPLv3 is, IIRC, it would need the whole project (ioquake3, and all the past contributions) to switch to that license, which is unpractical, or should I say impossible.

Edit: Let me add, your temple model would perfectly fit in a website such as http://opengameart.org/browse/3d/all , under a very free license of course, some are CC0 public domain there. That would be helpful for the opensource gaming community.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #82 on: November 23, 2010, 05:12:50 pm »

7... free or not, you can finish your map...  Smiley
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #83 on: November 23, 2010, 06:14:35 pm »

7... free or not, you can finish your map...  Smiley
this one is free map
Logged
Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #84 on: February 24, 2011, 04:57:40 am »

Working link. I haven't had tbs7, tbs2 was the last version I downloaded, but it's still more than nothing.

No AAS.

http://graiondilach.uw.hu/oa/tbs2.pk3
Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #85 on: February 24, 2011, 02:00:16 pm »

Most recent version seems to be tbs10.
played it today on GoD|Rockets (together with 7)...

Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #86 on: February 24, 2011, 04:40:29 pm »

(together with 7)...
With "7" or "seven"? They are two different people.

This map isn't bad...
It would be nice if 7 would complete it and release it under the GPLv2... (he mentioned GPLv3 instead, right? :-()

PS: The latest version of it I have downloaded on my PC seems to be "tbs7-new texture.pk3", that I downloaded on 14 november 2010. I added the "-new texture" text to the name the file on my PC, to distinguish it from another version called "tbs7" too, that 7 released a short time before. Check the posts of that day.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 02:40:47 am by Gig » Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Peter Silie
Member


Cakes 2008
Posts: 610



« Reply #87 on: February 24, 2011, 06:00:28 pm »

my version is dated @ 05.02.2011 02:44h
I hope, that i can differ between my clan mate seven and seven Wink
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #88 on: February 25, 2011, 02:38:34 am »

my version is dated @ 05.02.2011 02:44h
I hope, that i can differ between my clan mate seven and seven Wink
You can, but I can't... so I ask to be sure!  Grin Simply, it's curious to test a map created by a guy nicknamed "Seven", playing with another guy called "7".  Smiley

PS: but where did you find tbs10? I can't find it here on the forum...
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #89 on: February 25, 2011, 11:26:06 am »

my version is dated @ 05.02.2011 02:44h
I hope, that i can differ between my clan mate seven and seven Wink
You can, but I can't... so I ask to be sure!  Grin Simply, it's curious to test a map created by a guy nicknamed "Seven", playing with another guy called "7".  Smiley

PS: but where did you find tbs10? I can't find it here on the forum...

I make two version - tbs7/8 with bots (10700 polys) and tbs10/12 with no bots (to more polys - 15800), but I think that it should work: http://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31963

ps.1:) write in console "r_showtris 1" and look under right ramp,

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/27075681/tbs12.pk3
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 11:28:26 am by seven » Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3714


Trickster God.


« Reply #90 on: February 25, 2011, 11:58:33 am »

Hmmmm... where can I download tbs7/8?
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #91 on: February 25, 2011, 12:56:39 pm »

Hmmmm... where can I download tbs7/8?
From an old post:
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/24968770/tbs7.pk3 (old textures)
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/25008016/tbs7.pk3 (new textures)
Not tested if the links still work!
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3714


Trickster God.


« Reply #92 on: February 25, 2011, 01:14:57 pm »

Hmmmm... where can I download tbs7/8?
From an old post:
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/24968770/tbs7.pk3 (old textures)
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/25008016/tbs7.pk3 (new textures)
Not tested if the links still work!
Both of them aren't working:

"File not found. It has been either deleted, or it never existed at all. "
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #93 on: February 25, 2011, 01:46:32 pm »

I make two version - tbs7/8 with bots (10700 polys) and tbs10/12 with no bots (to more polys - 15800), but I think that it should work: http://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31963

ps.1:) write in console "r_showtris 1" and look under right ramp,

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/27075681/tbs12.pk3

How is it possible to reach the maximum number of polys with a such small map? :-/
Maybe there is something that gives it problems for some reson... maybe the first time it gave you compiling errors, you should have checked/modifed/removed the lastest changes you did just before, to try to make the asp compiling work again... and then continue expanding you map, maybe in another way...

Uhm.. is it regular the way I see the map? Grey?

What should I search under the ramp?
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #94 on: February 25, 2011, 06:31:19 pm »

I make two version - tbs7/8 with bots (10700 polys) and tbs10/12 with no bots (to more polys - 15800), but I think that it should work: http://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31963

ps.1:) write in console "r_showtris 1" and look under right ramp,

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/27075681/tbs12.pk3

How is it possible to reach the maximum number of polys with a such small map? :-/
Maybe there is something that gives it problems for some reson... maybe the first time it gave you compiling errors, you should have checked/modifed/removed the lastest changes you did just before, to try to make the asp compiling work again... and then continue expanding you map, maybe in another way...

Uhm.. is it regular the way I see the map? Grey?

What should I search under the ramp?

enable vertex light I have same error, when I delete oa folder with cfg file (in xp in folder documents and settigns) all works good

first screen before delete a cfg file
second after

in q3map2 I use -novertex parametr, but in server all look good like in second screen.

And J have another strange error Rest In PEACE!. I downloaded a netradiant with new version q3map, in this version work flood light (yes), but auto clipping don't work good. Same ASE model in old version has good clipping in new bad.  Rest In PEACE! Rest In PEACE! Rest In PEACE!
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 07:03:45 pm by seven » Logged
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #95 on: February 25, 2011, 06:43:00 pm »

Hmmmm... where can I download tbs7/8?
From an old post:
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/24968770/tbs7.pk3 (old textures)
http://www.speedyshare.com/files/25008016/tbs7.pk3 (new textures)
Not tested if the links still work!
Both of them aren't working:

"File not found. It has been either deleted, or it never existed at all. "

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/27075930/tbs8.pk3
Logged
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #96 on: February 25, 2011, 07:37:06 pm »

I make two version - tbs7/8 with bots (10700 polys) and tbs10/12 with no bots (to more polys - 15800), but I think that it should work: http://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31963

ps.1:) write in console "r_showtris 1" and look under right ramp,

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/27075681/tbs12.pk3

How is it possible to reach the maximum number of polys with a such small map? :-/
Maybe there is something that gives it problems for some reson... maybe the first time it gave you compiling errors, you should have checked/modifed/removed the lastest changes you did just before, to try to make the asp compiling work again... and then continue expanding you map, maybe in another way...

Uhm.. is it regular the way I see the map? Grey?

What should I search under the ramp?

enable vertex light I have same error, when I delete oa folder with cfg file (in xp in folder documents and settigns) all works good

first screen before delete a cfg file
second after

in q3map2 I use -novertex parametr, but in server all look good like in second screen.

And J have another strange error Rest In PEACE!. I downloaded a netradiant with new version q3map, in this version work flood light (yes), but auto clipping don't work good. Same ASE model in old version has good clipping in new bad.  Rest In PEACE! Rest In PEACE! Rest In PEACE!

J have 160 fps on radeon 4200  Shocked
Logged
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 2
Posts: 62


« Reply #97 on: March 02, 2011, 04:48:02 am »

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/27463782/tbs12.pk3

- delete all earlier versions of tbs and tunel,
- if you don't see a texture, move (carefully - don't delete !!!) oa folder with cfg file to new folder, oa folder must be empty, (in windows in documents and settings - not folder with exe file), create folder baseoa, copy to folder baseoa map file tbs12.pk3, You should start as a unnamed player. I do not know why it works! After delete a new cfg file/folder and move old cfg file and folders from new folder to oa folder sic!  

or visit GoD all rocket server
« Last Edit: March 17, 2011, 07:21:30 pm by seven » Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3714


Trickster God.


« Reply #98 on: March 02, 2011, 05:56:55 pm »

Checking it out. Editing with thoughts.
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 47
Posts: 4319


WWW
« Reply #99 on: March 03, 2011, 04:51:00 pm »

Tested. Nice, but there are still some problems.
- Some kind of conflict with something (I really don't know what), that requires to play it on a clean installation, in order to get the right rocky textures (otherwise, you see almost everything plain grey)
- After you get the right textures working, here comes a low framerate problem. Maybe some strange shader? When there is the texture problem, the framerate is muuuuch better.
- Gameplay design still allows to start from your own base and capture the flag in few seconds, using jump-pads, mid-air control and teleporters.

Note: this version is called TBS12, but that name has been used for a previous version, too.

Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
 
Jump to: